We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hofmeyr family”
Review of Tafika

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sapi Safari Area
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tafika
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Definitely up in the top trips we have taken.
First of all set in an incredibly beautiful place.
The Lodge itself is very well laid out and sits like an oasis within the Zambezi Valley.
Large trees shade the rooms which have strips of bush between them for privacy, they have lovely views of the mighty Zambezi.
The rooms are well laid out, spacious, comfortable, plenty of air movement, really great outdoor shower with plenty of hot water if required.
Stone paths that wind through well kept, lush green grass and bridges connect the rooms, the paths are well lit at night.
The attention to detail from before we even arrived to the moment we left after spending four nights was excellent.
From reminders to pay fishing fees to National Parks, road map, GPS co-ordinates, quick response to queries, any special occasion or diet requirements,
On arrival a boat was ready to take us out, cool box packed, Tiger fish and Bream rods ready, plenty of spare tackle, chopping board, knife, scale, crisps and live bait on board.
Within a hour we had a 10kg Vundu and a Tiger in the bag.
Fish were caught every time we went out, the two above plus Chessa and Bream.
Game viewing from the water is a lovely way to see wildlife, we spotted 11 different kinds of animal.
The bird life is impressive, the evening formation of various species making their way along the water are particularly lovely.
Our boat driver, Ernest, is a trainee Guide, he allowed us to use his binoculars and bird book freely.
His knowledge of the bush, birds and animals is considerable.
The sunsets are spectacular and combined with a really relaxing social at the campfire, tasty snacks were served, chilled drinks close at hand, Zambezi in sight and Hippopotamus doing their contented sounding snorting/grunting.
Just so peaceful and tranquil, sitting in the wilds of Africa but with extreme comfort.
The meals were so good, always plenty of fresh and tasty food, meal times are very flexible, we had one packed lunch which we ate on an island by a anthill under a lovely tree.
On getting back to the room after dinner one finds the mosquito nets down, bedding turned back on the very comfortable beds, ice water and glasses on a tray.
The Staff are very attentive but not in your face, the whole place is neat clean and tidy.
The generator came on early for us to pack up and have a cuppa before we left at 5:30am, Management waved us goodbye.
All in all a very special experience, one that we will always remember.
Thank you

Room Tip: Possibly those small LED lanterns instead of candles to avoid the possabilty of a fire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hofmeyrgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2015

Our Party took over the whole camp (16). Fishing was mediocre (due to weather - not camp issues), camp fishing equipment in good condition. Boat staff were satisfactory, some much better than others (with reference to effort made / technics tried and # of fish per day). Boats/some cooler boxes etc.. are in need of some TLC.

Regards to the camp :

Food was great and drinks were consistently cold.

Chalets are great, en-suite tents on the rivers edge - not often you get a bad nights sleep due to hippo grunts and baboon barks - it really is magical!!!

Wifi was good enough for comms (whatsapp and FB Messenger) but not good enough for email / inet pages.

A great trip, well managed and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Tents 1 & 2 are well situated away from the main boma area but nice and close regards walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mad_Runner_MW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I organised a men's fishing trip back to Zim after an enormous amount of research. We had a group of eight international visitors from literally around the world - we were all blown away by the experience.
We were hosted to a very high level by the team, and literally could not have asked for more hospitality. We drove in and were a little delayed - we were met by Geoff and Grey with a cool beer on the way in.
The tiger fishing in Oct was better than expected and we all caught high quality and quantity throughout the week. In all we had 750 lbs of tigerfish all Catch and Release, with numerous double figures up to 19 lbs.
In addition we were spoiled with game viewing - inevitable crocs/hippo etc, but also saw hunting dogs(endangered species) lion and collection of croc eggs.
What a wonderful position in the middle of one of the most pristine wildernesses in Africa.
Please don't change a thing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twister_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We recently returned from Shamashanga - it's a camp on the lower Zambezi not far from Tafika (same owners) located on the Zambezi river. If you love tiger fishing and reading, this camp is for you. The location is superb -peaceful with breath taking views of the river. Each spacious tent has a river view - beds are cosy and comfortable with strong showers under the stars! Lolly, the camp manager is very accommodating and friendly. Everything was so well organised and the drinks were always cold and plentiful. Food was simple but tasty and also plentiful. The camp staff were very obliging. Most importantly the fishing boats were superb - there are 4 to a boat (pontoon style) with comfy chairs and plenty of coller boxes and fishing rods. We spent lots of time tiger fishing - the biggest one caught was 21 lbs. Bream fishing was also good. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful trip - keep it up.

Room Tip: All rooms are good - tent 4 is close enough to main bar and dining area. Tent 9 is further to walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were on a Tiger Fishing expedition from 26 August to 30 August, with colleagues/friends at Tafika. Our hostess, Helen Simon, is a wonderful person and will go out of her way to accommodate your every need. Accommodation is immaculate. Laundry service is satisfactory. The food is amazing. The fishing boats and personnel are wonderful. The largest fish we caught weighed 20 pounds. A whole lot of fish were also caught weighing 13 and 14 pounds. We were a mixed group consisting of 7 men and 7 women. Some of the women never held a fishing rod before and even they caught a fish or two. This is definitely a destination to visit. The season runs from March to end October and they are not operational during the other months due to monsoon etc.

Room Tip: All units are the same, facing the Zambesi River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiniaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tafika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tafika

Address: Zambezi River | Chewore, Sapi Safari Area, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland West Province > Sapi Safari Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Sapi Safari Area
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing