We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New House Farm(Longhope)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
27
25
13
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
25
13
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubwarm welcomea great staysteakfull englishgood sizecar parkchaletmotellandlordportionstvaccommodationkettle
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Adequate room but dirty bathroom. Booked for breakfast but when we arrived the pub was closed. Chef was also sat outside trying to get in. Apparently happened the week before! Felt like we were more of a nuisance than paying customers in the pub for dinner. Wouldn't recommend!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We stayed here recently for a family gathering. We stayed in a room with a wet room for a bathroom. This room was a bit mouldy and quite smelly and had some mould. The bedroom itself was OK if your keep the bathroom door shut and open the bathroom window.
As other family were staying nearby, one of my family came over early and we suggested that she join us for breakfast. Things went downhill from there.
Although we were allowed to have our guest sit with us at breaksfast, the breakfast cook made it very clear in a loud voice from the kitchen that she was not welcome.
We were not able to order even a slice of toast for our guest as the kitchen was too busy. Worse still, they refused to let us order an orange juice. This was just ridiculous - the dining area is in the bar of a pub.
It struck me that the cook felt that having customers was just an inconvenience. I should add that the young waitress was very apologetic.
No hotel or restauarant should ever be so unhelpful and for that reason I could not give mor than 2 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

we stayed 1 night on our way back from Wales and to visit Gloucester Cathedral.
spacious chalets fairly new at the back of the inn with a separate entrance. very clean with very good shower .comfy beds Tea/.coffee makings and TV. Good size car park. the food was good in the steak and grill restaurant. Breakfast was good--full English. we had very good service during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SportEnthusiasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

The Yew Tree was the nearest available hotel to Newent that had rooms. This is a motel which is part of a local Pub. The room is clean although cold when we booked in. After turning the radiator on it soon warmed up. The room is neutrals with a built in wardrobe two chairs and a large comfortable double bed. The bathroom has a sink, toilet and shower with plenty of hot water. All of the room is clean and well maintained. Plenty of tea, sugar and coffee with the kettle. It is better than a lot of premier inns I have stayed in and. Would rate as the same. Full English breakfast was good not large bit enough. I would stay again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

We were guests at a buffet in the main bar.
The food was wholesome, with plenty of choice, the staff were perky, and if there was a disappointment it was the absence of any dessert on offer.
There was a good range of ales and wines, as well as spirits.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank gl8246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews