We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$78
View Deal
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
133
178
96
30
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
133
178
96
30
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews resident elephant pool bar game drives an oasis concession area wild animals nice stay desert elephants rhino tracking stayed one night two nights short notice clean ablutions beautiful area self drive black rhino buffet style
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2021

We camped for 3 night in Palmwag on the road to Etocha. The staff assigned us campsite Xxx. This is a site with river view. All accommodations are well maintained and clean. There are still some works in progress but it didn’t interfere with our stay. Be aware that you stay in the arid zone north of the red line (Vet fence). Each campsite have a roofed area where you can hide for the sun. Campers have their own swimming pool and poolbar.

Date of stay: December 2020
Thank 139Pinguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernd Grahl, Marketing at Palmwag Lodge & Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 139Pinguin,

Thank you for your positive response! We are happy to hear from you and we hope you give us another chance to cater to your needs again.

Kind regards
Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021

The ablusion block at campsite 13 was terrible. There was water leaking and doors that couldn't close.
Campsite 8s ablusion block was lovely.
The fact that there was a mistake with the bookings was very unfair.
Other than that we saw many elephants on our first night as well as a genet cat. And the pool and bar area were great.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nic0le7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernd Grahl, Marketing at Palmwag Lodge & Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2021

Good day Nicole

We apologize sincerely for the overbooking mistake from our side. We expected a big group on the same day and unfortunately placed them on campsite 8.

We consulted with our maintenance team and we could not find any leaking water or damaged doors at the campsite, as described. Please be advised that our campsites are not updated according to Gondwana standard yet, as the repairs have been interrupted by covid-19. Also, we have experienced elephants damaging the pipelines, which is why we do site inspections on a daily basis.

We thank you for your feedback and hope that you could still enjoy your campsite and stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our lodges again, sometime, and apologize for your regrettable experience.

Kind regards
Elke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2021

Great rooms with excellent view. rooms and meals highly recommended. Would suggest some activity such as quadbikes for game and area viewing. Saw many elephants up close - best view of elephants on the trip.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nomad26421152574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernd Grahl, Marketing at Palmwag Lodge & Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2021

Dear Nomad26421152574,

We are happy to hear from you. Thank you for your great response and for taking a moment to recommend our services. It was indeed a pleasure hosting you and we hope to have you back soon. Your suggestions have been duly noted and forward to the appropriate team members for their attention.

Please know that we appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we are always here to support any questions or concerns you may have.

Kind regards
Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2021

The idea of Camping2Go is the best ever! Clean, comfortable sleeping spaces and the idea that we actually camping but everything you need is on site, is totally awesome!!! The Gondwana staff is for ever helpful and friendly...!!!:-)

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chippabenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernd Grahl, Marketing at Palmwag Lodge & Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2021

Dear chippabenjamin,

Thank you for the amazing feedback. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your time with us. Our staff are indeed attentive and friendly because we have the best guests! Please come back again when you get the chance.

Kind regards
Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021

I can´t stay at this wonderfull place, because of corona, but I will came back enjoying the hospitality of Palmwag. It is a perfect place coming down, and the starting point for the concession area. It is a place to enjoy.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dquehl614825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernd Grahl, Marketing at Palmwag Lodge & Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2021

Dear dquehl614825,

Thank you for taking time and leaving us this review. It is wonderful of you!
It is unfortunate that covid-19 delayed so many wonderful opportunities. This too shall pass and very soon you will get the chance to enjoy your time at Palmwag.

Keep well and safe until we meet again.

Kind regards
Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews