We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Arecibo Inn(Arecibo)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
US$175
Orbitz.com
View Deal
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Guajataca(Quebradillas)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Parador Villas Sotomayor(Adjuntas)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
110
13
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
13
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoqui frogswonderful hostspuerto ricoget away from it allenjoying naturescreened windowscreole saucetropical fruitplace to staylimestone cliffsjuanitacasitacabinforestscreechbirdersbeaches
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2017

For the traveler who loves nature, quiet, getting away from it all, and yet a little bit of "being catered to", this is the place! You're in the rain forest but with HOT water/showers, flushing toilets, cozy beds, beautiful swimming pool, and hot meals served whenever you tell them you'd like them to be served. Tony and Juanita are good about making the place "home" for you while there. I especially loved the fact that every night they'd get the coffee pot ready to brew so in the morning I could walk into their kitchen, press the button, and have coffee on my time! Sweet! The fact that there are only three casitas made it even more peaceful knowing there weren't going to be busloads of people breathing your air and fighting for the swimming pool space. We had the pool to ourselves! They even told us to knock on their door any time if we wanted something to eat or drink and they'd make it for us. Seriously!

We did end up driving there in the dark which was not recommended by others who reviewed the place. We'd have to say it is a bit unnerving as the roads are bad and narrow as you get closer to the Ranch. But we made it without any trouble as we read the specific directions Juanita had sent us ahead of time. We have been to other places in the mountains before so the roads, although pretty yucky the last couple of miles, were a familiar driving experience to us. That's what you get in the rain forest to get away from it all! Adds to the adventure!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ScottyS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

TJ Ranch hospitality is the finest in nature's purest form. Tucked in the rain forest outside Lago dos Bocas, the ranch is surrounded by lush vegetation in a peaceful, tranquil environment. The grounds and "casita" where we stayed were immaculately maintained. The cabin had a very comfortable bed and great bathroom facilities. Sleeping there among the forest's animal inhabitants was heavenly, and the coquis (native Puerto Rico frogs) sang to us throughout the night. An experience quite unlike anything we have experienced before. TJ Ranch is "back to nature" with all the hospitality amenities you need. Tony is a fantastic chef and together with Joan, are wonderful hosts that made our stay unforgettable.

Room Tip: With only three casitas from which to choose, you cannot go wrong with any of them!
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We never make reservations in advance and when planning our next few days at a restaurant in Isabela, Puerto Rico we met the son and his friend having dinner at a table next to ours. Always wanting to chat with fellow tourists or locals we found out his parents ran a B and B/hacienda in what turned out to be a magnificent out of the way location in the mountains, near lagos dos bocas. Tony is an outstanding chef. The two dinners we had there ranked at the top of our 18 days in Puerto Rico, St. Maarten, St. Barth's and Anguilla. Juanita was a hostess with whom it was delightful to discuss everything and listen to the experiences of her uniquely fascinating life. I can't recommend this place highly enough. Escape from the crowded beaches and enjoy the beautiful mountain jungle as guest at TJ Ranch.

Room Tip: There are 3 casitas which are all the same. Roomy and comfortable.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rozor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Here are the most memorable highlights of my stay at TJ Ranch:
1) Sleeping in the screened casitas with open windows listening the sounds of coqui frogs and screech owls. It’s a little like being in an African tented camp--without lions roaring outside, of course.
2) Delicious and tasty meals served in an open air dining facility with views of the surrounding limestone cliffs and jungle.

The casitas are clean and comfortable, with ceiling fans for warm nights and light blankets for cooler ones. This is a country farm, so temper your expectations of luxury, but the rooms are nicely constructed and well kept. I was completely surprised at the absence of mosquitoes outdoors (in February 2017), so it follows that there were no insects to bother me indoors. Note that all the casitas also have screened windows, and are not separately by large distances, so in consideration of others you’ll have to keep conversations and noise down should the other casitas be occupied.

The hosts are friendly and available when needed but not intrusive if you want to be with your own group. Prices for meals and beverages are reasonable, but there wasn’t a priced menu available. If you are particularly price-conscious, ask about the cost of items ahead of time, since a tab will be kept until checkout time.

Finally, don’t be put off by the road to TJ Ranch. The initial 200 meters uphill after the Lago Dos Bocas dam was in poor condition in Feb 2017, but still manageable for normal sedans. That’s by far the worst section of road; beyond that it is generally in better shape.

For birders: TJ Ranch has very nice natural habitat for birding right onsite, and is located near other excellent birding locations as well.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colibriaudubon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We recently stayed at TJ Ranch for a couple days on a recent visit to Puerto Rico. We were ready to leave the very touristy area of San Juan and enjoy the contrast that a visit to a mountainous area provides. Upon arrival, we immediately felt relaxed and began to soak up the beautiful sights and sounds that this area provided. The last couple miles of the drive to the ranch is rustic so we chose to make it back before dark. For 2 nights we enjoyed deliciously prepared dinners. We chose fish that was served with a salad and various side dishes on both evenings- wonderful! We felt spoiled by the attention we received from our hosts Joan and Tony. We were also treated to a special visit by the hosts daughter who we enjoyed meeting as well. My husband finally got to do some stargazing too!
The breakfasts were also fantastic, starting out with a pretty parfait glass fillled with tropical fruit.
For those who like to " get away from it all " this place will not disappoint.
Thanks again to J & T for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chrisa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews