We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Shi-Yang Tea House

Shi-Yang Tea House
Ranked #2 of 101 Restaurants in Xizhi
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Xizhi District
Reviewed 3 April 2019

Zen and tranquil experience. It's nice to visit during the say time where you can enjoy the scenery, at all dark outside at dinner time. Food is full of surprises, and details well taken care. It's located at the middle of a mountain so the only public transport is by taxi. They have fixed set menu which changes periodically. However you may made request for special diet needs.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank exoticstring
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Second time here. Menu didn’t change much but I still enjoyed the place and the meal very much.

It’s about 30km from Taipei but it’s worth coming out here for lunch. The photos speak for itself.

The entire experience was very zen and tranquil. The dishes were not heavily seasoned so you can still enjoy the flavors of the underlying ingredients.

I loved zipping the drinks between courses as they really helped cleanse my palette before tasting the next course.

Tips- need to call at least 6-8 weeks ahead and you need to be persistent. Second floor offers better view. There is a table on each end of the second floor and they are the best in the house.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank vivtsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

We had lunch here. It was not too far from the city - about 1/2 hour’s drive. We used the taxi service recommended by the restaurant. The staff met us at the outside entrance so that the taxi turns into the lane to the restaurant. The place is not wheelchair friendly as you have to walk up some steps. The ambience of the restaurant is very zen like - it’s good to arrive early before other guests arrive if you want to enjoy some quiet time in the surroundings. The food is superb - every dish is a surprise and ingredients are fresh. There’s no menu and we liked that as we can keep guessing what we were tasting and then reconfirm with the staff. The entire meal is very filling. You can choose between vegetarian or semi-vegetarian. Pricing is very reasonable like around NTD1,350 per person. I feel they can improve with renovating the toilets. It’s also very dark in the toilets.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank mosto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2017

been there many times. i find the menu is bored (mostly repeated) and the ingredients used is cheaper and cheaper. portion being served is getting less as well.
even though the price has not up yet but feeling is totally disappointed.
it is a nice place and good idea for people visit but getting more commerical. lots of groups been there too.
hope they can improve and keep the spiritual of before!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

This is a unique restaurant high up in the mountains near Taipei, getting there will require a private car hire, taxi, or rental. A fairly long journey. The walk to the restaurant was steep but scenic. Guests are required to removed their shoes at the door. Seating is comfortable (no squatting required). The food is mainly vegetarian and pescatarian, carnivores will be disappointed. The quality of the food was very good. That said, the setting is very tranquil, diners dine in their own private rooms served by an attentive staff. The meal is an experience in itself, if you have the time, definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank isoiridium
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Been to Shi-Yang Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.