We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$157
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$158
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/02/23
Agoda.com
US$142
View deal
Expedia.comUS$157
Hotels.comUS$157
ZenHotels.comUS$177
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
61
83
28
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
61
83
28
8
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2020

What you get is not exactly what you see on the website. We chose this hotel because of the indoor pools, but the water is so cold that my Canadian families can’t swim in them at all, and the pools are completely open to be viewed by the patrons of the restaurant. No ramp at the front and only entrance, and no elevator either so be prepared to drag your luggage up the stairs yourself. The “gym” has 3 machines in a wide open area with zero privacy. Our “deluxe family room” for 4 is quite small with no dresser and only 2 hangers for coats. Lastly, we tried to follow the welcome letter’s recommendation (which was supposed to be updated daily) to watch an aboriginal tribal dance performance. The front desk staff had no idea where the venue was and when we finally got there, the place was closed that day for Chinese New Year. Just wanted others to be informed before booking.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank shirlingtaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 December 2019 via mobile

For location alone The Richforest Hotel would get a 5 star rating. Our quadruple room (2 double beds) had an uninterrupted view of the lake, which was lovely. Unfortunately the decor in the room was very tired and the price for one Saturday night stay was very high, which has led me to rate 3 stars overall. There is a pool at the hotel but weirdly it is in the dining area so we didn’t fancy that. Breakfast was an Asian-style buffet. The dining room had large picture windows overlooking the lake, but unfortunately these were steamed up at breakfast time.
To get to the hotel we took the high speed rail from Taipei to Taichung and then the shuttle bus to Shuishe (the bus was showing Sun Moon Lake as the destination). The bus is easy to find- go to exit 5 on the first floor and the bus goes from platform 3. There’s a long queue at the weekend, so go straight there! From Shuishe we took a shuttle bus across the lake to Ita Thao but you can also take the round the lake bus. We paid for each leg of the journey separately but it would have been cheaper to purchase one of the various special passes online had we known.
The Richforest isn’t a bad choice but it could be much nicer if they refurbished the rooms. The Lake is definitely worth visiting for a day or two.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank HappyFamily0f3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 April 2019 via mobile

The Hotel is seriously old and tired. The carpet in our room is stained with god knows what so we didn’t dare take our shoes off. The bathroom is odd and dysfunctional. There is a constant odor of mildew and funk in the air. Not sure if it’s the carpets or the mold. They gave us free dinner and breakfast with our stay. Trust me you will not want to eat. The breakfast buffet which is typically easy was NASTY. The eggs looked as if they were regurgitated. Dinner was also a JOKE! We asked for the menu and they served something completely different! Someone needs to scrub this place from ceiling to floor. The decor is also dated and tired! The employees also seem miserable and unhappy. I guess the working conditions are having an impact. By far the worst HOTEL we have stayed in the past 20 years....

Date of stay: April 2019
1  Thank xilouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the hotel. We had a room with 2 king size beds and a balcony facing the lake where we could watch the sunset. The room was very cozy with wooden walls. The beds were a little hard for our taste but we generally prefer a little softer mattresses.
The hotel has a restaurant which was already closed when we arrived at 9pm. So if you’re late, be prepared to eat somewhere on the road because all restaurants around are closed too. Luckily there was a 7-eleven close by.
The hotel‘s restaurant has a beautiful view on the lake but it is open towards the indoor swimming pool and the jacuzzi. We found that very weird. The swimming pool is open all day so you can use it when nobody is in the restaurant but the jacuzzi is only open during dinner time. Why would you go in the jacuzzi when people are eating next to you?
There’s also a sauna but considering that it was sweltering all day, we didn’t check it out.
Breakfast is mainly focused on Chinese/ Taiwanese taste. There are a few things for those who prefer continental breakfast but really not much.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Elskada
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Hotel is just beside the lake, rooms with balconies have their balconies hanging over the lake, so it is great! It is within walking distance to the shopping area and lots of eateries nearby! There is no elevator though, so be prepared to climb stairs, even if your room is on the same level as the reception, you need to take the stairs to access the breakfast area.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank mum-o-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews