We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and excellent service, def recommend”
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hatton Court Hotel
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Myself and a group of friends stayed at the Hatton Court Hotel recently for my birthday. It is easy to get to and beautiful inside and out. It was a bit chaotic when we arrived with 13 people trying to check in and other parties busy with afternoon tea. But when we arrived our rooms were lovely, gorgeous big bathroom. I'd recommend room 45.

We then had afternoon tea which was fab and the waiter was very helpful and polite. We went to Cheltenham in the night which was around 20 mins away. If you do this book "Andys Cabs" as they have cabs that hold 8 people and are very reasonable.

Breakfast the next day was a bit slow as it is ordered off the menu but it was tasty and there were lots of additional items such as porridge, cereals, crumpets and bagels with nutella, peanut butter, jams etc.

Lovely hotel and I would have no hesitation in returning. Thanks

Room Tip: Room 45 was lovely large bed and corner bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank heleneWales1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel H, Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear heleneWales1

Thank you for your recent review, I'm glad to see that you all enjoyed your time with us at the hotel.

We pride ourselves on the quality of our food throughout the hotel, all of which is cooked fresh to order and we often receive very positive feedback for this.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you all back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Noel Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 41 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

I stay away a lot for work and rarely find a hotel which I'd pay for out of choice. This is one I would return to without hesitation!

The rooms were lovely, good sized, clean and modern but with a classic taste. The food was equally very good! Had a lovely, quiet, comfy nights sleep.

The only bits of feedback I can provide are:
1- the walk to the rooms are dated and cluttered as they're in the midst of upgrading... doesn't give a great first impression.
2- the new receptionist was lovely, helpful and attentive but needs to brush up on what the bar provides - having ordered a Cabernet Sauvignon and receiving a Sauvignon Blanc.
3- ordered breakfast to my room... croissants and "assorted jam" which consisted of 2 mini croissants, 1 pot of jam and a pot of Nutella?

That is all I have to criticise and it's not much of a critique! Loved staying here and didn't want to leave!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Kaela357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel H, Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Kaela357

Thank you for your recent review, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

Your comments critiquing the hotel will be passed on to the relevant staff and will help in there continued development.

Regards

Noel Hill
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Booked a Spring & Summer Break 2 Nights Bed Breakfast Dinner + Afternoon Tea,Very nice stay, was very surprised when paying the bill, we found that we had to pay for the second night Dinner (which we thought was in the package), sent two letter of complaint to the management and they have not had the courtesy to reply.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel H, Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Gillian L

Thank you for your recent review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your time with us.

Your comments regarding the lack of response from the management are unjust as the issue you have raised in your review was actually resolved by our Reception Manager at the time, prior to us receiving your first letter.

I hope that you continue to return to the hotel in the future and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Noel Hill
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Returning to Hatton court for our 25th wedding Anniversary, we had a lovely nights stay and the evening meal and breakfast we had was lovely. Our room was very nice and clean but could of done with some TLC .

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cotswoldsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel H, Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Cotswoldsontour

Thank you for your recent review, it was a honour and pleasure to welcome you back for your silver wedding anniversary.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your time with us and pleased that it was a memorable return celebrating such an important calendar event.

I hope that to see you both again in the near future.

Kind regards

Noel Hill
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Quiet a bit out of the city but glorious. I want to stay longer. 40 rooms great restaurant beautiful setting in lush green setting. Wifi service was the downside very weak. Clean great bed covering , room somewhat cool given the unusually cool weather for early September. This would be a great place to simply escape and read a good book. We ventured into the countryside exploring the hills. Like a movie set. A memorial to those that lost their lives is close by. Good hearty breakfast and tasty dinner. The bar was well stocked. Escape and just enjoy!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dirk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel H, Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Dirk R

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us at the hotel.

All of our staff work tirelessly to ensure that our guests are looked after throughout their stay. Reading your comments help reiterate this to all of our valued customers past and present.

We hope to see you again soon and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards

Noel Hill
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
2 km away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
876 reviews
8.9 km away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
864 reviews
12.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
715 reviews
1.6 km away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
1,685 reviews
39.5 km away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: $125 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing