We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This fantastic course keeps your head in the clouds and your feet on the ground.”

Walnut Grove Cookery School
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Professional gourmet chef Maynard Harvey is waiting to share with you his wealth of experience and to take your cooking to the next level. Classes are fun, informal and inspirational – with no more than five guests to one chef everybody gets the personal attention they require, regardless of their skill level, with extensive hands-on time in the kitchen. Can also take one non-participant each course to join in with degustation!
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Mother and daughter.
Despite varying abilities the course was ideally suited to us both.
It took over three weeks to find a course that would be suitable.
It exceeded every expectation. The teaching was professional from a highly accomplished chef and was delivered with a great humour.
The website did not hint at the amazing level that could be achieved. We can't believe the standard we attained.
Great company from our American colleagues - will keep in touch with them.

Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya H, Owner at Walnut Grove Cookery School, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear Julie

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write it. It was lovely to meet you both and we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, we look forward to seeing photos of your creations! Your final dessert was a winner!
Best regards
Maynard and Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the kitchen"
in 15 reviews
"my wife"
in 5 reviews
"walnut grove"
in 38 reviews
"group of friends"
in 2 reviews
"cooking course"
in 7 reviews
"knife skills"
in 8 reviews
"french countryside"
in 6 reviews
"wonderful experience"
in 5 reviews
"skill level"
in 3 reviews
"comfortable accommodations"
in 2 reviews
"making sure"
in 2 reviews
"dinner"
in 10 reviews
"holiday"
in 10 reviews
"students"
in 12 reviews
"techniques"
in 17 reviews
"week"
in 10 reviews
"home"
in 8 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

Wow, what a wonderful culinary experience we have just concluded. Walnut Grove is a beautiful compound located just on the edge of a small community just south of Laval. Wonderfully comfortable accommodations in one of the two preserved historic buildings. Cooking classes (max 5 students!) led by cooking wizard and affable Chef Maynard in the other adjacent building. Meals served open air on the adjoining porch by the effervescent Freya. We weren't sure what to expect before we arrived but our experience here at Walnut Creek has certainly been one of our best holiday outings....ever.

Thank LoveTravel312549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya H, Owner at Walnut Grove Cookery School, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Rob
Thank you very much for your comments, we really enjoyed meeting you both, and hope your cooking continues sucessfully! Let us know if you are back in France, it would be great to meet again.
Best rgards
Maynard and Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Really great week of cooking. Loved how with a small group any question was answered and that I had the Chef instructors full attention. Many techniques were covered especially 'chef tricks of the trade' and plating composition. Will be going back if more courses are offered for chefs. Definitely worth the money, great location and hospitality.

Thank Guest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya H, Owner at Walnut Grove Cookery School, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear Rob
It was great to get to know you and hear about your yachting/ski chalet stories! Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Good luck with it all and don't hesitate to ask if you have questions.
best regards
Maynard and Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

From my fabulous "room with a view" to the sensational food we prepared and ate I cannot thank Freya and Maynard enough - and their son Richard, for perhaps one of the best, most welcoming holidays I have ever had. Three cheers for Walnut Grove Cookery! See you all again soon!!!

Thank ABroadAbroad1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya H, Owner at Walnut Grove Cookery School, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Dear Donna
It was such a pleasure to meet and get to know you. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, we hope the rest of your travels in France will be fabulous. Do keep in touch, hopefully we'll rendez-vous in New York one day!!
Best regards
Maynard and Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2017

I can honestly say this holiday has been one of the best I have ever enjoyed. Having always enjoyed cooking and good food, I chose this course as it promised a culinary adventure. We drove from UK and arrived to a champagne reception, which always bodes well. Maynard and his wife are exceptional hosts! The accommodation is very comfortable with ensuite bathrooms and although no coffee and tea making facilities in the room, there is a fully stocked kitchen to which you can help yourself at any time. Not that you get to spend much time in the rooms! The tuition is full on and right and from the start we were shown basic knife, butchering and filleting skills. As the week progressed, we learnt a multitude of other skills and finally on the last day, we were presented with ingredients and recipes and asked to plan and present our own dishes, drawing the dish and writing a 'mis en place' list. Not as easy as it sounds. It is easy to watch programmes on TV, but I now fully appreciate the time, effort, skill and passion that chefs require.
Maynard is an incredible teacher. He has a fun quick-witted sense of humour but he is enormously patient and charming with it. Freya, his wife, works tirelessly along side him, making sure everything is in place, ensuring our every comfort is met. They are a wonderful team. I have learnt so much in such a short space of time. It was indeed sad when it came to an end as I would love to have continued learning more, but we were also exhausted. Don't let anyone tell you being a chef is easy. They are on their feet all day and so were we. I can whole heartedly recommend this wonderful place with no reservations. The food we learnt to prepare and cook is well within the capabilities of most amateur cooks but whilst Maynard made it look easy, it will require quite a few hours of practise! He has inspired me to be more adventurous.

Thank VHWestMalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya H, Owner at Walnut Grove Cookery School, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear Vicky

Thank you very much for your review, it was a pleasure to meet and spend the week with you both, we too had great fun. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the course, and we look forward to hearing about your adventures in the kitchen at home. Feel free to email at any time if you need any further advice.
Best regards
Maynard and Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walnut Grove Cookery School also viewed

Cosse le Vivien, Mayenne
La Selle-Craonnaise, Mayenne
 
Chateau-Gontier, Mayenne
 

Been to Walnut Grove Cookery School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing