We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveller rating
565
128
27
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
565
128
27
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfinca rosa blancacoffee plantationcosta ricasan joseour honeymoonpoas volcanotwo nightsmaster suiteclose to the airporthot tubthe main housefirst stopcentral valleylast nightcookiesbeautiful viewpura vida
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 734 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Loved the rooms. Stayed in the La Laguna (I think that was the name) House. The rooms were la Guaria and el Roble. It is an awesome building. Includes a kitchenette with a French press and coffee from the on-site plantation. A beautiful building.

I went in May 2018. No A/C required. It’s plenty cool at night. Around mid 60s Fahrenheit in our rooms at night.

We went on the coffee tour, which ended with a “cupping” session. They don’t just have you taste coffee. You actually learn how professionals “cup” coffee or discern quality.

Other coffee tours in CR are not necessarily on working coffee plantations. This tour is on a complete and working coffee plantation. You’ll learn a great deal about coffee. Tour guides are highly educated and can teach you so much.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Austin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Austin; Muchas gracias! It was such a pleasure to read your review and thank you for sharing your comments here on TripAdvisor. The villas, where you stayed are over 90 m2 (1000 SQ.') and as you know, are surrounded by lush verdant trees and flowers and with their two elevated decks are a great place to just hang - for couples or for the whole family.
Thank you also for pointing out that air conditioning is totally unnecessary here, as the nights are quite cool and the days are very warm in the sun, but in the shade, the temperature is perfect all year round. Also, the ceiling fans add to the feeling of comfort and we believe that we have the best climate in the world (in fact, our neighboring community, Atenas, was deemed to have the best climate in the world by National Geographic some years ago!)
We are indeed a working coffee plantation, producing about 7,000 kilos of high-quality organic coffee per year. One of the many differences of our farm from others is that it is family owned and operated, it is shade grown in a forest of native trees, the coffee is organic and we also produce many other fruits and vegetables in our coffee plantation as well, such as plantains, bananas, Guavas, Caimitos (delicious!), limes, mangos and much more.
Again, thank you for taking the time to share your observations. See you again soon I hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

This is our first of 7 nights here, and Finca Rosa Blanca is beyond incredible. If you're into authentic travel experiences (we don't like commercial resorts) this is THE place to be in Costa Rica!!!!!!!!

Stunning views, gorgeous cobblestone paths, gardens and grounds, quirky unique accommodation and decor, and don't even get me started on the infinity pool and hot tub (better than the pictures, lovely temperature!)

The service is outstanding. We were greeted at customs by our transport and it has been top notch from the second they met us.

We did the coffee connoisseur multi course dinner, and Eduardo blew us away with his attentiveness, and even made us a special off-menu local cocktail.

Did I mention the food is outstanding?

Charm and romance all the way!!!!!!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear Alexandra. Wow, what can we say! We are really moved by your review and are so happy that your experience was exactly how we would want all our guests to feel. My wife, Teresa, who designed all the landscaping - planting native species only, using the natural levels and curves, balancing the organic fruit trees and greenhouse with the rambling paths and volcanic stone paths and so much more is ecstatic that you were so enthralled with her work.
Our service is one that only a local and proud staff can offer- they are all part of our community both literally and spiritually and they are always so happy and involved with our guests. Edgardo who is also the Chief of reservations does all the photography for our social media and spends countless hours with us snapping super beautiful portraits our coffee plantation and small hotel. But first and foremost, he loves to pamper our guests and his unique charisma and kindness always add to our guests" experience.
As per our food... well we are extreme food lovers and use the Alice Waters/slow food approach of trying to offer seasonal, fresh and in our case, organic foods (whenever possible) straight from our farm and greenhouse to the table. Our Master Chef who has been creating our menu and guiding our cooks is Jose Pablo Gonzalez, a young, innovative and dedicated artist/foodie.
Again, thank you sooooo much for taking time to write this marvelous rview. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

This was our first time in Costa Rica and we couldn't have asked for a better place to spend it in. We stood for a week and the room was perfectly placed with the amazing view of San Jose and we had the most beautiful balcony. I went with my husband. It is a place for tranquility as it feels like you are the only people in the resort. A special thank you to Manolo for being an awesome guide to us on the Culture Highlands Tour and Pedro for providing excellent customer service at the front desk, always with any questions we had. Pura Vida de parte de los Boricuas Suarez !

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgrandote2, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Hola Betty S; Thank you for such a glowing review and so many nice comments. We are always so glad to receive these observations, especially when our guests appreciate the views, and the tranquility of the area and our gardens surrounding the hotel.
Manolo is an amazing guide: he started working with us over 20 years ago as a driver with only a few English words in his vocabulary (he learned his fluent English by speaking with our guests!), and now is one of the most recognized birders in Costa Rica and a certified veteran guide.
We will pass along your kudos to Pedro as well, who is a sweet and gentle man as well as a local caring member of our staff and community.

again, thank you so much for taking time to write about your stay with us. Pura Vida Betty- esperamos que nos visiten de nuevo y muy pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

This "working" coffee plantation is a unique gem just outside San Jose. Nestled on a hillside, with views overlooking San Jose, it's a quiet respite from the city nearby.

Accommodations are well appointed, each quite unique in design and decor. It was previously a private house (quite large!) and has retained all the character and charm.

The staff are very polite, attentive, and customer service pro's. We worked with Ed, who's outstanding and has been with the property for almost a decade. He assisted with transportation for us as well as ensuring all other requests were met to exceed expectations.

We also did the very informative coffee-plantation walking tour...learned a ton about coffee and how it's grown, harvested, roasted, ground, etc...plus all the wildlife that call the plantation their home as well!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATLsoccerdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgrandote2, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear ATLsoccerdad: What a nice review of our little hotel and coffee plantation- thank you so much for taking the time to write it! I am always pleased to read about the staff being so attentive and friendly, as they are all from the local surrounding areas and take great pride in their community and in our hotel. Ed is great and is not only an amazing and kind person, he is also a phenomenal photographer. In fact, many of our photos on our website and social media were taken by him, and his pride and talent really show.

I am sure you learned a lot from Ulises our coffee guide (we jokingly call him "Mr. Coffee" here) as his passion for the flora, fauna and of course our organic shade grew coffee is really contagious. I go on these tours now and then to update myself on the newest info and to get inspired

Again thank you for writing your comments and sending them into TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

Sadly this place has changed and not for the better in my opinion. We had stayed here prior (a few years ago) and couldn't wait to return. It was beautiful, romantic, quite and peaceful. Sadly not so much any more. On our recent visit 90% of the place was taken over by a very loud tour group which resulted in no romantic or quite dinner nor peacefully relaxing around the pool. We could even hear them in our private villa, they were making so much noise. Service was also poor - had to wait over 30 min to get a cup of coffee at breakfast as staff was occupied with tour group. We will not be returning nor recommending. I guess if you want a loud party atmosphere then this is why you would stay here now.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgrandote2, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear DB; First and foremost, thank you for returning to Finca Rosa Blanca, I am very sorry that this group was so loud. We do not cater to nor include tour groups, as you know, we only have 14 rooms, so tour groups do not fit into our layout (or our philosophy) very well. Furthermore, 99% percent of our clients are like you: independent and very selective travelers. Unfortunately, on the day you were staying with us, we did have a group of veteran and highly discerning travel agents who were visiting Costa
Rica to make inspections of the best hotels in Costa Rica and came and stayed as a group. This is extremely unusual but apparently they were rather loud.
Please try us again, I am sure you will not be confronted with this, as in the 30 years and 3 generations we have owned and operated our little hotel, we have had maybe two or three groups stay here.

Again, thanks for taking the time to make us aware of this and we will work hard to forewarn these groups (however seldom they come), to respect the tranquility and peace that we have been known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews