We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It started so well 😕”
Review of Yew Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yew Tree Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Longhope B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and were given a great sized room and asked if we wanted breakfast.
We said yes and went for the latest time possible of 9:30.... it was a rare night away from the kids for a friends wedding so we thought we might actually sleep.
Turns out we woke up earlier so I went round about 9am only to be met with a young girl sitting outside waiting to get in to start the breakfast service. She explained that her boss (the owner I presume) hadn't woken up yet.
I tried again half an hour later when I was booked in and still he hadn't risen from his room.
The young girls mum had arrived though so at least she was warmer.
Eventually we just decided to leave around 10:15 and he was still nowhere to be seen.
It turns out that they had a party the night before so I can only assume he may have just slept late but still not really acceptable when your running a business and employing staff.
There were a few rooms occupied so we were not the only ones disappointed.
Having said that. The room was clean, larger than I had expected and we were presently surprised with what we got for the money.
We wouldn't return to this motel but only for the reasons stated initially.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank islaycthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Adequate room but dirty bathroom. Booked for breakfast but when we arrived the pub was closed. Chef was also sat outside trying to get in. Apparently happened the week before! Felt like we were more of a nuisance than paying customers in the pub for dinner. Wouldn't recommend!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We stayed here recently for a family gathering. We stayed in a room with a wet room for a bathroom. This room was a bit mouldy and quite smelly and had some mould. The bedroom itself was OK if your keep the bathroom door shut and open the bathroom window.
As other family were staying nearby, one of my family came over early and we suggested that she join us for breakfast. Things went downhill from there.
Although we were allowed to have our guest sit with us at breaksfast, the breakfast cook made it very clear in a loud voice from the kitchen that she was not welcome.
We were not able to order even a slice of toast for our guest as the kitchen was too busy. Worse still, they refused to let us order an orange juice. This was just ridiculous - the dining area is in the bar of a pub.
It struck me that the cook felt that having customers was just an inconvenience. I should add that the young waitress was very apologetic.
No hotel or restauarant should ever be so unhelpful and for that reason I could not give mor than 2 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

we stayed 1 night on our way back from Wales and to visit Gloucester Cathedral.
spacious chalets fairly new at the back of the inn with a separate entrance. very clean with very good shower .comfy beds Tea/.coffee makings and TV. Good size car park. the food was good in the steak and grill restaurant. Breakfast was good--full English. we had very good service during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SportEnthusiasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

The Yew Tree was the nearest available hotel to Newent that had rooms. This is a motel which is part of a local Pub. The room is clean although cold when we booked in. After turning the radiator on it soon warmed up. The room is neutrals with a built in wardrobe two chairs and a large comfortable double bed. The bathroom has a sink, toilet and shower with plenty of hot water. All of the room is clean and well maintained. Plenty of tea, sugar and coffee with the kettle. It is better than a lot of premier inns I have stayed in and. Would rate as the same. Full English breakfast was good not large bit enough. I would stay again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longhope hotels
2.2 km away
The Farmers Boy Inn
The Farmers Boy Inn
#1 of 4 in Longhope
837 reviews
5.2 km away
No photo provided
The Kings Head Inn
#4 of 4 in Longhope
7 reviews
3.4 km away
New House Farm
New House Farm
#2 of 4 in Longhope
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yew Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree Inn

Address: Monmouth Road, Longhope GL17 0QD, England (Formerly The Yew Tree)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Longhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Longhope
Price Range: $102 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yew Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yew Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing