We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what a chateau should be!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vault-de-Lugny
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles,ca
Level Contributor
343 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Just what a chateau should be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Using our trusty GPS,we arrived in the afternoon. We were a bit dismayed as the promised and confirmed room was not available, since its occupants elected to stay longer. We were given another room at the junior suite level and found it to our liking. There was an elegant bathroom with double sinks and all was well lit. The bedroom was very comfortable and beautifully furnished. The property itself is wonderful,with ancient buildings and a moat adding to the scenery. There are all kinds of birds and geese plus three dogs wandering around. -the dogs all friendly. Dinner was good, but not over the top. Service was excellent. They garaged our car and made sure the windows were clean every day. They even mapped out routes we could take to explore this historic area.Highly recommended

Room Tip: Make sure your room has more than one window in it. Those tend to be quite dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mflickermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    26
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
106
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Location is fantastic as were the buildings and grounds. Proprietor and staff were all very friendly and helpful and all spoke excellent English. Nothing was too much trouble. The quality of the food and wine was absolutely excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay and would certainly return. All this comes at a price though - it is not a Premier Inn!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robp748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

this must be paradise! moats, goats, gardens, peacocks, a dungeon and medieval grand chateau and the town of espoisses around the corner. there are rolling hills with white cows grazing everywhere. the hosts could not have been kinder and it is no surprise to see the upscale group of backroad bikers also as guests. our intimate dining experience could also be described with perfection!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abl510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,043 reviews
370 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,821 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

As i've repeatedly said, hotels are like food and wine, very personal and subjective.
We had been here previously and my wife hesitates at returning to the same location.
Yet on this trip,Lynn suggested that we return to the Chsteau - we had such fond memories - and the roaming peacocks and other birds were a major part of this - other reviewers though obviously see them as a sideshow.
We'd previously had a suite and I was slightly disappointed to be "downgraded" - the owners response was "you obviously booked by the internet" and they clearly didn;t bother checking that I was a repeat customer.
The service was probably ordinary and the food was so-so but we didn;t come here for a food experience - it is what it is - and we love it for that.
Vezelay is a wonderful base to explore the Burgundy region and we would certainly come back to the Chateau again and again - hopefully the owners next time remember us and give us a better room.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We just got back from spending 4 nights at this property and we could not have been more pleased. First off, we were upgraded to a junior suite at no extra cost when we arrived. The room was large with a very comfortable bed and a large modern bathroom. The staff could not have been nicer. They were very courteous and always wanted to make sure you had everything you wanted. We ate at the hotel restaurant which was incredible. One of the chefs preparations was foie gras soup and foie gras creme brulee which we still talk about. The meal was exquisitely served in a charming dining room and the wait staff could not have been more professional. The grounds of the hotel could not be better. The most enjoyable time for us was sitting on lounge chairs under a 400 year old tree drinking a glass of wine while watching the geese, ducks, peacocks, and turkeys stroll by. The sounds of the geese and ducks and turkeys screaming out bring a smile to my face everytime I think of them. It was fun to walk around the grounds of this castle with its moat and watchtower. If you want a beautiful hotel where you can relax after a day of touring, this is the place for you. You feel you are in a special setting because there are very few rooms and you really feel like you a lord of the manor.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nedrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vault-de-Lugny
1.2 km away
Le Moulin des Templiers
Le Moulin des Templiers
#1 of 3 in Pontaubert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
9.3 km away
Hotel de la Poste et du Lion d'Or
2.2 km away
Moulin des Ruats
Moulin des Ruats
#1 of 6 in Avallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Logis Les Fleurs
Logis Les Fleurs
#2 of 3 in Pontaubert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
5.0 km away
Dak'Hotel
Dak'Hotel
#2 of 6 in Avallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
37.3 km away
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny

Property: Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
Address: 11 rue du Chateau, 89200 Vault-de-Lugny, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Vault-de-Lugny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vault-de-Lugny
Price range (per night): $254 - $554
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idealy located between Vezelay and Chablis, the moated Chateau de Vault de Lugny has been built between the XIII & XVII Century. the Chateau offers 16 luxurious rooms overlooking the spacious gardens, several with fireplaces, four poster bed & period furniture. Award of the best indoor pool & jacuzzi. A unique place for a romantic & relaxing stay in Burgundy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Vault-De-Lugny Hotel Vault-De-Lugny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing