We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,083)
Filter reviews
1,083 results
Traveller rating
801
242
30
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
801
242
30
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricasan josetennis courtsgarden viewfirst nightbeautiful groundslovely hoteldining roomnice poolceiling fanrooms are spaciousextensive gardensearly in the morningbotanical gardenslong flightabout minutes from the airportamazing garden
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,083 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for our first night in Costa Rica. Very handy as only a 20 minute drive from the airport. Lovely big, clean rooms and a delicious buffet breakfast with a huge choice of food. Stunning gardens are well worth a wander around and there is a large swimming pool and well equipped gym.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank NorthStar757441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

Wow. Just what I wanted! A stark contrast to my normal day to day stress and strain that London gives!

From the staff to the furnishings to the architectural features to the music - all. All oozes a calmness beyond any expectation!

They have a spa too so this is lovely after a day trekking the many beautiful areas rich in natural glorious nature.

Beautiful gardens on the premises too. Really idyllic stay.

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank Herrel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avdwp, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bougainvillea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for your review, we are so glad to read you enjoyed the hotel and found it to be peaceful and tranquil! That is precisely one of our primary focuses!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Our family stayed here twice this past week and we love it. The front desk is very friendly. The restaurant has excellent food with a great complementary breakfast. The gardens are amazing! The room was very large and comfortable. The front desk was excellent with changing money, holding luggage for a week, arranging transportation to the airport.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank bludevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avdwp, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bougainvillea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Hello and thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you had a good stay and that you enjoyed the company and the gardens!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

A well-managed property situated away from downtown SJO, it contains an elaborate garden with several exotic trees and shrubs. We were happy to stay here for the last night of our trip and bring our wonderful trip to an end. The room was spacious, had an excellent bed and bathroom, and a balcony that looked into the garden. We had dinner at the restaurant – while not memorable, it was functional. The service, both at the front desk and in the restaurant, was efficient. They organized a car service to take us to the airport, and the car showed up on time at 4am.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IndianBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avdwp, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bougainvillea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for your review, IndianBirder, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the gardens!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

If there was a 'Good" rating I would give it. The hotel was clean and comfortable with a good size room. The buffet breakfast and dinner provided good quality food and the gardens were nice (as many reviewers have said) but in my opinion nothing too special.
On the down side the location is somewhat remote and there is very little to do close to the hotel and the bar closed at 10pm!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avdwp, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bougainvillea, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you Steve, we are glad to hear you liked the rooms and the food. In order to have 10 acres of gardens we have to be a little away, but San José is only 10 minutes by car and Heredia also 10 minutes in the opposite direction, we aren't so far. Our bar normally closes at 11, we are sorry if on the day you wanted the service, it closed a bit early. Good night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews