We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
49
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadrestored housestayed longerlambone nightwelcoming hostsnext morningorganic farmfull irishother guestson arrivalgorgeous propertysheephelencattleorchardireland
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017

We wanted to get out of Dublin for a country-side escape and this was the perfect place. Lovely setting, quiet, very welcoming hosts, beautiful building and very tastefully decorated rooms. A place with a story and a soul. It's one of these (very few) places I know I will remember for a long time. Our family was travelling with a 1.5 year-old and Helen and Christopher made us feel so welcome and were so accommodating for our little one. It's definitely worth having staying in for dinner - all the home-grown food will not fail to disappoint. Breakfast was simply delicious. In particular the homemade granola and apple compote (apples from the orchard of course), the locally sourced porridge and the bacon with crackling (!!). Just typing this makes my mouth water. We able to stay only one night but would have loved to stay longer. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thethirdwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

The closest thing any visitor to Ireland could hope come across in the search of an authentic irish country experience. The setting is a beautiful little farm - no pictures can do it justice. The hosts, Christopher and Helen, are welcoming, generous and genuinely share their lovely home with you. Helen's cooking is terrific (be sure to book ahead for dinner). A stopover at Lough Bishop is a must - simple as that!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank johngemma2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Lough Bishop House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay - hope to see you again in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We sadly spent just one night here but I would have gladly stayed longer if I could. This is a beautifully restored house in glorious countryside away from traffic and noisy city life. The house is lovely and homely and our hosts were welcoming and friendly. We had coffee and brack on arrival and chatted to our fellow guests and hosts which was a lovely way to settle into the country life. The farm itself is just lovely - horses, sheep, cows - all so happy too. Our room was charming - old style with lovely window overlooking the farm and garden and the bed very comfy. Shower and bathroom were very good. Oh and we had a lovely vase of sweet pea on the dressing table with its lovely scent - a real touch of nature. Breakfast next day was delicious- home made granola and plums, yummy free range eggs and homemade bread. We lingered at breakfast for ages with the other guests and our hosts and had several coffees as it was very good as was the home produced apple juice. Our hosts were very kind and we enjoyed every second of our stay here in this lovely place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank limericklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Lough Bishop House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

we're always happy to hear that guests enjoyed their stay - we hope you'll be back before too long....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

This period house has great character. It has many beautiful artefacts is furnished very tastefully. Helen & Christopher are so welcoming, helpful & efficient. Great coffee,home made brack & chat on arrival in the gorgeous conservatory. They engaged in conversation enthusiastically & were interesting to talk with on a variety of subjects. They work this organic farm, having cattle, sheep, hens & bees. The charm & pleasure of our stay included tasting home made bread, honey & jam that they produce. Breakfast was exceptionally nice, including organic yogurt, granola fruit, eggs and succulent non- greasy sausages & rashers. The bed was a dream. Rustic views from the bedroom of grounds which are ideal for a peaceful walk. Room was very clean. Not wishing to be 'too picky' as this is an exceptionally pod B& B experience, more small toiletries & some night & early morning heating is suggested if the Irish Summer goes down to 10C.
Lough Bishop is convenient to local and historical amenities by car & cycle. It is a wonderful B& B, house, location & hosts. Very highly recommended.
Tommy...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We had a fantastic experience here recently with our hosts Christopher and Helen. From the warm welcome, beautiful surroundings, fresh tasty home cooked food from their farm, the relaxing fire side chats and the really wonderful tour of the farm next morning we came away feeling inspired and really delighted that we have chosen to spend a night here and hope to return for many more. A little hidden gem !

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Caitriona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Lough Bishop House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Great to meet you both - hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews