We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Beach Hotel(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Isolina Beach(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villaggio Flor de Pacifico(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Bahia Esmeralda(Playa Potrero)
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Numu Cabinas(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casita Mar y Posa(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Estival(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Christina's Bar & Grill, Hideaway(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Cabinas Windsong(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
117
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmel rayguest housecinnamon bunsgreat hostscommunal kitchencosta ricaown private patiowonderful couplefamily vacationbeach chairsboutique hotelevery morningsomanelsonsuiteoceanbeaches
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

I'm writing this review now that I'm back at home and terribly wishing we were back at Casa Melrays enjoying a coffee at the pool front kitchen or enjoying a gorgeous sunset on the beach.
This was our second time staying here and it was just as amazing as the first time.
Beautiful spacious rooms, gorgeous grounds, great hosts and staff, and sweet dog-Soma who made us feel at home when we were missing our dog! Potrero is a great community with lots to do and great restaurants.
We enjoyed meeting the other guests as well and even had a great seafood cook up in the communal kitchen with them:).
I highly recommend Casa Mel ray!
We will be back!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lisa3452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

I did not flippantly title my review. This boutique hotel was beyond what I could have expected based on their website and reviews. The owners are delightful. They dealt with my 30+ emails prior to arrival. They've thought through every detail and will assist in lining up day trips, suggesting restaurants, provide tips about the area.
Casa Melray is situated on a beach that some people are using, but it is sparse. You will feel like you have the beach to yourself. I literally can't think of a reason to stay somewhere else in this area.

The pics are of the hotel, Soma the dog, the pool, beach just outside Casa Melray, sunset from the property, and our group with Mel.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank wsouzamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

This was our first visit to Costa Rica. Mel and Ray were absolutely perfect hosts. You felt relaxed and welcomed the moment you walked in. Their place is beautiful (pool, rooms, gardens, views ...)
Our room was right on the ocean and we enjoyed our morning coffee on our porch with the sounds and view of the ocean.
Mel was there to help with all your needs. She has information on numerous tours and is happy to take care of the bookings for you. Thank you Mel & Ray for a wonderful experience!
Best sunsets you will ever experience!!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keylima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We wanted a relaxing getaway over Christmas and New Years - our stay at Casa Melray was just that. Two couples staying in the guest house which walks out into the pool area and common kitchen was just perfect! We could lounge by ourselves, mingle with the other guests or have a quiet walk on the beach with access right through the main building. Mel and Ray are the perfect hosts. Fruit, cookies, and those delicious cinnamon buns found their way to our door on a regular basis. The staff is delightful, efficient and good at their jobs. Mel arranged everything for us - our own concierge. Private airport shuttle, massages on the beach, snorkelling tour and a golf cart to get us around. Recommendations for activities and dining in the area were excellent. We will miss Soma, the resident dog, who would walk with us on our adventures down the beach. We are all talking of our next trip to this wonderful spot in Costa Rica. I cannot say enough and you will not go wrong at all staying in this wonderful oasis. Did I mention it was PERFECT?!?

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PDow24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

A very warm welcome from Mel & Ray started off a wonderful vacation. The rooms are modern and the beds extremely comfortable. Fresh fruit, eggs, bread and coffee were supplied every morning at the outdoor kitchen. A great way to meet other vacationers. They had great recommendations for places to eat. They made all arrangements for shuttle service. Golf cart rentals. Sightseeing tours, etc. Lounge chairs and lawn chairs were provided in the pool area. As well as towels. Books were provided in their library as well as movies to watch on a big screen. Step out of the front gate onto a spectacular beach. Great for walking and fantastic for watching sunsets. Their dog Soma was always ready to go for a beach walk. An absolutely great vacation and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Iguana and Frog rooms had private patios facing the ocean. The Monkey room and Turtle room both faced the pool/kitchen area.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Judy713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews