We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love ribs 😍”
Review of Salt Lick

Salt Lick
Ranked #2 of 428 Restaurants in Hualien City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: American owned and operated smoked barbecue restaurant and pub, now combined with Chicago pizza and craft beer on tap. Our three specialty dishes are Carolina pulled pork, Kansas City baby back ribs and Texas beef brisket. All of our sauces and sides are made in-house. Indoor and outdoor seating available. Open late.
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Very nice place
Great American food
Great beer
Great atmosphere
The best meat in town
French fries are homemade

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank philippebY8290XM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2018

A great place with great food. I've had their pizzas from take out a few times but this was the first time actually sitting in the restaurant. The service is pretty good. Our waiter Adel seemed excited and eager to help from the moment we walked in right up to the moment we walked out the door. You feel like you are among friends there.

The food was surprisingly good. I've had disappointing experiences here in Taiwan while ordering food. Usually it is not what you expect. At SaltLick though, it exceeded expectations. The pulled pork sandwich I had was heavenly. The price is a around the mid range area but is absolutely worth it.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tuworld S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

If you're living in or visiting Hualien, it's definitely a place to consider for a classic Western barbecue that includes Ribs, chicken and pork. With the integration of the Chicago restaurant, you've got an underrated pizza option, including deep-dish. I just wish they'd bring the calamari back.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank CaribeAsiaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Very poor service here. Food is ok, but overpriced. Staff treat you like you are an inconvenience to them. Not recommended at all.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank mickeydavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason D, Owner at Salt Lick, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

I'm sorry about your underwhelming experience at our restaurant. I can assure you that providing good service is one of our top priorities. Please send me a private message explaining in detail your experience so that we can address the issue(s). Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

The Salt Lick has become one of the highlights of our annual trips to the East coast of Taiwan. The food is prepared with such care and attention to detail, that it is delicious and satisfying every time! The Salt Lick/Chicago is usually our first stop for dinner upon arrival; often before we have even unpacked.
The portions are generous but not over sized. A full rack of ribs will happily serve two people and leave them feeling comfortably satisfied; with enough room for a huge slice of their delicious home made apple pie, which you might also need to share!
Over the course of our trip we also tried the pulled pork, brisket, and gumbo. We were not disappointed by any of it. We also bought a few packs of their homemade jerky to take home with us!
We stayed in Hualien for three weeks this year and made at least 8 or 9 trips to the Salt Lick. Our favorite waitress, Adel, was friendly, helpful and attentive. All of the staff speak excellent English and Mandarin and all of them seem to be happy and enjoying the work atmosphere. They were all helpful and friendly.
The meals are a little bit on the pricy side compared to a standard meal in Taiwan, but for what you get they are relatively inexpensive compared to similar meals served in Western countries. Consider that many ingredients are imported and all the dishes are prepared fresh daily, also consider the generous portions, and the prices are quite reasonable.
No trip to Hualien is complete without a visit to the Salt lLick!

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Birdienumnums1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt Lick also viewed

Hualien City, Hualien
Hualien City, Hualien
 
Shoufeng, Hualien
Hualien City, Hualien
 
Hualien City, Hualien
Hualien City, Hualien
 

Been to Salt Lick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing