We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
7
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishbreamgame viewingzambeziplentymosquitoesvunduviewstripsboatwildlife
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Our Party took over the whole camp (16). Fishing was mediocre (due to weather - not camp issues), camp fishing equipment in good condition. Boat staff were satisfactory, some much better than others (with reference to effort made / technics tried and # of fish per day). Boats/some cooler boxes etc.. are in need of some TLC.

Regards to the camp :

Food was great and drinks were consistently cold.

Chalets are great, en-suite tents on the rivers edge - not often you get a bad nights sleep due to hippo grunts and baboon barks - it really is magical!!!

Wifi was good enough for comms (whatsapp and FB Messenger) but not good enough for email / inet pages.

A great trip, well managed and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Tents 1 & 2 are well situated away from the main boma area but nice and close regards walking.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mad_Runner_MW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I organised a men's fishing trip back to Zim after an enormous amount of research. We had a group of eight international visitors from literally around the world - we were all blown away by the experience.
We were hosted to a very high level by the team, and literally could not have asked for more hospitality. We drove in and were a little delayed - we were met by Geoff and Grey with a cool beer on the way in.
The tiger fishing in Oct was better than expected and we all caught high quality and quantity throughout the week. In all we had 750 lbs of tigerfish all Catch and Release, with numerous double figures up to 19 lbs.
In addition we were spoiled with game viewing - inevitable crocs/hippo etc, but also saw hunting dogs(endangered species) lion and collection of croc eggs.
What a wonderful position in the middle of one of the most pristine wildernesses in Africa.
Please don't change a thing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twister_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We recently returned from Shamashanga - it's a camp on the lower Zambezi not far from Tafika (same owners) located on the Zambezi river. If you love tiger fishing and reading, this camp is for you. The location is superb -peaceful with breath taking views of the river. Each spacious tent has a river view - beds are cosy and comfortable with strong showers under the stars! Lolly, the camp manager is very accommodating and friendly. Everything was so well organised and the drinks were always cold and plentiful. Food was simple but tasty and also plentiful. The camp staff were very obliging. Most importantly the fishing boats were superb - there are 4 to a boat (pontoon style) with comfy chairs and plenty of coller boxes and fishing rods. We spent lots of time tiger fishing - the biggest one caught was 21 lbs. Bream fishing was also good. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful trip - keep it up.

Room Tip: All rooms are good - tent 4 is close enough to main bar and dining area. Tent 9 is further to walk.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were on a Tiger Fishing expedition from 26 August to 30 August, with colleagues/friends at Tafika. Our hostess, Helen Simon, is a wonderful person and will go out of her way to accommodate your every need. Accommodation is immaculate. Laundry service is satisfactory. The food is amazing. The fishing boats and personnel are wonderful. The largest fish we caught weighed 20 pounds. A whole lot of fish were also caught weighing 13 and 14 pounds. We were a mixed group consisting of 7 men and 7 women. Some of the women never held a fishing rod before and even they caught a fish or two. This is definitely a destination to visit. The season runs from March to end October and they are not operational during the other months due to monsoon etc.

Room Tip: All units are the same, facing the Zambesi River.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiniaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a group of 6 guys,we had a business meeting for 2 hours then enjoyed the great hospitality of Tafika.The staff and food were excellent.Our boat guide who looked after all of us on our daily fishing trips was professional and very experienced.Accommodation was luxury for fisher men,highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank samsunburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews