We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
10
7
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
7
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2015

We booked to stay here on our way down to the Alps with our 20 month son.

They say that owners resemble their dogs, in this case the owner resembles the accommodation, charming and a little bit quirky. Roy, the owner was a delightful host who welcomed us with an effusive greeting on arrival (especially after I had to call him as I was lost - his directions were excellent, my navigational skills weren't!).

The B&B, based in a former wine warehouse looks rustic from the outside but the inside is furnished to a high standard throughout, with a superb modern en suite bathroom.

The food was some of the best I have eaten at a chambre d'hote, all vegetarian, but don't let that put you off, with cooking this good, the lack of meat for even the most hardened carnivores wouldn't be an issue.

This was a really super place to stay, made even better by the warm welcome and stunning evening meal. Definitely one to recommend - we really enjoyed our stay here.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ToscatheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Les Battees is a vegetarian b&b / chambre d'hote in Burgundy, and it is very good indeed! The rooms are in an old farmhouse, large, polished wooden floors, very quiet and peaceful. Comfortable bed. Food is excellent - Roy, the owner, does an evening 3-course dinner (+ aperitifs) - always vegetarian - and he is an excellent cook. In the three nights we stayed we had a camembert, celeriac & prune quiche with potatoes and beans, a haricot bean + vegetable cobbler (v light scones), and a goats cheese & pepper tart. Great place to stay, convenient for visiting Beaune, Dijon, Autun (perfect if you like wine and old churches...).

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S-in-Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Wow...Roy can cook!!!! The B&B was lovely, a real hidden gem in a beautiful area, but it was the homecooked meal that really makes this place special! Even my devotedly carnivorous boyfriend loved the vegetarian feast we had at Les Battees. We caught the train to Beaune one day too - great day out and a fab little journey! Our room at the B&B was lovely, spacious, clean and comfortable; the terrace was great; and the setting was like a little French rural wilderness retreat!

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellastar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The house is an interesting old building and the bedroom was clean with a modern bathroom attached. It was easy to find; not far from a junction with the A6 and is set in a lovely region, Autun is well worth a visit. On the negative side it was fairly spartan and the food was mediocre, although vegans were catered for.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enantiomorph, Propriétaire at Les Battees, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

I am sorry my client did not enjoy his food. For balance I refer the reader to the other reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The accommodations at Les Battees are spacious and comfortable. The location is beautiful and provides easy access for wine tasting and sight seeing in the region - and there's even a beautiful chateau to visit right up the road! I can't give high enough praise for Roy's cooking - each of the three nights that we stayed he provided delicious, inventive, and elegantly presented three course vegan dinners. Roy was welcoming and knowledgeable - including offering a welcome insider's tip about a local weekend market - without being invasive in any way.
I would highly recommend Les Battees to vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike.
The only minor complaint was that we arrived on a dark and rainy evening, and it was difficult to know which building (in the small compound) we were supposed to go to. A more visible sign demarcating the right one would have been helpful.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooklyn_Beaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews