We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$625
View deal
Hotels.com
US$625
View deal
Booking.com
US$599
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
PricelineUS$599
Official HotelUS$599
TravelocityUS$625
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
158
26
7
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
158
26
7
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower nihari beacon restaurant screened in porch water taxi walkie talkie chat n chill always on time private island ice maker small kitchenette beach club delicious drinks an amazing meal an absolute treat snappy turtle change of pace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2020

My girlfriend and I recently returned home from a fantastic stay at the Kahari. We stayed in a quaint beach facing bungalow that was spacious, comfortable, and steps away from a lovely and quiet beach. The beach club adjacent to the resort was a great place to swim, relax and have cocktails at a fun and lively bar! The food was outstanding, especially dinner. Each night the chef, Fritz, prepared a new menu with multiple appetizers and entrees ranging from classic Bahamian fare to more fine dining french style cuisine. The service was great, and as someone who frequents the Bahamas, it is refreshing to finally find a restaurant that delivers everyone's food in a timely fashion. The hotel has recently re-opened, and a few things were still being sorted out, for example, there were no lunch menus due to a printer malfunction of the days. However, I have faith the little kinks will be worked through in no time, as the service was phenomenal. Overall, I would highly suggest Kahari for both couples and families alike. If you are looking for a relaxing stay on a beautiful beach with great activities and great staff, look no further! Looking forward to returning.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasetravel134
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KristenC29055, Manager at Kahari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2020

chasetravel134,

It was a thrill to welcome you and your girlfriend and we appreciate you allowing us to show you a wonderful vacation. I will be sure to let Chef Fritz and his team know your kind comments about them. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to become a great escape when you return again.

Warm Regards,
Kristen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020

We stopped here on the boat for lunch several times. The Waygu burger was fabulous (med rare). We also enjoyed the tuna salad and grouper salad. Mia was a wonderful server and exceeded our expectations. Keep an eye the on the bay...we also saw a little shark while dining. Overall, a wonderful experience!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KristenC29055, Manager at Kahari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2020

Jennifer H,

Thank you for stopping in for lunch!! We are happy you enjoyed your afternoons with us and we hope to see you soon.

Sunny Regards,
Kristen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2020

We just returned from our best family vacation ever!
Three generations of our family had a glorious holiday at the new Kahari resort on pristine Stocking Island.
Our adventure began at the historic Peace and Plenty hotel in Georgetown, were we were met and escorted to the waiting tender for a beautiful 10 minute boat ride across the 1 mile width of Eilizabeth Harbor by Caramel and Carlton the two boat captains. They handled all of luggage easily, and let us enjoy the excitement and beauty of the short ride.
Our boat was met by Keta, who graciously gave all the adults a refreshing cold fluorescent blue welcoming drink and got us quickly checked in and escorted to our rooms.
The rooms are quite simply extra-ordinary! Each of the beachfront bungalows has two rooms. The rooms have beautiful handcrafted wood interiors, with a nautical motif, high peaked caribbean ceilings, and generous wrap around screened porches, with wonderful outdoor showers. The screened porch, and let us sleep most nights with doors and windows open to catch the wonderful tropical breezes.
Our grandchildren had their own room, next to their parents, and spent hours playing with all of their toys in their loft space.

The beauty and unspoiled nature of Stocking Island are incredible. The island has only a handful of homes and a couple of eco-friendly, off the grid, small resorts. The contrast between the calm, tranquil waters and fine white sand beach of the leeward Elizabeth Harbour beach, and the raw power of the pounding surf on the two mile Atlantic Ocean side is amazing. Our family took kayaks across the back lagoon, and walked a short beautiful trail to the Atlantic side. The wind was whipping, the surf pounding, and their was ocean spray in the air. Paddling back across the lagoon, we saw sea turtles, and a couple of small rays! We headed to the leeward beach, and were amazed at how calm the water was. Our grandchildren played in the knee deep water, while the rest of us tried our hand at paddleboards!

Chef Fritz prepared wonderful, fresh meals in the beautiful bar and restaurant. The freshly caught fish and tuna was delcious. Make sure you try the Tuna Poke. Each night the menu changed, with three new entrees. We ate lunch at the Peace and Plenty beach club, right next door, which has an upbeat, fun, party atmosphere. Lots of people- an eclectic mix of hotel guests, international travelers, locals, boaters, and local property owners! A lively beach bar, with great tunes, a fun and energetic vibe, delicous and potent drinks, and great grilled food. You will love Bonefish ( a one man party!) on the grill; Chocolate behind the bar, and Beachchair Greg as your host!

No vacation to Exuma can be complete without a visit to a local landmark, the Chat n Chill. A few hundred yards down the beach, the Chat n Chill is an authentic Exuma original. Walk over to catch the local island vibe, and feed and pet the stingrays!

Our family, three generations, all had a wonderful time in Exuma. We had great family time together, felt well taken care of in beautiful setting by a friendly and attentive staff. The combination of the natural beauty of Stocking Island and the famous Exuma Blue harbour and ocean; the contrast between the miles of pristine near deserted beach, and the pulsating beat of reggaie music and energy and activity of the beach club bar, made for a wonderful experience for all.

This holiday, and the raw unspoiled beauty of Exuma charmed all of us!!
We will be sure to return next winter!!

Room tip: All the rooms are wonderful and waterfront. If you desire a beach front room ask for an Elizabeth Harbour beach room
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 59irak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Anatol F, Manager at Kahari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Greetings,

We appreciate your wonderful review and your endorsement to others. It was a treat to welcome you to Kahari Resort and we hope we may do so again soon.

Warm Regards,
Anatol Ferguson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2020 via mobile

We have been going to the restaurant at Lumina Point, now Kahari, since it opened and have always been pleased with the location, view, decent food and service.

Our first, and LAST, meal at Kahari was intended to be a family Christmas lunch. The central restaurant with majestic views is now closed. The wooden bar restaurant on the lagoon with a nice terrace was opened. It had no menu (and therefore, no price... to go with the hand written tab). We ordered 2 burgers, 1 veggie burger, and chicken breast, a beer, a virgin strawberry daiquiri and 2 cocktails. Grand total: us$181! Admittedly, the 12% tax and 15% included gratuity (which guarantee poor service) do not help but still... we felt rubbed. The good news is that their credit card machine did not work and we only had $170 on us, which the lovely waitress gracefully accepted as payment.

Managing client expectations with a menu would go a long way to prevent indigestible bills... We miss you, Lumina Point!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dominic_Jaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Anatol F, Manager at Kahari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2020

We are very sorry for the experience you had with our Restaurant. We actually decided not to allow outside guests to dine with us until further notice so that we have proper knowledge of everything to prep and the number of people to prep for. Now that the Christmas and New Year rush has slowed down, we are going to take this time to thoroughly plan review our operations so that we can create a better experience for our guests. If it means anything, there are already menus for every part of the day.

The central restaurant is not closed as you stated, it was just not open at the time of your visit.

I apologize that you wish to not return again, but if you do, I am certain you will have a better experience. If you would like to speak to me about this matter directly, please feel to contact me via email at asstresortmanager@kahariresort.com.

Sincere Regards,
Anatol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2019

Where do I begin??! Hands down the BEST Caribbean vacation ever!!! My Mom is from Jamaica, I've visited Andros, and quite a few other Caribbean destinations and this one has topped them all. We stayed 6 nights, and 7 days. Extended our stay a day because we were having such a relaxing, peaceful, beautiful stay. My Son and I visited over the Christmas holidays. We stayed in a Bungalow facing Elizabeth Harbor. The views were spectacular!! Housekeeping did an excellent job every day. Our Bungalow was so cozy! The staff, AMAZING!!! Anatol went above and beyond. She was very personable and made sure all of our requests were met. Desmond was very good as well. and always ready to help with a smile. Chrissy was very helpful and friendly as well. Kristin was excellent as well! The food Chef prepared daily was excellent! 3 entrees a night that changed daily, and different apps each night. Our Bungalow had a loft that my 13 year old Son loved. The screened in patio was beautiful. Beds were very comfortable, the outdoor shower was great!!! Not a crowded resort at all, very intimate. The food on the grill at the beach bar was excellent, very good benefish burgers! I highly recommend this resort for couples, honeymoon, weddings, family vacation. We will definitely be back!! Oh and all of our bar tenders were excellent. Very good drinks!!! My only advise, bring bug spray! Even on our enclosed patio you will get a few bits..besides that GET HERE ASAP!!!!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Travellovenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Anatol F, Manager at Kahari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Greetings from Kahari!

It was our pleasure to welcome you stay with us, and we thank you for the wonderful review you’ve shared. It warms us to know that you so thoroughly enjoyed our bungalow, our food, our amenities and that our Kahari staff made you feel so at home. We thank you again and look forward to having you join us on your next beach-getaway as we see you as family now.

Sunny Regards,
Anatol Ferguson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews