We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home.”
Review of Bearna Rua Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bearna Rua Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Rathcoole B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 June 2016

From the moment we stepped inside Bearna Rue Lodge we felt welcomed. Elizabeth and Sean are lovely and we felt immediately as though we had known them forever. Their hospitality was warm and attentive. Our room was cosy and fresh. And being in Ireland for a busy week it was lovely to come back to in the evening and chill out. We loved the fact it was located a short 2-3 minute drive outside the local village of Saggard as it was tranquil and peaceful. Elizabeth and Sean cater for everyone's tastes at breakfast. From continental to pancakes. Fresh fruits and homemade rubharb compote. Breads and cereals. Although we indulged every morning on a lovely home cooked Irish Breakfast. Bearna Rue is 20mins drive from Dublin but Elizabeth on arrival explained about the transport links if we wanted to leave the car behind and local eating places for dinner. And a welcome pack in our room provided map and useful tourist information. We will definatley be back to Bearna Rue Lodge. Not only for a break but to catch up with two lovely people.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2016

We spent one night here recently on our way back to Dublin from Cork. It was a bit tricky to find, up a windy hill with very, very narrow driving space! Once there, however, there was plenty of area to park. Our hostess, Elizabeth, wasn't home when we arrived at about 4pm, but she returned while we were ringing the doorbell for the second time. She apologized for not being there to greet us, explained that it was her day off, and she was running errands.

We were asked to wait in the public 'living room' while she unpacked and put away her groceries, but then she readily took us upstairs to show us our rooms. Our family of 4, husband, wife and 2 adult daughters, had 2 rooms for the night. Our room was comfortable, although the bed squeaked badly, no matter how still one slept. The room in which our daughters slept had the 'quirky' bathroom about which Elizabeth explained to them how to position the shower door so as not to flood the room and cause damage to the ceiling below. She also told them that they had the best view of Ireland outside their bathroom window!!

Breakfast was served downstairs in a cheery room, with an assortment of juices and cereal, as we had come to expect in our Ireland B&B experiences. Elizabeth's brown bread was particularly delicious! She served us huge portions and sent us on our way full and happy.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

We recently stayed here and it was our last stop while visiting Ireland. it was our least favorite of the B&B's we stayed in. It is seated 20/30 minutes outside of Dublin, but they still charge the extra €10 for a stay in "Dublin". Now, that being said, it is located in a remote area away from hustle and bustle with some nice walking/hiking paths of wooded areas and countryside, which was nice.
The sitting areas downstairs are nice enough as well as the breakfast area.
Our room on the other hand, was incredibly cramped and small. There is only a small space in the tiny room where you can stand up straight and not have to hunch over to avoid smacking your head or squeezing by furniture.
The mattress needs replaced as it kept bowing and rolling us to the center.
The bathroom is so tiny and has flood lights as its means of lighting, which was blinding. Also the electric shower sounds like a chainsaw, but did have good water pressure and was plenty warm. Whenever turning on the faucet or flushing the toilet it sounded like a very loud air compressor which was annoying especially to other guests.
It wasn't a bad stay, just in need of updates like changing the layout. I wouldn't consider it a 3 star like the B&B association has.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IowaCruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buzylizzie, Owner at Bearna Rua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and for being so honest. I take great pride in my home and want to make sure everyone who stays has a pleasant and comfortable stay. I am sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay and I take everything you have suggested on board and I have been quick to resolve these issues. I have replaced the mattress and changed the wattage in the lighting and am looking into rectifying the noise of the toilet when it flushes. It’s a pity you didn’t bring these matters to my attention while you were staying with us, however I do appreciate your comments and wish you all the best with the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

My mother, best friend, and I stayed at Bearna Rua Lodge for two nights while exploring nearby Dublin. Elizabeth and Sean were very hospitable and absolutely lovely hosts! We were there a couple days after the celebrations for the 1916 Easter Rising and enjoyed hearing about Elizabeth's grandfather who partook in the Easter Rising events 100 years earlier.

The B&B itself is beautiful. The common areas are neat and comfortable and were great for catching up with my friend. The halls were lined with Elizabeth's beautiful paintings and the views both outside and inside of the home were breathtaking! The view from our bathroom window was especially noteworthy - you could see the city of Dublin from one angle and the West of Ireland from another! Our room was very clean and cozy with great wifi. And breakfast was delicious with a large selection!

During our stay, Elizabeth recommended walking the triangle street path around Bearna Rua. The walk was not only relaxing but it provided us with some more incredible Irish views. If you're looking for a B&B that's close to Dublin but still has the feel of being out in the country, Bearna Rua is the place for you! I will definitely be staying here again next time I'm in Ireland!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buzylizzie, Owner at Bearna Rua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Thank you for your kind words Kristina, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Bearna Rua. We will look forward to seeing you again in the future. Wishing you safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights while enjoying Dublin during St. Patrick's day. Ms. Elizabeth and her husband Sean were gracious hosts, we couldn't have asked for better. Elizabeth was so helpful with directions and places to go. The tram is just a short commute away and will take you right into the heart of Dublin. The breakfast was perfect every morning, my wife is now hooked on putting cucumbers in her water now thanks to our breakfast every morning here. If you are looking for a great place to lay your head and relax while visiting Dublin, you cannot go wrong with this place.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view from the rear of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Donovan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buzylizzie, Owner at Bearna Rua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

I appreciate you taking your time to write this review and am very happy to see you had a nice stay with us. Wishing you all the best with the rest of you travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rathcoole hotels
0.0 km away
GoldenDawn Guest House
GoldenDawn Guest House
#1 of 1 in Rathcoole
9 reviews
2.3 km away
Banner House Bed & Breakfast
0.6 km away
Hillbrook B&B
Hillbrook B&B
#3 of 4 in Rathcoole
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearna Rua Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearna Rua Lodge

Address: Redgap | Rathcoole Co Dublin, Rathcoole, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Rathcoole
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rathcoole
Price Range: $112 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearna Rua Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming family B&B run by Elizabeth. Panoramic views of Dublin and seven Counties. Relax in a rural setting yet only 30 minutes drive to Dublin City and Airport. Extensive breakfast menu.Ideal touring base for Dublinn, Wicklow and Kildare. Help is always at hand with inineries for Glendalough, Powerscourt Gardens, Castletown House, National Stud Farm & Japenesse Gardens. Avail of Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour Bus into Dublin City from Rathcoole Village . Luas (tram) park & ride every 5 minutes into Dublin City and it runs to midnight. Local Restaurants: Poitin Still (famous old Irish pub and restaurant), Avoca shopping Outlet and restaurant which has won many awards for its food, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bearna Rua Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing