We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dwight
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Algonquin Trails Camping Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Dwight
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We visited this campground in August with our two teenage boys. The website gave us hopes of a beautiful spot with lots to do. The website looks wonderful, so good job on putting that together. Unfortunately it was completely misleading.
The campground is very run down. We were placed on a terrible site in the middle of nowhere, but close to the entrance. We felt the owners wanted to keep an eye on us, and that didn't feel so great right off the bat.
The "great" trails that the website boasted of, led us into private property where we were reprimanded for by the actual owner of that property. The other trails were very short and blocked in many spots so we couldn't go down them. Perhaps they led onto private property as well. Nonetheless, there were no trails to speak of.
The mini-golf looked very old and unkempt, and it was going to cost us $4 p/person to play one round. Not worth it, after we spent a lot of money to come in the first place.
There were beautiful waterfalls that we tried to see, but no one in the area had ever heard of them, so we didn't see that either.
The pool boasted wonderful things as well, and was open from 4-9 (the website said) but as soon as we arrived at 6:30, a sign appeared on the door that said it would be closed at 7.
The other fun activities in the area were far away and extremely expensive.
We had booked for 4 days, but left after one night. We understand the policy for campgrounds not refunding, but felt the owner of the campground was very rude and not understanding of us. He made us feel bad for voicing our complaints, and sent us away feeling like we were the ones in the wrong. We received no compensation for our disappointment. And not even an "I'm sorry,or is there anything i can do to convince you to stay?" He seemed very angry at us, and couldn't wait for us to leave.
Poor customer service to say the least.
We will not be back, and hope that this review will give you a true picture of what you will experience at Algonquin Trails.

Room Tip: There was hardly any other campers so it was very quiet. However, it is close to the highway so we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 675Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017

We booked this park weeks before showing up after reading the reviews and wondering if this would have been the best choice. In fact, as it turns out, and after reviewing several other campgrounds when we were in Algonquin, this choice was a perfect one.

The campground offers plenty of amenities, such as mini golf, swimming (indoor pool), a couple of hiking trails, a playground, and more. We went there hoping to be able to relax and get some peace and quiet from our daily routine. It was more than peaceful and relaxing, in our opinion.

Dan and Laura own a campground with perfect sites. Not too shady and not too much sunlight, depending on the time of day. The sites are larger than most parks and are set up so that extension cords and extra water hoses should not be necessary. Dan has even gone to the extent of staggering the fire pits so that no two sites are staring at each other while trying to relax around the evening fire.

There are many, many pros to this campground and for the life of me I can't think of any cons.

Some of the reviews here speak badly of the owners and the campground. I don't get it. If you follow the rules (which are set out for the comfort and enjoyment of all campers) then there's no issue. If you act like an idiot or let your screaming kids run through the park, or become loud and boisterous in a drunken state, then be thankful that Dan and Laura even allow you to stay for the night. I'd hook up your trailer and tow you to the front gate.

The park is set up for adults to relax and families to spend some quality time together. That seems to be accomplished for most people that attend the park. Most of the campers I spoke with there were return visitors. They were obviously back for a good reason. A few whiners are better off somewhere else anyways.

We will be returning to Algonquin Trails as part of our annual tour of Ontario. GREAT PLACE.

P.S. If you want to complain about buying dry firewood for $10 a bag, then call Ontario Provincial Parks and ask them why they sell wet, soggy, firewood for $10 a bag. It's the going rate and nobody should be transporting their wood from point a to point b. That's how forests get killed and insects flourish. Put it into your camping budget and tow the line. Do you argue with Sears about their pricing?

By the way Dan. Thanks for the help with my awning. MUCH APPRECIATED!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PFD-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

If I could give this zero I would. The owner is an arrogant little man who wants to tell you about how much money he paid for the place. It's well past it's sell by date and in a sad state of disrepair. The place was 1/4 full and he admits that tent campers are too much work. The facilities that he wants to charge visitors to use are in real bad shape and would not pass safety checks. The grounds are not maintained and the shop is a joke. Do yourself a big favor and drive the extra kms to find a better spot. There is no camping experience to be had here and the owner is in the wrong business. I had more pleasure burning my own firewood which is against his rules as he wants you to buy his $10 bags of off cuts. The place should close and to be honest I think it's not far from it. Stay clear !!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank Eddy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Great resort, location and service!.
Part of the charm for us it was quiet!.

Great location for adult couples, lots of options close by.

Owner very helpfull and accomodating.

We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed staying here very much.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Once M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

My husband and I were married 10 years ago and camped for our honeymoon in Algonquin Trails Camping resort. This past weekend we celebrated this milestone at our favourite park. We enjoyed a lovely evening campfire, revisited Stuart Memorial Church near Dwight beach where we wed and reminisced about our happy day. When we returned, Dan’s special wood delivery too us was a wonderful surprise. Once again above and beyond, and truly appreciated. Of all the world class destinations where people travel, our hearts remain at Algonquin Trails. Thanks for all the happy years and great memories… Cheers to many more!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank indiana--gibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dwight
19 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
7.9 km away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
11.5 km away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
King William Inn
King William Inn
#7 of 18 in Huntsville
143 reviews
0.9 km away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
3.3 km away
Dwight Village Motel
Dwight Village Motel
#2 of 5 in Dwight
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algonquin Trails Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin Trails Camping Resort

Address: 2883 Hwy 60, Dwight, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Dwight
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Dwight
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Algonquin Trails Camping Hotel Dwight
Algonquin Trails Camping Dwight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing