We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bandhusena House & Apartment(Mirissa)(Great Value!)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$288
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Villa(Mirissa)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$82
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$69/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$45
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$42
US$38
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$80
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Atulya(Mirissa)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
126
75
26
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
75
26
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhale watchingquiet air conditioningthe ownermirissa beachsri lankabalcony facing the poolgirl on receptioncolonial villarooms were cleaned every dayspare roomdeluxe roomsswimming poollovely hotelroom was clean and comfortablelovely poolwhale toursmin walk to beach
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Khanda the manager is a warm, welcoming chap who goes out of his way to make sure your Mirissa stay is enjoyable and easy.

The resort itself is clean and tidy. Kids enjoyed the pool. Family room was great, very pleasant to spend a few days in.

Beautiful Mirissa Beach is a few minutes walk away; it was actually nice to be staying in a quiet oasis away from the busy-ness of the beach.

The on-site restaurant offered a wide range of cheap and tasty food. Breakfast was excellent, especially the turmeric pancakes!

Its such a cliche but Handagedara really does feel like a home away from home. We were really sad to leave.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank the4chamberlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handagedara, Owner at Handagedara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

your nice comments and your loyalty is well appreciated. We are happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your time with us.Thanks and all the best for you!
Regards,
Priyanga and Sudath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Stayed 2 nights at this lovely hotel before traveling back to the International airport. The staff was so helpful and accommodating. They even upgraded our room without fee to a more spacious room. The beds were very comfortable and the shower and rest of the room were very nice. The AC is very strong and can be adjusted to your liking. Each room has a balcony, which is great to dry out swimming clothes on. There was shampoo and soap, nothing fancy. There is refrigerator and British-style electric outlets. There is wifi through out, but is spotty at times.

There is tea provided, but no coffee in the room. However, there is coffee at the breakfast. The breakfast is a mix of Sri Lankan and western foods, and there is loads of fresh fruit. The hotel also has a liquor licence and has a bar by the pool.

The location is near the beach and also has its own small pool, which is nicely shaded if you need to escape the heat. The staff also can help navigating you to local restaurants and sites. The reception staff booked us a taxi for the morning and we were able to make a 1PM flight to the UK. The rate they got for us was amazing and the driver was very good, showed up on time, car was clean and even allowed us to stop on the way to the airport for some fruit on the road side.

The price for the room was much less than some of the other hotels in the area and also a much higher standard.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cortni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handagedara, Owner at Handagedara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

your nice comments and your loyalty is well appreciated.Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel was very nice! We absolutely loved our stay here. My favourite room so far in my travels of Sri Lanka. The staff were very friendly and so helpful, we even met the owners who were just so nice, it was a pleasure to meet them and they were only too happy to help us with anything we needed. Very short walk to the beach and shops. Pool was lovely and breakfast nice. I would absolutely recommend this place.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank katie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handagedara, Owner at Handagedara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We visited here for four nights absolutely lovely.Staff were great very accommodating,restaurant was lovely.Really nice room serviced daily ,great amenities and lovely pool.Close to beach could walk down at nights and nice spa close by,owners organised a tuk tuk to .
Would recommend this as good value place to stay .

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank trisht62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handagedara, Owner at Handagedara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is our pleasure to know that you have enjoyed staying with us. How ever we surprised to see that you have given such a lower rating as one.We believe that it's probablly a mistake.Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We came there with my boyfriend for "short holiday" ..and we didn't want to leave..First day we stayed in "simple room" what was already so nice..servise from the staff in this place is amazing..I had also drink and dinner in the restaurant what was also good..Next day we moved to "deluxe room" what is really beautiful. Next time we gonna stay more days. This place is the best for relax.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Aloha coffee g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews