We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the river and through the woods to grandfather's house we go!”
Review of Inn at Warner Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester Courthouse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Warner Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2014

This amazing Bed and Breakfast Inn has so many star qualities. The location on the Severn River in Southern Virginaia is quite rural with a white livestock fence and brick gates leading up to the beautiful plantion home of George Washington's great- great grandfather, Augustine Warner.

The architecture of this lovely home with a huge porch and sweeping staircase is delightful. The interior rooms are elegant particularly the lovely parlor and dining room which are inhabited by grateful guests and the special animals: Martha, a Beagle and George, a German Shepard mix.

We particularly enjoyed the lovely guest bedrooms. We stayed in the George Washington Suite on the main floor, a huge room with windows on both sides, a large bathroom with Jacuzzi for two and the welcoming fireplace that may be lighted with a remote.

Eric Garcia the chef and Jan and Christina produced delicious meals including a Five Course Tasting Dinner while we were there. We enjoyed the "peek neek" baskets as well. The breakfasts each day were special with a choice of two each day.

Finally, and best of all, the the welcoming and most attractive owners, Troy and Theresa Steavens, are right there on the spot making certain that guests feel at home and checking out every detail to make our stay perfect.

Room Tip: I checked most of the rooms. Each is unique and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank patgammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2014

Just came back from our 40+ anniversary stay at this fabulous B&B place! What can you possibly say about a place that has been lovingly restored to a place on the registry of historical places but offers all the creature comforts one could want! Signed letters from Robert E.Lee to prior owners decorate one wall - who could ask for a better recommendation (puts this review to shame). Delightfully decorated for the holiday season with simple yet elegant touches (see pics)! We had the west wing all to ourselves - a warm fireplace as show flurries arrived. Cozy bathrobes, antique furniture, and beautiful views from all the windows of woods and river shore lines. Quiet and comforting to those battling urban fatigue!

Breakfast was great - the starter fruit plate (see pic - after a few bites) was followed by a delightful poached egg meal with cheese grits, bacon, home made breads, juices (yes even unsweetened ruby grapefruit for those of us watching our weight) and plenty of coffee. And the decor in which it was served was even more of a pleasure.

Friendly helpful staff - a boathouse with fishing tackle and small craft in season, manicured grounds. And for those just starting out it offers wedding packages!

We are already planning our next visit - this time in the spring when things are in bloom and the river is more inviting.

Room Tip: The rooms in the wing are more private and you are welcome to visit the main house via covered walkw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2014

My wife and I have been to many fine B&Bs, but this one is amazing. The Troy and Theresa did an amazing job restoring this large Virginia plantation to its historical splendor. The property is meticulously maintained, the woodwork, paintings and furniture are a perfect fit. The rooms were exceptionally large and well equipped, and the food was outstanding. We are locals and wanted to have a one night getaway and we were not disappointed. Next time we will go when the weather is warmer so we can enjoy the water activities offered.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2014

Fabulous B&B! Troy and Teresa are Terrific! We have stayed at hundreds of hotels and many B&Bs and this is topnotch. They have not spared expense to make everything perfect. Some places we have stayed cut corners in places that you notice - not here!

Pros - Beautifully restored historic property with many lovely personal touches, great breakfast (not too fussy), best bed I've slept in in years. Lovely boathouse next to the river that is an open lounge for guests to use when they want to (wish we had realized it earlier).

Cons - Dark road to get there at night and 40 minutes from Williamsburg (more than advertised). Often booked on weekends for weddings. Chef is wonderful, but evening meals are not available on a regular basis, and it is quite a distance from restaurants. Satellite wifi is iffy.

Recommendation - make a cheese plate or other nibbles available for sale in the evenings.

We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: All looked great - we stayed in the Washington Suite and loved it, although the room and floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cctravelercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2014

We stayed at the Inn at Warner Hall for only 2 nights but it was definitely worth it. The plantation home was beautifully restored and all the historical furnishing so quaint and charming. The grounds were beautiful as well and the view from the pier of the creek was a beautiful sight.The staff were very gracious and helpful from giving us directions to a restaurant and showing us around the inn and some of its historical rooms and its unique fireplaces and preparing us a delicious breakfast each morning. On our last day there we met Theresa and Troy and they were very gracious hosts who take pride in their historical inn and enjoy meeting and getting to know their guests. A great place to stay if you want to slow down and get away from the everyday fast paced life for a relaxing and peaceful stay in a charming and idyllic setting. A great location to have weddings, celebrate a wedding anniversary or birthday. Thinking of returning this spring to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Inn at Warner Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Warner Hall

Address: 4750 Warner Hall Rd, Gloucester Courthouse, VA 23061-4507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Gloucester > Gloucester Courthouse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester Courthouse
Price Range: $198 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Inn At Warner Hall Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing