We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great Experience

My partner and I went to Hualien for a week of hiking. We booked Meet My Guide for the hiking in... read more

Reviewed 30 August 2020
free_wonders
Awesesome Trip!

Hiking Zhuilu Old Trail was an exceptional experience, and I'm so glad that I decided to go through... read more

Reviewed 31 July 2020
Julie K
,
Taipei
Read all 354 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Hualien City
from US$125.39
More Info
from US$89.00
More Info
from US$624.00
More Info
from US$110.00
More Info
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
334
18
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
334
18
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taroko national park two days wei hike hualien route hassle accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2019

I had an amazing experience kayaking to the cliffs for sunrise. My guide was professional and friendly. Even though I was the only one, it wasn’t awkward or weird. He was flexible and understanding when I got a little sea sick. It’s a beautiful area and I’d highly recommend the experience.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank sararieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetmyguide, Owner at Meet My Guide Outdoor Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2020

Hi Sara,

Thanks for the positive review. We always do our best to run the activities even though there's only one participant in the end. The last thing we want to see is to cancel and disappoint our guests. We are glad that you like kayaking with us. Hopefully, we are able to host you next time when you come back.

Cheers,
Wei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2019 via mobile

A huge day on xiaowulai with great professional! To be recommanded of course! Great place, a good weather forecast, awesome!

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetmyguide, Owner at Meet My Guide Outdoor Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2020

Hi Martin,

Thanks for joining our canyoning trip in Taiwan. We are glad that you enjoyed our service. Hopefully, we are able to provide another canyoning experience for you. Keep in touch and take care:)

Thanks,
Wei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2019 via mobile

We went on a full-day canyoning experience right out of Taipei and had a great day!

Both our guides where experienced, professional and fun, giving us accurate on-spot advice. The canyoning material was recent and in great condition, plus organisation was flawless.

Adding up, the scenery was a highlight! A must-do if you are in North Taiwan and up to some adventure!

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank LudovigCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetmyguide, Owner at Meet My Guide Outdoor Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2020

Hi Ludovig,

Glad to know you enjoyed our activity. The gear we provided is all well maintained and is in great condition. It plays an important role when it comes to canyoning that requires a lot of techniques. Therefore, we invested a lot in gear and training. We couldn't be happier that it all worked out for you and your friends. Your positive review encourages us to keep doing what we do, for which we appreciate it. Hopefully, we are able to host you in another river in the future:)

Thanks,
Wei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2019

We were in Taipei when the earthquake happened recently and we were supposed to go to the Taroko NAtional Park the next day. But our visit was cancelled since Taroko Park was closed bec of the earthquake. Our tour continued and they took us to a different part of Hualien and we still had a good time. Our Guide Alan was great. He was good in Fook Yen, Mandarin, and even English. Meet My Guide made our stay in Hualien a really good one. Thank you

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Chelyne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetmyguide, Owner at Meet My Guide Outdoor Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2020

Hi Chelyne,

Thank you for your positive review. It was a pity that we had to cancel the tour to Taroko NP because of the earthquake. We really appreciate your trust in us to visit other beautiful locations in Hualien. We always want to do our best to satisfy our guests, the last thing we'd like to see is to disappoint you. Hopefully, we are able to show you around in Taroko next time. We are happy to provide a discount for you too:)

Cheers,
Wei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2019 via mobile

MeetMyGuide offers a personable, friendly, guide and training service, with excellent local knowledge and instant customer service online. It is competitively priced, with similar experiences across Asia priced a little higher - making it good value for money for anyone wanting to do something different while in Taiwan. We are a family with two young children under 10 who chose climbing as the activity.

Booking online was easy. Wei Lin (founder and presumably Director) was in touch via email regularly, and the website was intuitive to use. Prices were clear and well-published, and overall information was easy to understand. Payment online was in the form of a deposit and made via PayPal which added to the security and convenience of the booking experience.

The second half of the payment was payable in cash. This is a very slight inconvenience as buying foreign cash does have a small cost attached to it, therefore raising the price of the trip by about 3%. There is a way that payment can be divided by PayPal and TripAdvisor so that the second half of the price is automatically payable via PayPal after the activity (we have done this with other similar providers), and this would have been a slicker, less costly, hassle-free experience.

Cloud was our guide for the day, and with him were a couple of bouldering buddies Ian and Lisa. We were collected from the hotel directly and taken to the climbing site via an old VW Transporter style people carrier. The drive was quick (an hour) and largely uneventful. Cloud kindly found a toilet for everyone to use on the way, which was a very good touch especially as we had two young children. The only real way this part of the trip could have been improved was by using a better, safer vehicle (ironically, of course, the likelihood of a road traffic accident is far higher than the likelihood of a climbing accident).

Cloud is an excellent coach. He has a natural, friendly approach when it comes to children. My son - who is not a confident climber - was super confident after the trip, and Cloud’s coaching methods was one reason for this. He had a clear plan in his head about which climbs would be suitable for children, and arranged the day to build their confidence and climbing ability. He looked after both children very well - which is not always easy! - and challenged them where appropriate. The climbs were suitable for the abilities involved, and the activities themselves very safe. Anchors were properly installed, and equipment was properly checked before climbing. During the approach, all the coaches helped with the children. Overall their friendly, supportive style was the real highlight of the trip.

Longdong is a beautiful part of the world. There is clearly a lot of climbing routes there and for anyone wanting to climb there MeetMyGuide is a good way of starting out. They are friendly, with good customer service and a personable coaching style. We highly recommend the experience for anyone visiting Taiwan

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank evangellica
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews