We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic retreat in the mountains with beautiful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mist over the lake. Usually in the morning but not every day.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Mist over the lake. Usually in the morning but not every day.
Down to the kennels. Private and Beautiful!
The Utuado Area offers an assortment of exotic caribbean fruits that you can find seasonally.
While staying with us you can order delicious Puerto Rican cooking delivered right to your door.
We provide you with plenty of information to help you tailor the perfect itinerary.
Local Tour :The Jungle Cave Park includes lush jungle hikes, several caves, & spectacular sites.
Local Tour: The River Cave Tubing & Hiking areas include, lush jungle hikes, river caves, & sites.
Local Tour:  A Kayaking Adventure in one of Puerto Ricos largest lakes along the northern region.
This is an event location that can be rented separately. This is NOT the home you are staying at!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 23
Utuado, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Pep784
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic retreat in the mountains with beautiful tropical surroudings”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at the Santuary. It was incredibly peaceful and quiet. The house is big, was very clean and well equipped. The internet was quick and reliable which was important as I had to do some work from there. The views from patio are fantastic, overlooking the mountains and the valley below. There was a large garden surrounding the property which was beautifully landscaped with a mix of tropical forest planting and some lawns. We will definitely be back. Thanks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARK22816
Bradford, Illinois
1 review
“Very Good to work with”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We actually had to back out due to unforseen circumstances less than 24 hours after booking and Adam was very good about working with us and responding to our emails to get us our refund. We would definitely recommend his vacation rentals! Thank you Adam!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margarita...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Handsome Mountain Retreat in the Warm Heart of Puerto Rico”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It has been a rushed and hectic few weeks since returning to the bustle of Chicago, but still my mind drifts back to the relaxed pace and beauty of this secluded Sanctuary. Even this morning driving to work watching a dark cloudy storm front approach on the horizon I was taken back to the memories of majestic tropical mountains in Central Puerto Rico and Adam Garcia's Utuado Vacation HOME nestled high in the lush foliage overlooking Dos Bocas Lake to the north.
We have been coming often to this Island of Enchantment for more than the 30 years I have been married to my Puerto Rican wife. Every time we rent homes around the Isle to experience the flavor and culture of different areas.
THIS has been our most enjoyable stay in all those times.
After a one and half hour drive from San Juan we climbed along a 3 mile country road above the valley town of Utuado to reach a community private road off-shoot past a few local homes. Another 1/4 mile past those we reached a secured gateway that leads thru a winding jungle-canopied roadway to open upon a clearing and the HOME called Sanctuary.
Resting atop a bluff overlooking Lake Dos Bocas and its dam below we were greeted by a modern and spacious homestead. Elegance surrounded by Primal Nature.
Did I mention amenities ? ! ? Where to begin ? Adam and his Wife has seen to it that even small details abound to welcome their guests.
Mornings are the Treasure to experience here. Each day you arise you always first go to the huge rear balcony to see what gorgeous and unique cloud/fog pattern enshrouds the valley lake below. Then as you relax on the hammocks drinking home-grown coffee watch as the morning sun dissipates the mists. My wife and sister-in-law spent mornings walking the acreage taking photos and gathering flowers. Even after a two week stay here they never tired of these walks- and they are native country Boricuas !!!
And the Nights... listening to the sounds of Coqui frogs and the laughter of the Mucaro Screech Owl enchants as you are lulled to sleep with gentle mountain breezes.
With its central location everything was within a 1-2 hour drive radius with an exciting and vista-filled thrill ride down and up the mountain again each day. I would often make excuses just to ride down to town for supplies for the exhilarating adventures. And then return to the embrace of that private jungle home.
Magic is the sole word I utter when I recount my most recent stay.
This Sanctuary will cast its love spell on you.
I have always enjoyed my visits to Puerto Rico. Every stay a nice rental place or hotel.
But this HOME left me with a yearning to return everyday that passes.
Experience the Island the way the Borinquens do with warm, soft passion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Elegant Seclusion atop a Tropical Mountain
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigie R
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Beatiful Place...!!!”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

wonderful Place, when you can enjoy the mountains, and fresh air. Amazing view of the 'Dos Bocas Lake", tranquility area, spacious house, comfortable Beth rooms, flowers everywhere!!! I highly recommend it.

thank you Adam...

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fun-Vacat...
Utuado, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Majestic”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I wanted an escape in the mountains and this property exceeded our expectations. The privacy and serenity are beyond compare.
Adam and his team were awesome and all of the information they sent me helped us put together a great vacation, you have to do one of the suggested adventure tours.
We are looking forward to returning to The Sanctuary many more times!
Melendez Family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very clean!
Liked least: All was great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
We are honored to host you and yours and hope to see you again!
Adam, Cathy & Kat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing