We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time trying Chicago deep dish”

Chicago Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #9 of 428 Restaurants in Hualien City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Description: Chicago-themed restaurant featuring deep-dish pizza, homemade pasta, cannolis and Taiwan craft beer on tap. Warm atmosphere with booths, high-tops and seats at the bar. This is the second restaurant for the owner/chefs of the famous Salt Lick restaurant next door.
Restaurant details
Description: Chicago-themed restaurant featuring deep-dish pizza, homemade pasta, cannolis and Taiwan craft beer on tap. Warm atmosphere with booths, high-tops and seats at the bar. This is the second restaurant for the owner/chefs of the famous Salt Lick restaurant next door.
Reviewed 24 July 2018

I dunno, I've never had deep dish pizza so I have no baseline. I loved it though. It was super cheesy and delicious, great service and decently priced. It was the best pizza I tasted in almost a year of being away from North America.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CompletelyChelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2018

If you are looking for American style food while in Hualien City, this is the place to go. Good selection of American style food. The Chicago style Deep dish pizza was good and safe to say the best in Taiwan.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

It's a very nice place in the center of Hualien. Offers very nice deep dish pizza. Of course it's not the cheapest place to eat but I think the price is adequate to the quality it offers. It's the best place to eat some western food in Hualien

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Polish_Student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

If you are an American in Hualien City and feeling homesick for delicious Chicago style pizza, you are out of luck. The “biscuity” adjective used in the menu to describe this pizza is accurate and should be all the warning you need to know this won’t taste like the deliciousness you would actually find at many Chicago style pizzerias. Because this establishment is a restaurant, it gets low marks since the main attraction, pizza, just isn’t that good, at least not what I tasted. However, in other areas this place is really great. The staff is friendly. The customers are an amalgam of English speakers from various locations such as South Africa and the US with a couple of locals thrown in. The customers really seem intent on embracing an expat community and making other obvious visitors to Taiwan feel welcome. We visited on trivia night. If your idea of fun is rowdy college style trivia, you will like it here. People are very encouraging. The decor is classic Chicago pizzeria with gangster mug shots and magazine articles about 1930’s crime on the walls. You could easily imagine yourself in the US while sitting here. However, one other thing brought the marks down for this place. A customer had a small dog on the booth seat. That is unsanitary and shouldn’t be allowed in any place that serves food. Dog on the floor...not great but ok. Dog on the seat...gross.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank CourtneyR611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Had a dinner with old friends back in high school here a few months ago. Before this, I've seen it, passed it but never had a chance to patronize it. We ordered two pizza, 3 beers and had a pleasant time talking about the good old days. I have to say that for most Taiwanese who've never been to USA, you'd probably find the pizza too salty, highly-seasoned. Well, I guess that's American pizza is about! The overall prices of food & drinks fall roughly between mid-range to high, but the restaurant does provide an ideal place to spend a night.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank brianspierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chicago Restaurant and Pub also viewed

Hualien City, Hualien
Hualien City, Hualien
 
Hualien City, Hualien
Hualien City, Hualien
 
Shoufeng, Hualien
Hualien City, Hualien
 

Been to Chicago Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing