We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel - Restaurant Emile Job(Montmerle-sur-Saone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
39
16
2
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
16
2
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

I stayed at the Nuit d’un Jour with my partner to visit the Beaujolais area for the launch of the 2017 wines. I booked from booking.com where the photos showed the room with an open plan bathroom off the bedroom; what the photos were taken to hide was that the toiled was also open plan. The only windows were either high with no view or the sliding patio door to the driveway with all the privacy of a goldfish bowl unless the curtains were drawn.

The booking was for three nights, but we cancelled after the first night. The manager really didn’t understand that the toilet in the room with zero privacy was a problem.

I have no doubt that the hotel itself, as in the main building (and not the converted garage that we were given) was probably okay. Breakfast was fair, fresh orange juice and breads with a croissant, but we just couldn’t cope with an open plan toilet.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the room with the open plan bathroom!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francophile2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015

This place is rather unprepossessing from the outside but the welcome when you arrive is very friendly. The room was good and we liked the solid wooden floor. The host was very friendly to our 2 dogs and it was handy to be able to let them out to the drive in the night when they wanted to go out. We struggled to find somewhere to eat in the evening as most of the restaurants seemed to serve frogs legs or rabbit but this is the middle of France after all! We enjoyed our breakfast looking out onto the garden and the very tame sheep coming up to the kitchen door for a treat.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hollysfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

We weren't expecting much when we booked this bed&breakfast for two-night stay in early August, but the reality managed to beat even those modest expectations that we had on every level - including the quality of the venue and customer service. Strongly recommend to avoid, there are other hotels in the village nearby that are less expensive and given the poor service that we experienced here, the chances are that they can't be any worse. Couple of points to note:
- we booked the stay for two couples (no kids), we expressly asked for two separate rooms. During telephone conversation when we were making our reservation the owner suggested to take family suit, which will have a common bathroom but two bedrooms and it will come out cheaper in total. We said ok.
- when we arrived first we had to wait in front of the entry a door as owners only open at 5pm (even though they are there all the time). As annoying as it is we get it, there are opening hours to respect.
- more importantly, when we were eventually let it in turned out that the suite we thought we had booked (two bedrooms) is occupied by someone else. Instead we were allocated a single room created from a converted garage with open bathroom and toilet (literally: there was no door, so one can imagine the joy of sharing this space). The room had no air condition and - more importantly - no actual entrance door, just glass sliding door so everyone passing by had undisturbed view to the room.
- when we complained we were quite abruptly told that the room that we thought have booked was occupied, there were no other rooms available and if we don't read emails with understanding it's our problem. At the same time it turned out that there was a miscommunication and the owner confirmed reservation of other room via email. When we insisted that the room that we have for a price that we pay (€175/night) was an insult, we were given a generous discount €25 for one night (the second one was full price).
- breakfast was poor (one croissant per person and some bread), zero choice, no fresh juices.

As mentioned, we didn't expect a lot when we booked this place but the astonishing lack of customer friendly attitude demonstrated by the owners, combined with Spartan conditions and exorbitant price tipped the scale. Avoid and enjoy the attractions of the Beaujolais region somewhere else.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
5  Thank AnCa_cityhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuitdunjour, Propriétaire at Nuit d'un Jour, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Arffff! As I wrote your friend in my response to his comment 2 days before you, you had the choice not to stay the second night.
Your fiancé made a mistake and admitted upon arrival. He had not booked the Family Suite.
I know you would have liked beneficier to this room but it was not available since March, it's was very clear at the phone.
You then received my booking confirmation email in detail for the room Charme and not the Family Suite, you know very well.
Your statements concerning the reservation is made just lies and dishonesty, which is intolerable.
If you don't remember most of all that, I can send you a copy of the history of your booking ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Booked in here having read lots of excellent reviews. Had lots of correspondence with Thomas, the previous owner. When we got there he was nowhere to be seen and it transpired that it had very recently changed hands. Took a bit to establish that as the new owner speaks no English. Room was clean and spacious but lack of attention to detail - e.g. no loo paper in room. Nice clean pool and good breakfast. However DIDN'T TAKE CREDIT CARDS. We hadn't been told about this and it was a major inconvenience as it cleared us out of every Euro we had (having raided the children's wallets) and we then had to find a cash point which delayed our departure. In fairness she said she had applied for a card facility but check before you get there.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James9298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This B & B is a perfect place to stop on the way down to the S of France. The parking is secure and close to the room. The breakfasts are always a treat but best of all is the wonderful welcome from the owners. We have stayed here 5 times and have already booked again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisdingleChesteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuitdunjour, Propriétaire at Nuit d'un Jour, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you Chris.
Actually, it is also possible to stop on the way up to the North of France, UK, Belgium & Netherlands. Or from West to East. Or ...
You may also elect Nuit d'un Jour as your destination. There are quite a few things to visit nearby.

See you in July, hopefully you'll be able to enjoy the pool!
Thomas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews