We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$123
eDreamsUS$123
TripadvisorUS$123
Vio.com
Trip.comUS$124
KLOOKUS$142
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
33
27
11
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
33
27
11
6
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms on the 2nd floor of the adjacent wing (来福居). The rooms were spacious (coupled with high ceilings and a veranda where you can sit) offered a great view and came with dinner, breakfast and a choice of admission tickets to Cingjing farm, little Switzerland etc or high tea (a drink + some cookies/scones). Meals taste average but are definitely more than sufficient even for big eaters. There is a 7-11 located at the main building for you to pick up any drinks or snacks. Hotel staff are friendly. Just remember to keep the insect netting shut.

Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank feizhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Stayed One night with a family of 7 in Sunshine Vacation Villa on 07 Apri 2016, 來福居 section. During the booking process, Amber was very efficient in answering all my questions (in chinese) via email. She was also very helpful to book and liaise a THSR pickup taxi service for me when i requested for one. Travel time from Taichung THSR station to Minus is around 1hr 40mins. Bumpy mountain roads ahead. =) Upon checking in, Vivian was very friendly and gave us suggestions of how and what of Cingjing Farm and Little Swiss Garden. There are free Minus's shuttle bus service (one way) to Cingjing Farm 6 times daily. 3 timings in the morning 08:30, 09:00, 10:00 and 3 timings in the afternoon 13:30, 14:00, 15:00. The room is generally clean and spacious, View is magnificent. Downside were, the parquet flooring is very noisy while walking on it especially late at night where there is absolute silence. And the washroom has a unpleasant odour, i guess it came from the sewage pipes as it is located on a mountainous area. There is a cosy european style cafe, the friendly lady who was on shift work that night, made us wonderful teas and snacks (Free as it includes in my accommodation package where i chose it). Their main restaurant (a 7-11 convienence store was beside) was located at the main section 見晴园, 3 mins walk away from my section. Their traditional Yunna buffet breakfast and dinner were delicious and my family love it. 15 to 20mins walk to Little Swiss garden.

Room tip: There are 3 sections in this Minsu. Main section See Sunny Garden (Jian Qing Yuan) Room offers the best sunset/ sunrise views.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HyTheTg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Just came back from a 6-day trip in Taichung with husband and 2 year old son. We stayed 2 nights in Sunshine Villa, Cingjing and really enjoyed it.

The staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. And I emailed them a few times beforehand and their response was really fast.

We really like the room. It has a balcony and the view of our room was amazing. We stayed at the top floor. There are actually 3 villas next to each other under the same management. We stayed at the Sunshine Villa. It was quite cold when we went and the electric blanket was great for us. But my son was sleeping in the travel cot so poor boy was feeling quite cold. The staff was really nice to provide us with a small fan heater which didn't help much. But it was nice of them to do so.

The price of the hotel is great. The package that we chose includes breakfast, dinner and pick 2 items from a list of 5 which we chose 2 free boat tickets at Sun Moon Lake and an afternoon tea at a nearby cafe which is also under same management. We really enjoyed the afternoon tea. A quaint and cosy cafe with a beautiful view of the mountains.

We weren't impressed with the buffet breakfast. The food looks boring and doesn't look appetizing to us. Don't fret cos you can easily get some stuff from 7-11. But we enjoyed the simple Yunnan dishes served for dinner - serve to your table accordingly. The restaurant is a bit old but it has a nice view.

The free wifi was quite good. Not too slow and always connected.

In terms of location, just right in front of the villa, there's 7-11. It's about 15mins walk to the Small Swiss Garden. They have shuttle van at certain hours to drive you all the way up to Cingjing Farm which was what we did then we took our time walking down to the Small Swiss Garden. We were so tired by the time we reached Small Swiss Garden so we didn't walk back to the villa and the path from there to the villa is a narrow and windy road which is dangerous with my 2-year old. The villa gave us a number to call someone to pick us up (with a fee).

Overall, this is a great villa to stay :)

Room tip: Rooms on higher floors have nice view
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank poreiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Nice minsu with picturesque view of the mountains/sunrise from our room balcony. Good location within 10 minutes walk to Little Swiss Garden and surrounding shops. Breakfast spread was good - we particularly enjoyed the braised pork with rice, and toasted bread with just the right texture. Do visit the quaint little gift shop (清境 zakka 鄕村手作)in the minsu compound that sells souvenirs - the owner 徐姐 and her adorable white maltese 'mei mei' will be sure to brighten your day with their joyful demeanour.is a very friendly and helpful lady who gave good advice on places to visit and eat nearby.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jassyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 July 2015

First of all, there is a big difference whether you stay in a basic room, or in one of the 'residences' (羽松居 , 來福居)。

We stayed the first night in their basic room in the main block,facing the road. The room was hot, without aircon, the shower door was all mouldy, and the (surprisingly loud) traffic noise from the main road made sleep quite difficult.

To get better sleep, we paid extra to move to a more expensive room with hill views in 羽松居. And woah! What a different experience! The balcony looked towards the beautiful hills, and it was wonderfully quiet and restful. The room interior was cosy and the bathroom much cleaner.

So the 4 stars I am giving here is for the more expensive room only.

The reception were overall very helpful.

Location is v convenient to sights/restaurants. And having 7-11 just outside the hotel was great when you wanted to just have a quick/simple meal/snack. (The food they sell in 7-11 there is much better than stuff we get in Hong Kong 7-11's.)

They have a lovely cafe with great views of the hills at one of the residences (來福居). The drinks are quite pricey but a lovely way to lounge away a few hours with a book.

The big minus is the breakfast included. The food is so-so OK but flies are everywhere, and people left food uncovered. Unhygienic!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cosycottager
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews