We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth 4****”
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hatton Court Hotel
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We have recently held our daughters wedding at Hatton Court and I cannot praise it enough. The whole of the hotel staff, wedding planner, the stunning location and the superb rooms made it a day to remember. Nothing was too much trouble and their friendliness and professionalism was outstanding. I strongly recommend you give it a try. Thank you Hatton Court.

Room Tip: Really nice rooms with jacuzzi's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank keithwilliams1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel H, Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear keithwilliams1954

Thank you for your recent review, I was pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your daughters wedding day with us.

Alice, Vicky and their team pass on there thanks and gratitude for your kind words.

I hope to see you all again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Noel Hill
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 77 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

As a party of 10 we spent an afternoon at Hatton Court on the afternoon tea package. It was delicious, delightful and set in lovely surroundings. We had refreshments, sandwiches, fresh scones, cakes and puddings....it was gorgeous. Christine looked after us extremely well and ensured we had plenty of what we needed. I would definitely do this again with friends or family.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank lotti38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel H, Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear lotti38

Thank you for your recent review, Afternoon Teas here at the hotel are becoming extremely popular and it is an area of our business that is growing considerably year on year.

I am pleased to read that you equally enjoyed you experience with us and i look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Noel Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

A charming historical house with views of the countryside. Bedroom was brilliant and comfortable however the bathroom and shower let the side down very old shower and tiles broken. First impressions coming into the drive is let down by large potholes. However dinner was great after a 50 minute wait. Breakfast was okay but the whole place centrally was like an old peoples home

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel H, Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear Mike D,

Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us.

a number of the points you have raised are actually being rectified later this year when we have several parts of the hotel being refurbished, including the bathrooms, lounge and bar areas.

In terms of the driveway, we have also agreed to replace this later this year ready for the winter period.

Kind regards

Noel Hill
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We stayed at the hotel after we had our wedding there in August, the building is beautiful the rooms are full of character and the staff couldn't do enough to help, nothing was too much trouble and they were all very friendly. The food is lovely and well presented, the views are stunning.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tinarees61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel H, Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear tinarees61,

Thank you for the review, I'm pleased to read that everything went well on your wedding day and you enjoyed every minute of it.

The staff and I look forward to welcoming you back on your 1st wedding anniversary, if not before.

Kindest Regards

Noel Hill
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Booked in for DB&B as a stopover on the way home on the last night of holiday. The room was much as expected although I was a bit taken aback to be asked to settle the bill on arrival - maybe that's how they do it! Arriving in the Tara restaurant we had to hang around until someone eventually came and took us to a table - the restaurant wasn't that busy. It turned out the Dinner part of DB&B was only a £25 allowance. Weren't made aware of this at the time of booking. The food was ok. Last night of the holiday so why not end the meal with a glass of Sauternes with the dessert as the menu suggested. Nice idea. When the wine came (£6 for 50cl) it didn't look or taste like Sauternes. Called over the waiter (not the MD who had brought the wine) and asked what it was - he went off to check. Apparently it wasn't Sauternes. Well we knew that! Would we like something else - on the house. Apparently there wasn't a dessert wine in the hotel. But not really in any case, if you think you can try to pull off a shocking scam like that and really spoil the whole meal. Breakfast was ok but we still had a bad taste in our mouths from the night before. I've waited a couple of weeks to write this in case someone from the hotel wanted to get in touch - but haven't heard anything. (We did mention our shock and disappointment again when checking out.) By the way, we were undercharged on the bar bill and had the honesty to go back and make things right. Disappointing end to an otherwise lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pmc5040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel H, Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Pmc5040,

Thank you for your recent review,

It was disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Having read through your comments it seems that the majority of the issues lie with your experience in the restaurant.

With any of our direct DBB packages we only ever allocate £25.00 per person for food this is very clear on our website and is then repeated at the foot of all of our dinner menus in the restaurant.

I apologize for the inconvenience caused with the dessert wine, this is not our usual practice and I have since spoken with the relevant staff regarding this situation to ensure that it does not happen again.

Should you wish to discuss your comments further, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel at your earliest convenience.

Kindest Regards

Noel Hill
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
2 km away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
892 reviews
8.9 km away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
872 reviews
12.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
723 reviews
1.6 km away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
1,719 reviews
39.5 km away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: $124 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing