We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of Bodkin House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bodkin House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Badminton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We popped in for a quick lunch because our favourite place was already closed, and now we have a new favourite place! We came in with low expectations, but came out on a high. We just had some soup and sandwiches, but they were clearly freshly made and very well presented. The chunky chips were very chunky indeed and there was a lot of steak in the steak sandwich. Highly recommended for a meal, and we will definitely be back and have something more substantial the next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank IngeDowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

We ate lunch here today in the bar and received really great service by a very friendly bar man/waiter. So attentive and friendly. The mains were nice and puddings to die for, especially Brownies and sticky toffee :-) Thank you Bodkin House!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Trinabeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed overnight as part of a birthday celebration, our party of 20+ took over all of the rooms. When we arrived we were greated by log fire in the bar, encouraging the sampling of one of the fine cask ales. The lounge, bar and all public areas were immaculately clean, and provided a lovely ambience for a traditional country inn. Our room on the 1st floor at the rear, was warm, impeccably clean, indeed faultless. Our celebration dinner menus were pre-ordered and were delivered on time, hot and very tasty. Dons attention to us during the evening was exemplary, nothing was too much trouble for him, they also had a full restaurant to deal with. The breakfast was as good as any other hotel I have stayed in. I cant comment on price/vfm, as I didnt have to pay.
I really cannot understand the recent very negative comments made here; we will DEFINITEY be staying here overnight when we are next in the area.
Highly recommended for a short break when visiting the area especially Bath only 15 miles away.

Room Tip: at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maetloafkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Unplanned visit - lovely light lunch - shoulder of lamb and veg, and one vegetarian. Food good quality, Piping hot. Friendly staff. We were the only three people at that time and that is a shame as it deserves more people popping in for lunches.
Staff all very friendly and welcoming
Will recommend to friends

And the added bonus was that the loos were really clean - don't get that some places!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Just had a lunch here with friends for the second or third year running. Today was just awful. Table was not properly prepared with condiments, yule-tide decorations or water jugs. No mince pies or Christmas touches offered. Service was good and staff as friendly as usual but the landlord was just miserable and entirely missed the point. Perhaps he just didn't want business to interrupt his day. Turkey dinner was poor-I don't think it was home prepared and the sausage was hard and dry. Only two small bowls of veg between 12 of us-I had just ONE carrot on my plate. Cannot see our party ever returning. Very disappointing indeed-you travel a hundred miles for lunch and it was just poor.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Bomberboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bodkin House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodkin House Hotel

Address: Petty France Farm, Badminton GL9 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Badminton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Badminton
Price Range: $147 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bodkin House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bodkin House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing