We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Golden Sand Beachfront Accommodation(Cable Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ranui Lodge(Mangonui)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Mangonui Motel(Mangonui)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Marino Motor Lodge(Mangonui)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acacia Lodge Motel(Mangonui)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$53
US$51
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments(Coopers Beach)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Esquire Motel(Mangonui)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
227
61
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
61
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfortable bedonogreat viewrestaurant downstairslovely linenwater frontthai restaurantfriendly localsliving roomwould definitely stay here againstayed longervery helpful staffbalcony overlookinglocal restaurantslovely accommodationthe kitchenan added bonus
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Gorgeous rooms, we stayed in Whitu. Such a comfy bed, the day bed on the balcony is a delightful place to have breakfast and catch the morning Sun. Daniel, the owner is interesting and friendly and helpful. We felt completely at home there. A well stocked kitchen allowed me to cook a birthday meal and birthday cake!! for my partner, I had all I needed. So quiet at night, and dark. Total knockout, would love to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Huw M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We had a great 2 night stay at Mangonui Waterfront Apartments in July. We stayed in one of the upper studio apartments, 'Whetu' if we recall correctly, behind the apartments and restaurant at the road front. The apartments have a really fantastic outlook over the Mangonui Harbour, which looks magical on a misty, sunny morning and, being a small village, are only a quick walk away from a few small shops, a couple of cafes, the local pub and a couple of local fish and chips shops. The apartment is clean and is a very good size, with has a well equipped kitchenette and dining area, as well as a sitting area with a balcony and seating outside. A very nice place to stay to experience the magic of the winterless North.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Glen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We are a group of 10 and booked 5 rooms here, so glad we did!
Quirky, clean, gorgeous, friendly, historical rooms, this place is just awesome!
Don't hesitate to come and stay! We can't wait to come back :)

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

I found the motel easily and drove up the steep driveway to the parking area, which separates two groups of buildings.

My apartment didn't have an unobstructed view of the harbour but it was visible both from inside and out on the large veranda.

Whilst the buildings themselves are clearly historic the interiors appear to have been renovated very recently. There was a lounge area, dining table, comfortable bedroom, ample bathroom and modern kitchenette. Although there were plenty of eating utensils, plates, glasses etc. there was a rather limited range of cooking implements.

I slept well in the comfortable bed which had good quality linen.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank rthomp4435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

A tidy group of apartments with character. We used the place as a base to explore the surrounding areas. It is our third visit with very friendly service every time. This trip being in winter, we found we were warm and cosy in the apartment.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kathc870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews