We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Taiwanese food”

Shin Yeh Taiwanese Cuisine-Original Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 2,721 Restaurants in Zhongshan District
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Traditional Taiwanese Taste as a Modern Cuisine Shin Yeh Taiwanese Cuisine got its start in 1977 in Taipei on ShuangCheng Street and was the founding brand of the restaurant group. In addition to small, cold side-dishes, specialty rice porridges and many home-style flavors from the street transformed into restaurant dishes, there are now Shin Yeh signature must-taste dishes such as Fried Pork Liver, Traditional Sweet and Sour Pork Ribs, Braised River Eel, and after-dinner Almond Tofu, Almond Tea, Glutinous Rice and other classic Taiwanese dishes. Using traditional authentic taste as its foundation, Shin Yeh continues to innovate, keeping in step with the times. Over the past 40 years Shin Yeh has grown alongside the people of Taiwan and relentlessly exerted itself in Taiwanese cuisine. It has become not only what overseas Chinese miss deeply, but also the preferred restaurant for our foreign friends visiting Taiwan.
Reviewed 14 July 2019 via mobile

Taken by a Taiwanese friend who’s quite the expert on local food. Fabulous, attentive service in a lively, always-crowded place. Did I mention the food was incredible? Foreigners really should get to know the local Taiwanese cuisine, as opposed to standard Cantonese world-mix-so-called-‘Chinese’-food we get back in the West. Worth the trip!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank lynnr646
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2019 via mobile

Good restaurant with tons of choices on the menu. Definitely on the more expensive side by local standards. It was highly recommended to us by our hotel. The food was good but it didn’t blow us away. Solid spot for a solid meal.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Guytalmor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 April 2019 via mobile

A Taiwanese friend recommended us to try this place. We were glad we made reservations ahead for dinner as the place was very crowded. Service staff was very attentive. There was a good variety of dishes to try. Our favourite was Jai Po Omelette and 3 cup chicken to go with the sweet potato porridge. Good tasty homey food. Prices are reasonable too.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank HHweeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 February 2019

Excellent fried rice! The decor is nice and service is fast and alway understand english! We have friends that speak Chinese but it is not needed! You get what you order and it is excellent! I like this food better than in the US!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank world2traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 December 2018

Had a late lunch with my family there. The food is super delicious with a lot of choices. The services is fast and it has waiters who can speak English. The menu is full of pictures and is written in both English and Mandarin. I highly recommend this restaurant for big group. Bigger the group, the more food you can try ;)

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Trek595856
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Shin Yeh Taiwanese Cuisine-Original Restaurant also viewed

Zhongshan District, Taipei
 
Zhongshan District, Taipei
Zhongshan District, Taipei
 

Been to Shin Yeh Taiwanese Cuisine-Original Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.