We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay Bit of a Time Void”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manderen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel-Restaurant Au Relais Du Chateau Mensberg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manderen
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We enjoyed our stay here myself and my son (6yo) although this was a year ago so it could be better or worse now. The restaurant part is huge and there is a garden and there is a definite fly issue in the summer months which is off putting. Its a well located nice hotel I can easily recommend although the breakfast was one of the worst we had on our trip. If they had realized that people (families) actually like breakfast these day more their evening meal, they could have a four from me. As things stand I think they are living in a bit of a time void unless they have changed...

Room Tip: Ask for business class and maybe book direct?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

The hotel gets one star, the other star is for the very friendly and helpful owner. The hotel has been poorly decorated, I've seen youth hostels that are more luxurious. Think plastic door knobs and cheap plastic floor boards. You won't easily find a better alternative in the area though, it's a poor area with only a handful of hotels. My advice would be to go and look over the german border. Hotels in germany are not only better, they're often cheaper too. And many will agree with me that the germans can offer you better cuisine these days than the people who invented the word 'cuisine'.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This is a really nice little hotel in a great location in the countyside. Food is excellent. We spent two nights here and ate both nights in the restaurant. Breakfast typical continental fare and very good.
Rooms are comfortable, clean and bright.
Helps if you speak a little French.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the ground floor and they had doors opening onto their own terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This is a lovely little hotel, with a particularly impressive menu in the restaurant. We were lucky to hit the start of the hunting season, and had the first local wild boar, cooked rare and in a delicious sauce. The staff are warm and friendly and the rooms, though small, are clean and comfortable. At a very reasonable price, this hotel is well worth a detour.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This restaurant and Hotel is a wonderfully romantic get away hidden in a tipical small French village.
My wife and I have eaten here a few times the first time 25 years ago in 1986.
We returned for dinner on Saturday evening 9th July 2011.
We started with the Gambas Grille €16.50 and Assiette Gourmande €19.50. These we followed with Lapin sauté a la façon €16.00 and Cotes D'agneau a la Provence €19.00. We shared a Dame Blanche €8.00 as a dessert.
The food was beautifully cooked and presented.
We will return

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
6  Thank gfplux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manderen
5.7 km away
Le Domaine de La Klauss
Le Domaine de La Klauss
#1 of 1 in Montenach
311 reviews
9.9 km away
Victor's Residenz-Hotel Schloss Berg
14.5 km away
Hotel-Restaurant Roemer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Au Relais Du Chateau Mensberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Au Relais Du Chateau Mensberg

Address: 15 rue du Chateau, 57480 Manderen, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Manderen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manderen
Price Range: $42 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel-Restaurant Au Relais Du Chateau Mensberg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Lying beneath Malbrouck castle, a quiet spot in Lorraine, in the ""region of 3 frontiers"", the Hotel & Restaurant Au Relais Du Château Mensberg, run by the Schneider family for over 1975, invites guests to enjoy comfortable accommodation, gastronomic, traditional and regional cuisine in a warm & friendly setting. Our charming, tranquil bedrooms all display a warm & cosy interior design and are all equipped with satellite TV, direct dial telephone and a hairdrier. 4 different dining rooms are available for partaking of delicious dishes made with high-quality fresh local produce. Enjoy seasonal regional specialities, especially our freshly-fished trout, succulent desserts and dishes flambéed at your table. We also cater for special banquets of assorted meats for up to 15 persons, an ideal solution for family meals or an evening out with a group of friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing