We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Must do when in town on Sunday

The nightmarket of hengchun (only on Sundays) was one of my highlights during my stay here. I like... read more

Reviewed 19 November 2017
675yangyangc
,
Zwolle, The Netherlands
via mobile
Sundays only night market, a true local experience

It's not the "best", or the biggest night market in Taiwan. But you get to see a true Taiwanese... read more

Reviewed 23 January 2016
AL_in_SG
,
Singapore, Singapore
Read all 28 reviews
  
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
12
8
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
12
8
7
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

This night market is more of a “locals” night market. It’s quite different than the Kenting one and others in Taipei. It only happens once a week on Sundays. Parking is a nightmare if you have a car though so be aware. See where I stuck my car below!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Jiaxu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

This is a crowded night market for the locals. The night market only operates on Sunday. Parts of the night market is like the state fair and kids friendly. You can look for long lines to see which vendor is the local favorite. There are few sitting areas for the public where you can enjoy your delights. To get a taxi, go to the across the street from the police station. You can get a taxi or taxi-like ride. You will agree on the price before the trip; they don't run on meter.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank chialic2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

The nightmarket of hengchun (only on Sundays) was one of my highlights during my stay here. I like it even more than the nightmarkets i visited in Taipei. Maybe the lack of (western) tourists at this market add flavour and authenticity. Must do when in town on a Sunday!

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank 675yangyangc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 January 2016

It's not the "best", or the biggest night market in Taiwan. But you get to see a true Taiwanese night market as Hengchun itself isn't as touristic as, say, Kenting, and that this night market operates only on Sundays. If you would like to experience something local, don't miss this.

Date of experience: November 2015
1  Thank AL_in_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Went along with the staff of TDC to eat Sunday evening dinner at this lively market. A real Taiwanese experience!

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank pyjamaslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews