We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bibi's B and B(Santo Domingo de Heredia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Beraca Casa de Bienestar y Salud(Santo Domingo de Heredia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Habitacion Santo Domingo, Heredia(Santo Domingo de Heredia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Isla Los Angeles Costa Rica(Santo Domingo de Heredia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (1,080)
Filter reviews
1,080 results
Traveller rating
800
242
30
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
800
242
30
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricasan josetennis courtsgarden viewfirst nightgift shopbeautiful groundslovely hoteldining roomnice poolcentral valleyceiling fanbotanical gardensrooms are spaciouslong flightextensive gardensearly in the morning
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,080 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

I’ve stayed here briefly twice, and both times the service and breakfast were elegant and excellent. But the best reason to stay here is the incredible gardens, which are as extensive as a small arboretum, and full of hummingbirds, finches, wrens, thrushes, and even a squirrel cuckoo. Built like a resort, the gardens also enclose lovely tennis courts, pool, and gym. A great base-camp for day trips, especially if you are exploring north of San Jose.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Trudgemuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avdwp, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bougainvillea, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

We all thank you for your review! Yes, our arboretum does have 180 trees in total. Little by little we have achieved a lot and we are happy to have a collection that is pleasing to our human guests as well as our bird guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

1st night in Costa Rica. After a long flight from France the check-in was effortless. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable and staff very professional. The next morning the garden amazed us with its diversity of plants and birds - they main reason for visiting Costa Rica. The perfect place to start and end our time in this lovely country.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KLNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

We landed here after a month of stays in mostly ‘rustic’ hotels. It has bee a delight. Big comfy bed in a room overlooking the beautiful gardens. Room service. Good restaurant and extensive breakfast buffet. There is a nice pool, an very good exercise gym, and tennis courts at the back of the garden. The gardens and restaurant are used by both locals and tourists. Great place to rest at the end of a trip.

Room Tip: “Mountain View” looks out on the parking lot. Gardens views are beautiful.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JoDoShep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

We enjoyed another stay at the Bougainvillea before heading out to rest of our trip in CR. Room was quite comfy, nice size bed, very adequate furnishings, clean and quiet. Being birders we again appreciated the landscaping around the hotel and saw 20+ species before dark and before our driver arrived next morning. And, using flashlights appreciated seeing a couple of species of frogs in the small pond after dinner.

Exchanged US$$ for colonies at the front desk at the rate of $1: 550 colonies.

As on previous stays staff were always helpful and friendly.

Ate in the main dining room. An imperial beer was $2.80 and a soda was $2.30. My spaghetti w/bolg sauce was very tasty ($10.50) and my wife said her grilled chicken and veggies was also delicious ($11.00). One need also keep in mind a 10 percent gruitity and a 13 percent tax are added to the above prices.

The buffet breakfast was also good. A variety of items were available.

We were pleased our trip organizer chose the Bougainvillea for our first nite incountry. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wegoustay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

The grounds are enough to merit the 5-star rating - acres of paths through manicured gardens. Plants are labelled, sculptures peek out for corners, etc. There is also a large swimming pool and mini-gym next to the garden. The hotel itself is very nice, rooms are comfy with all amenities. Restaurant was good for dinner and buffer breakfast. Nice bar area, business center, conference rooms, etc. Only three floors so no elevator waits.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garybirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avdwp, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bougainvillea, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for your review, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed the grounds as well as the hotel experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews