We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing vacation retreat”
Review of Casa Melray

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Potrero
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Melray
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

I just want to say thanks to Mel and Ray for creating such a beautiful and comfortable environment. Staying at Casa Melray really made our Costa Rican vacation so much more enjoyable. Thank you both so much

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

I'm writing this review now that I'm back at home and terribly wishing we were back at Casa Melrays enjoying a coffee at the pool front kitchen or enjoying a gorgeous sunset on the beach.
This was our second time staying here and it was just as amazing as the first time.
Beautiful spacious rooms, gorgeous grounds, great hosts and staff, and sweet dog-Soma who made us feel at home when we were missing our dog! Potrero is a great community with lots to do and great restaurants.
We enjoyed meeting the other guests as well and even had a great seafood cook up in the communal kitchen with them:).
I highly recommend Casa Mel ray!
We will be back!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa3452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

I did not flippantly title my review. This boutique hotel was beyond what I could have expected based on their website and reviews. The owners are delightful. They dealt with my 30+ emails prior to arrival. They've thought through every detail and will assist in lining up day trips, suggesting restaurants, provide tips about the area.
Casa Melray is situated on a beach that some people are using, but it is sparse. You will feel like you have the beach to yourself. I literally can't think of a reason to stay somewhere else in this area.

The pics are of the hotel, Soma the dog, the pool, beach just outside Casa Melray, sunset from the property, and our group with Mel.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank wsouzamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

This was our first visit to Costa Rica. Mel and Ray were absolutely perfect hosts. You felt relaxed and welcomed the moment you walked in. Their place is beautiful (pool, rooms, gardens, views ...)
Our room was right on the ocean and we enjoyed our morning coffee on our porch with the sounds and view of the ocean.
Mel was there to help with all your needs. She has information on numerous tours and is happy to take care of the bookings for you. Thank you Mel & Ray for a wonderful experience!
Best sunsets you will ever experience!!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keylima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We wanted a relaxing getaway over Christmas and New Years - our stay at Casa Melray was just that. Two couples staying in the guest house which walks out into the pool area and common kitchen was just perfect! We could lounge by ourselves, mingle with the other guests or have a quiet walk on the beach with access right through the main building. Mel and Ray are the perfect hosts. Fruit, cookies, and those delicious cinnamon buns found their way to our door on a regular basis. The staff is delightful, efficient and good at their jobs. Mel arranged everything for us - our own concierge. Private airport shuttle, massages on the beach, snorkelling tour and a golf cart to get us around. Recommendations for activities and dining in the area were excellent. We will miss Soma, the resident dog, who would walk with us on our adventures down the beach. We are all talking of our next trip to this wonderful spot in Costa Rica. I cannot say enough and you will not go wrong at all staying in this wonderful oasis. Did I mention it was PERFECT?!?

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PDow24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
0.9 km away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.4 km away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
420 reviews
7.2 km away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Casa Chameleon Hotel at Las Catalinas
0.6 km away
Hotel Isolina Beach
Hotel Isolina Beach
#3 of 5 in Playa Potrero
53 reviews
7.2 km away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Melray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Melray

Address: 1km north of La Perla's Bar | Playa Flamingo, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Potrero
Price Range: $132 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to paradise at Casa Melray, a sensational beach front accommodation only steps to Potrero Beach, Costa Rica. Located in the stunning province of Guanacaste, Canadian operated Casa Melray has every amenity you can think of. Enjoy our contemporary boutique guest house or take a dip in our sparkling pool. Feeling adventurous? Try some kayaking, surfing, or nearby fishing. Hungry? You have to try the mind blowing restaurants in the area. Wander down the marina or hop in the car. You're only a five minute drive from the breathtaking tourist destination, Flamingo Beach. You're not dreaming. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing