We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
S$197
Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
OrderintheHouse
Brisbane

A charming hotel beside the Sun Moon Lake that fell down a little due to its renovations.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Apr 2020
In January 2020 my wife and I included a 6 night Wendy Wu private tour of Taiwan as part of our 18 day Asian trip we arranged to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. Our tour took in Taipei, Taroko Gorge, Sun Moon Lake, Tainan and Kaohsiung.

For our overnight at Sun Moon Lake we stayed in the Richforest Hotel located in the Ita Thao village of Yuchi Township in the centre of Nantou county. It is a beautiful and impressive wooden structure made from Chinese cypress and stands majestically beside the beautiful man made Sun Moon Lake. There are exotic palm trees growing in front of the hotel building providing a pleasant setting. Entry to the hotel requires negotiating around 12 concrete steps from the roadside.

The reception area looks imposing with timber embellishments including impressive timber staircases to get to higher floors. We found the reception staff to be helpful enough but also a bit aloof and only willing to provide minimum responses to our queries. We did however appreciate sitting on chairs at the reception desk rather than having to stand and lean over a tall counter.

We liked our deluxe room which included a balcony with two chairs and an occasional table where we were able to enjoy some truly spectacular views of the Sun Moon Lake. The two double beds in the room were clean and comfortable. In addition to the usual tea and coffee making facility the hotel provided a pod coffee machine which was a nice added feature. Another nice feature was the timber panelling on the walls. The bathroom included a separate shower unit and plunge bath and a decent washbasin. It also included a modern electronic toilet.

On the top floor there is an impressive reading room with comfortable lounge chairs to enjoy a bit of relaxation while enjoying the beauty of the lake. On one of the tables in this room was a nice display of purple orchids.

It was a pity that the hotel was being renovated during our stay and as such the restaurant was not available for us to enjoy an evening meal nor breakfast. A downside during our visit was to have to endure the smell of the industrial glues that were being used by the builders renovating the hotel. This was an unfortunate aspect of our visit. Breakfast was provided at the Lealea Moon Hotel, one of their sister hotels, about 300 metres up the road from the Richforest Hotel. We found the breakfast provided at the Lealea to be only average as it did not provide enough variety of food. It was adequate but not special.

Not being able to have dinner in the Richforest restaurant we ventured downtown and we found the Nine Go Beer Bar, a quirky new restaurant where the owner speaks good English and offers sensible kebab meals and a good range of beers to drink. The place is popular with western tourists in town.

Overall we found the hotel to be charming. However we felt it was let down by guests having to endure the renovations taking place while they were staying there. This of course is progress and necessary and we accept that this will happen to any traveller from time to time.
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
S$144
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    S$144
0.1 km from The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
S$119
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.7 km from The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
Free Wifi
Family Room(12 pings)
Tripadvisor
S$184
S$165
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
S$507
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    S$507
2.5 km from The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
S$624
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    S$624
  • Vio.com
2.8 km from The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$191
  • Priceline
2.7 km from The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$155
  • Hotels.com
3.4 km from The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    S$203
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
2.4 km from The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    S$311
  • Priceline
3.3 km from The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Yuchi
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
61
84
30
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
61
84
30
8
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2020

What you get is not exactly what you see on the website. We chose this hotel because of the indoor pools, but the water is so cold that my Canadian families can’t swim in them at all, and the pools are completely open to be viewed by the patrons of the restaurant. No ramp at the front and only entrance, and no elevator either so be prepared to drag your luggage up the stairs yourself. The “gym” has 3 machines in a wide open area with zero privacy. Our “deluxe family room” for 4 is quite small with no dresser and only 2 hangers for coats. Lastly, we tried to follow the welcome letter’s recommendation (which was supposed to be updated daily) to watch an aboriginal tribal dance performance. The front desk staff had no idea where the venue was and when we finally got there, the place was closed that day for Chinese New Year. Just wanted others to be informed before booking.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank shirlingtaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 December 2019 via mobile

For location alone The Richforest Hotel would get a 5 star rating. Our quadruple room (2 double beds) had an uninterrupted view of the lake, which was lovely. Unfortunately the decor in the room was very tired and the price for one Saturday night stay was very high, which has led me to rate 3 stars overall. There is a pool at the hotel but weirdly it is in the dining area so we didn’t fancy that. Breakfast was an Asian-style buffet. The dining room had large picture windows overlooking the lake, but unfortunately these were steamed up at breakfast time.
To get to the hotel we took the high speed rail from Taipei to Taichung and then the shuttle bus to Shuishe (the bus was showing Sun Moon Lake as the destination). The bus is easy to find- go to exit 5 on the first floor and the bus goes from platform 3. There’s a long queue at the weekend, so go straight there! From Shuishe we took a shuttle bus across the lake to Ita Thao but you can also take the round the lake bus. We paid for each leg of the journey separately but it would have been cheaper to purchase one of the various special passes online had we known.
The Richforest isn’t a bad choice but it could be much nicer if they refurbished the rooms. The Lake is definitely worth visiting for a day or two.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank HappyFamily0f3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2019 via mobile

The Hotel is seriously old and tired. The carpet in our room is stained with god knows what so we didn’t dare take our shoes off. The bathroom is odd and dysfunctional. There is a constant odor of mildew and funk in the air. Not sure if it’s the carpets or the mold. They gave us free dinner and breakfast with our stay. Trust me you will not want to eat. The breakfast buffet which is typically easy was 🤢 NASTY. The eggs looked as if they were regurgitated. Dinner was also a JOKE! We asked for the menu and they served something completely different! Someone needs to scrub this place from ceiling to floor. The decor is also dated and tired! The employees also seem miserable and unhappy. I guess the working conditions are having an impact. By far the worst HOTEL we have stayed in the past 20 years....

Date of stay: April 2019
1  Thank xilouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the hotel. We had a room with 2 king size beds and a balcony facing the lake where we could watch the sunset. The room was very cozy with wooden walls. The beds were a little hard for our taste but we generally prefer a little softer mattresses.
The hotel has a restaurant which was already closed when we arrived at 9pm. So if you’re late, be prepared to eat somewhere on the road because all restaurants around are closed too. Luckily there was a 7-eleven close by.
The hotel‘s restaurant has a beautiful view on the lake but it is open towards the indoor swimming pool and the jacuzzi. We found that very weird. The swimming pool is open all day so you can use it when nobody is in the restaurant but the jacuzzi is only open during dinner time. Why would you go in the jacuzzi when people are eating next to you?
There’s also a sauna but considering that it was sweltering all day, we didn’t check it out.
Breakfast is mainly focused on Chinese/ Taiwanese taste. There are a few things for those who prefer continental breakfast but really not much.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Elskada
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Hotel is just beside the lake, rooms with balconies have their balconies hanging over the lake, so it is great! It is within walking distance to the shopping area and lots of eateries nearby! There is no elevator though, so be prepared to climb stairs, even if your room is on the same level as the reception, you need to take the stairs to access the breakfast area.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank mum-o-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews