We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Be Good”
Review of Handagedara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Handagedara Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2017

This is our second time at Handagedara, we also stayed same time last year. We had two rooms for three nights this time and what can we say but first class. Very clean, staff very helpful, rooms comfortable with great a/c wonderful breakfast. Perfect location for beach, restaurants and whale watching. If staying in Mirissa then this is the place. Staff and owner remembered us from last year. We will go one again I'm sure.

Room Tip: All a/c rooms are facing pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonycleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Quiet colonial villa restored by the family after 2010 tsunami. An additional 12rooms have been put in the grounds in a pleasing 2 storey arrangement each with a balcony facing the pool.
The gardens have a peacock family and many other beautiful birds who pop down for a cool drink near sunset.Monkeys use the restaurant roof as their commute.
The upstairs dining room is spacious and friendly. Breakfast is varied and plentiful buffet. No food police checking on portions.

Dinner menu ranges from fantastic fresh fish and local rice and curry to more international usual suspects.
But if you fancied egg and chips it would be lovingly prepared for you.
The pool is small and ideal for young children. There are enough sun loungers. Towels are thick and big.

Fridge kettle tea toiletries in gorgeously simple yet lush rooms. Very hot water and good showers.

I've stayed here several times and now book as I check out for the next year.

Loyal staff have been with the owner for years which is a very good sign.

Pretty garden on site laundry.
Pryanga will inform you of trips but never push you.
5 min walk to beach.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank neesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

We only stayed 1 night which was a shame, the manager met us with such warmth and interest I felt like I had stayed before and were returning as old friends. The location is great, remote enough but near to the beach (maybe 10 mins walk). We loved the pool and the staff were all really welcoming. Just wish we had booked another night!! Can recommend!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and loved it. The manager was so friendly and welcoming and the hotel itself is perfect. Lovely clean, modern rooms and a nice small pool to cool off in. Breakfast was also fab with lots of choice. A 10/15 min walk to the beach and away from the main road so nice and quiet. A great place to stay!

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank Bargainhunter6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

If it had not been for this Hotel we don't think we could have stayed as long as we did. Marissa is not our cup of tea, great for those who like to party tho.
The staff were very accommodating and tried their best to accommodate us in a room with a balcony even though we hadn't requested this in our booking. They managed to achieve this on the second day after we had moved twice due to me not feeling comfortable in rooms with small windows, I know I'm a diva!!!
The Hotel is spotless, the cleanest place we had been in since arriving in Sri Lanka. Attention to detail was second to none and the staff were extremely helpful, they gave us advice on how much we should pay for a Tuk Tuk and arranged a driver for our journey to Ella at a very reasonable price.
We also have to give a special mention to Madam who is the owner, of the establishment, she bent over backwards to help us when we had difficulty booking our train to Candy, and gave us advice on where to shop when we got there, avoiding the usual tourist places by going to shopping malls. We can't thank her enough, shewas so warm and friendly and really cared that we enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: If you like outside space, choose a room with a balcony, great for relaxing first thing in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rockchic69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
1.8 km away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
261 reviews
3.8 km away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
0.3 km away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#11 of 194 in Mirissa
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#2 of 178 in Mirissa
645 reviews
1.4 km away
Morning Star
Morning Star
#6 of 178 in Mirissa
196 reviews
1.2 km away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#1 of 194 in Mirissa
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handagedara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handagedara Resort

Address: Harbour Road, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 178 Speciality Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range: $68 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Handagedara Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful example of a period house from the colonial era. Newly renovated, more than a hundred years old, home of a school head master. This house features early wood work of windows doors and columns. Has 5 double bed rooms and a single bed rooms, all with ensuite shower rooms. There are three d/b rooms in the upper floor and two d/b rooms and the single bed room in the ground floor. All rooms have hot water and free wifi access and all d/b rooms have AC. All the household equipments like refrigerator, washing machine, irons, hair dryers, coffee makers, microwave oven, etc. are available in the villa. In addition to this old colonial type house, there is a new building with 8 modern rooms. They all have AC, hot water, balconies facing swimming pool, mini fridge, etc. There is a swimming pool and a spacious garden to relax in with cup of tea. Walking distance (100 m) to attractive beach of Mirrissa. Five minute walk to Mirrissa fishing harbour where you can find many kinds of fresh seafoods.You can also have a taste of fresh vegetables, a variety of tropical fruits ranging from mangoes, pineapples, bananas, etc found in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Handagedara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing