We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (994)
Filter reviews
994 results
Traveller rating
512
352
87
34
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
512
352
87
34
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view indoor pool booked this hotel private terrace art resort the hotel staff ping pong very nice hotel uruguay beaches paradise americans sports crowd paper taxi spanish
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 994 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We were very disappointed with the overall service at the Hotel del Lago. The staff tries to be accommodating but they fail to deliver first class service in a fairly expensive resort area. Though the location is in a very relaxing area, somewhat remote from the bustle of Punta Del Este center city, the desk does little to anticipate your needs and does little to offer suggestions on what to do during your stay. As Americans, we felt that since we spoke little Spanish, we did try hard, they did not give us much attention. No Taxi or shuttle service was on time, and one taxi we took with a lady in a grey Toyota did not have air-condition in 90-degree weather! She was also very rude and brusk. When we were taken to a beach one day, that was not as nice as the beach the previous day, we called the front desk to have them take us to the beach we visited the day before. They sent the taxi operated by the lady with the grey Toyota who again was rude and wanted to charge us $15 for going less than a mile. We did not pay because we felt it was the responsibility of the front office to move us from one beach to another. We di do not ask to go to a different beach the second time but the shuttle driver thought it would be ok. Once we realized it was not as nice we call the front desk to move us to a beach called Tio Tom. When we returned to the front desk after our beach visit they told us they are going to charge our room for the Taxi, We complained to the supervisor that we should not be charged because it was not our fault we were taken to a different beach than the day before and the hotel should pay for the taxi that took us to our preferred beach Tio Tom(though the taxi was terrible). If we could have done our reservation all over we would not stay at Hotel del Lago and instead stayed in the center city of Punta Del Este.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JOe19772014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Is a very nice hotel, a little bit old, but installations are still ok. Offers a lot of entertainment for kids and adults. The room is nice, and the view from the hotel as well. The employees are friendly and help you with all. The breakfast is also very good. I just felt the lunch/dinner too expensive and the dishes are not very good. It is too expensive in relation with what is offered.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Fabian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro R, Subencargada at Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear Fabian,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

As mentioned in our Hotel you can enjoy various activities, services and an unbeatable environment.

Regarding your suggestion we want to emphasize that we have taken note in order to continue improving our services.

We hope to have your presence again.

Regards,

Rosina Garretano
Atencion al Cliente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

This is a great hotel. I recommend the hotel for vacation. This is a family place. You will have good food, good place to take good time.
The Punta Del Este is not very far from the hotel, so you can visit many places by car.
Best Regards,

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 168augustod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro R, Subencargada at Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear Augusto,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

As mentioned in our Hotel you can enjoy various activities, services and an unbeatable environment.

We hope to have your presence again.

Regards,

Rosina Garretano
Atencion al Cliente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Relaxing and a true art resort. Lots of paintings and pianos. Nice restaurant and friendly service. Beautiful lake view with a very tranquil setting. We stayed for 3 nights in Aug - wintertime there but one can enjoy Breakfast at the balcony overlooking water. Our room is spacious. There was a piano recital of a concert series in the banquet hall on the 3rd floor that we thoroughly enjoyed.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro R, Jefe de Recepción at Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Ms. Christina L.

Thank you for sharing your experience at TripAdvisor.

It is for us a truly privilege to know that you and your family had enjoy of our facilities and services.

Art, it’s a very important part of the Hotel, we have more than 400 pieces of art by national and international artists decorating our walls. Likewise, every month we offer concerts where our guests are invited.

Once again, thanks for your positive comments and we are looking forward to know about you very soon.

Sincerely.

Álvaro Rodríguez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

The HOTEL DEL LAGO GOLF ART RESORT is really good. The tomo with Lake view is excelent

We can see and confirm the childs enjoying the funny games. Many families with childs

Restaurant is good. And the guests enjoy the indoor pool.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank MAU1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro R, Atención al Cliente at Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Mr. Mau,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and its high rating.

We appreciate your comments and we are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your last stay with us.

As mentioned by our Hotel, it has various activities and services that will make your stay an unforgettable experience.

We hope to have your presence again,

Greet Atte.

Rosina Garretano
Customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews