We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner not run of the mill, nor are the prices.”
Review of The Churchill Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Churchill Arms
Ranked #1 of 3 Paxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We were treated by friends to a night out. 7 of us had a very enjoyable evening, drinks in the small bar (excellent Cotswold G&T) The crab on toast was superb. Others said the pie, lamb and liver were all excellent. My monkfish was a little overcooked, which let it down. Apricot tart for pudding delicious, although slightly surprised it was served cold. A very good wine selection. We were lucky enough to be treated. Only complaint about the table - the very bright naked bulbs above - felt like being in a snooker hall!

Room Tip: Didn't stay at the hotel, just dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

My husband had been talking about this restaurant for months and so when we happened to be driving through Paxford he said 'let's try and see if we can have lunch'. I thought it unlikely but we were welcomed in and given a lovely table. The staff were very friendly, making an effort to speak to each table to make them feel at home. The food was really good. I had the smoked haddock soufflé, and my husband had the crab. We enjoyed every mouthful. For main course I had the mushroom and blue cheese pie which was delicious, particularly the pastry. My husband had the fish and chips which was not as generous a portion as my pie but nonetheless was cooked to perfection.
We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and I am pleased to say that the Churchill Arms lived up to my husband's expectations.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pascale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

On the spur of the moment, this afternoon I reserved a table at the Churchill Arms in Paxford. On arrival the first impression very good, with nicely set tables and quite modern in style.

We were asked if we were there for the Fish Supper, (no mention of this when i booked), we were escorted to our table and while we looked at both menus, (from a well presented Wine List), I ordered a bottle of Gavi di Gavi. When it arrived, not only turned out to be a simple Gavi, but also of a different vintage! (2016 instead of 2015). When I pointed this out to the young Lady in charge, (I believe her name is Fiona), not only she insisted that the wine was correct as per list...... but also reacted in a very annoyed and snappy manner!!!

After having spent over 50 years working in the Food and Beverage Service Industry, may I suggest to this young Lady two things: 1) Learn a little about Wines and most of all, about your Wine List! 2) If you are ignorant of basic wine knowledge, then try to be a little more humble, believe me....... it does help!

To be fair the food, (Fish and Chips and Pork T-bone), was well presented and quite tasty and the rest of the Staff, were very friendly and helpful.

Would we come back or recommend? I doubt very much!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank italian186422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Hands down the best roast I have eaten in the UK. We were there for a Sunday lunch and had a lovely time - good service, good wine and excellent food. It was a little too wet to venture out into the garden, but it looked lovely and would be a great place to spend the afternoon on a hot summer's day.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Louis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

Sadly on a recent trip to the Cotswolds, upon our arrival at the Churchill Arms, there was no one there to let us into our room when we arrived. When we reserved the room, we were told that the restaurant was closed Monday's, but that this wasn't a problem for the inn. The week before we left home( in the US), we received an email from them, asking our arrival time. I replied back, giving them a estimate of 6-7 PM. We arrived after a long, cold, rainy day to find the doors locked, no note, nothing. We tried knocking on doors of several neighbors, who also knew nothing about our situation. After calling the phone number for the Arms, AND booking.com---neither of which answered the phone, we waited nearly an hour and finally gave up. We were extremely fortunate to get a lovely room in the nearby town of Chipping Camden, at a guesthouse there. My advice : do NOT stay at Churchill Arms on Monday unless you are prepared to scramble last minute if they're not there.

Stayed: June 2017
2  Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Churchill Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Arms

Address: Paxford GL55 6XH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Paxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Paxford
Price Range: $212 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Churchill Arms, Paxford is a boutique pub nestled away in the North of The Cotswolds. With its historical local character at our core we pride ourselves on thought about British classics. With two characterful but modern en-suite bedrooms we're located just outside Chipping Camden. Less than a 2 hour journey by train or car from London we're in the perfect spot to explore this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Our cosy bar, stocked with beers and local ales is just a good a place to while away an afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Churchill Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Arms Hotel Paxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing