We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
143
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
143
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat house the river select registry get away george and martha colonial williamsburg second floor owners and staff each morning magical place large windows romantic getaway beautiful property his wife a wonderful stay idyllic setting gravel driveway
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2014

Just came back from our 40+ anniversary stay at this fabulous B&B place! What can you possibly say about a place that has been lovingly restored to a place on the registry of historical places but offers all the creature comforts one could want! Signed letters from Robert E.Lee to prior owners decorate one wall - who could ask for a better recommendation (puts this review to shame). Delightfully decorated for the holiday season with simple yet elegant touches (see pics)! We had the west wing all to ourselves - a warm fireplace as show flurries arrived. Cozy bathrobes, antique furniture, and beautiful views from all the windows of woods and river shore lines. Quiet and comforting to those battling urban fatigue!

Breakfast was great - the starter fruit plate (see pic - after a few bites) was followed by a delightful poached egg meal with cheese grits, bacon, home made breads, juices (yes even unsweetened ruby grapefruit for those of us watching our weight) and plenty of coffee. And the decor in which it was served was even more of a pleasure.

Friendly helpful staff - a boathouse with fishing tackle and small craft in season, manicured grounds. And for those just starting out it offers wedding packages!

We are already planning our next visit - this time in the spring when things are in bloom and the river is more inviting.

Room tip: The rooms in the wing are more private and you are welcome to visit the main house via covered walkways whenever the mood strikes so you get the best of both worlds IMO.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2014

My wife and I have been to many fine B&Bs, but this one is amazing. The Troy and Theresa did an amazing job restoring this large Virginia plantation to its historical splendor. The property is meticulously maintained, the woodwork, paintings and furniture are a perfect fit. The rooms were exceptionally large and well equipped, and the food was outstanding. We are locals and wanted to have a one night getaway and we were not disappointed. Next time we will go when the weather is warmer so we can enjoy the water activities offered.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2014

Fabulous B&B! Troy and Teresa are Terrific! We have stayed at hundreds of hotels and many B&Bs and this is topnotch. They have not spared expense to make everything perfect. Some places we have stayed cut corners in places that you notice - not here!

Pros - Beautifully restored historic property with many lovely personal touches, great breakfast (not too fussy), best bed I've slept in in years. Lovely boathouse next to the river that is an open lounge for guests to use when they want to (wish we had realized it earlier).

Cons - Dark road to get there at night and 40 minutes from Williamsburg (more than advertised). Often booked on weekends for weddings. Chef is wonderful, but evening meals are not available on a regular basis, and it is quite a distance from restaurants. Satellite wifi is iffy.

Recommendation - make a cheese plate or other nibbles available for sale in the evenings.

We will definitely stay there again!

Room tip: All looked great - we stayed in the Washington Suite and loved it, although the room and floors are a little cold because of all of the windows.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cctravelercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2014

We stayed at the Inn at Warner Hall for only 2 nights but it was definitely worth it. The plantation home was beautifully restored and all the historical furnishing so quaint and charming. The grounds were beautiful as well and the view from the pier of the creek was a beautiful sight.The staff were very gracious and helpful from giving us directions to a restaurant and showing us around the inn and some of its historical rooms and its unique fireplaces and preparing us a delicious breakfast each morning. On our last day there we met Theresa and Troy and they were very gracious hosts who take pride in their historical inn and enjoy meeting and getting to know their guests. A great place to stay if you want to slow down and get away from the everyday fast paced life for a relaxing and peaceful stay in a charming and idyllic setting. A great location to have weddings, celebrate a wedding anniversary or birthday. Thinking of returning this spring to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights. Fantastic location,food and inn. We didn't even leave the Inn on one day when we used the kayaks and hung out on the porch. Also saw a pair of eagles when we went in the kayaks.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews