We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great place to have a taste of nature

This is definitely the best place in Taiwan to have a taste of nature where you could view thousand... read more

Reviewed 23 November 2019
trvkaki
,
Singapore, Singapore
via mobile
Alishan National Scenery Area

It was a spectacular weekend visiting Alishan and Fengchihu. The hike through the Alishan National... read more

Reviewed 21 November 2019
D1655WHbradc
via mobile
Read all 666 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Xinyi Township
from US$2,250.00
More Info
Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveller rating
346
230
77
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
346
230
77
8
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 666 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2019 via mobile

In this blossom season , a couple booked a trip to Mt. Ali !

There are not just cherry blossoms over the hills and forestry will inspire us !

Date of experience: February 2019
4  Thank ChangE90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 January 2019

Alishan is one of Taiwan's top attractions, it's a mountainous area with the famous 'sea of clouds' sunrise viewing. That being said, it's surprising that Alishan is surrounded in misinformation and confusion. Sort out your plans well in advance.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank 619jeffry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2019

We prebooked the early morning train with our hotel, Alishan House. It costs NT$150 each. Morning call is from 3.40 to 4.10 am. Meeting point is the lobby at 4.30 am where we took the hotel shuttle to Alishan Station. Here we joined another long queue for the train up to the Zhushan station. We wore adequately with hats and gloves.
On arriving at Zhushan, we walked up to Mt Ogasawara. It is a fairly steep walk about 15 mins long. It is definitely worth the walk up here. While waiting for sunrise at 7.04 am, we could admire the numerous trees with the autumn colours. There are a few telescopes set up here to view the moon surface and other planets. We could also see the many mountain ridges such as the Jade mountain. After the glaring sighting of the sunrise, we had a lovely walk down passing the Duegaoyue viewing point (a slight detour 100 m away). We took the Zhushan Footpath as a shortcut. Before going back to our hotel for breakfast, we walked a short section of the Shuishan trail. It was such a lovely experience enhanced by viewing sunrise at Mt Ogasawara.

Date of experience: December 2018
4  Thank kim buay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 January 2019

I would like to recommend friendly and knowledgeable tour guide/ driver @kevin052603. Since we cannot speak Chinese well, we found it easy to communicate with Kevin as he is well-versed in English. He also drives safely, ensuring comfort of the customers. We stopped by a lot of good food places which he has recommended. He also has good photography skill. He took our photos and forwarded them to us. The trip was free and easy. We can wander around at different stop points and meet him at agreed meeting point to go to next stops.
Our itinerary covers the following:

Day 1 (Lavender Cottage and Alishan)

Day 2 (Sunrise at Alishan and Sun Moon Lake)

Day 3 (Sun Moon Lake > Assam Tea House > Checheng Wood Museum > Mochi Museum)

His contact is:
Kevin Lin (@kevin052603)
Whatsapp (+886 952 537 969)

Date of experience: December 2018
4  Thank helen-ongkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 December 2018

Ali Mountain is one of Taiwan National Park. Traveler go to Ali Mountain to watch the sunrise. In Ali Mountain Taiwan National Park, there are a lot of previous railway system for mining wood. It is built by Japanese in Japanese occupation in Taiwan. Now, we also can experience the little train which carried woods in past in Ali Mountain Taiwan National Park. This park is located in the mountains and has a forest. The temperature in Ali mountain is low in morning and evening .If you are afraid of cold, be sure take one more coat . Enjoy your forest bath!

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Navigator408739
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews