We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Melray
Nearby Hotels
Sugar Beach Hotel(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahia Esmeralda(Playa Potrero)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Windsong(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Numu Cabinas(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casita Mar y Posa(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sueno al Mar Residence & Hotel(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Isolina Beach(Playa Potrero)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
117
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmel raycinnamon bunsguest houseoutdoor kitchenother guestswonderful hoststhe penthousefresh fruitboogie boardscosta ricaown private patiosnorkeling gearwonderful coupleocean frontfabulous locationplace is beautifulamazing vacation
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This past February, my sister, father and I traveled around Costa Rica. We really found paradise when we walked through the gates of Casa Melray. We stayed in a beautiful guest house next to a sparkling pool with the ocean just a few steps away. Mel and Ray greeted us as warmly as old friends and even made cookies for me on my birthday! They know ever inch of the area. If you are thinking of staying i this part of Costa Rica, you must stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathySchumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Casa Meray is a beautiful boutique hotel. It is like being in heaven. Owner Mel and
Ray make sure you are comfortable.
they have a outdoor movie theater with soft cushy couches. Every night we took a glass of wine or my favorite a Pilsen out to the beach and watch the sunset. Magnificent, recommendations to the local Tica restaurants were excellent. In the morning expect a surprise from Mel we had fresh warm baked banna bread, assorted fruit. This is a place you want to stay for a long time and they can accomodate you. The rooms are comfortable all computer a wifi avaiable. Mel and Ray will guide you to the beach bars all within walking distance or they will help you with a rental car. Highly Recommend CASA MELRAY

Room Tip: All rooms are great we stayed in the Iguana room over looking the beach with our private patio outside the room and another on the beach with a garden. They have a 2 bedroom cottage with Kitchen and a penthouse that accomodates several people with a kitchen and roof top view. on the pool nice.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilsenqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Casa Melray for 3 weeks in April 2012 for his 22nd birthday. This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we had no idea what to expect. We landed at Liberia Airport and rented a car, which I highly suggest doing. Getting to Casa Melray is incredibly easy, and once we arrived it was like paradise, total diamond in the rough. It had all the ammenities of home and more. The property was more then gorgeous, and being beach front made every evening romantic, being able to watch the sunset from our rooms porch. Our room (Iguana room) had powerful air conditioning, plently of space, a huge bathroom, and a very comfortable bed. There is an outdoor kitchen, fully equiped, and the oudoor living room has a massive projection screen which was perfect for watching movies on a rainy night. Our absolute favorite part about the whole place was the pool, being able to have it so close to dip in several times a day to cool down was a god sent. Being located in Potrero made it so close to so many beaches and really good restuarants, and Mel and Ray have everything mapped out as well as tons of recommended places to eat. I could go on and on but Casa Melray is a beautiful, welcoming place to stay, and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My fiancee and I were thinking about staying at either Flamingo or Potroro beach, and were so glad we picked Casa Melray on Potrero beach. At flamingo there are personality-less resorts with tons of people. On Potroro nobody is on the beach, and it's a 10 min walk away from another stunning beach. It's also within walking distance of Flamingo, a nice walk to work off all the burritos you will end up eating. Casa Melray is a GORGEOUS place, clean and modern with great design. We stayed in the Iguana room- basically right on the water. Big windows and ocean view. Mel and Rey also have wine to go around, a nice way to wrap up a day of activities and talk with people who actually live in the area.

I stayed here because of all the 5 stars reviews and am here to add another! You'll love it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 95KateH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Location, Location, Location... Yes Yes Yes, but your hosts are just as good!
You want beach front luxury boutique hotel that is very affordable?
This is it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FredL881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews