We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Whales, dolphins, great crew!

We started off around 7am, the spotted two beautiful whales, and were awe struck. The crew on the... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Nipuni S
via mobile
Ocean Diamond Yacht ❤️

Mindblowing Experience!! Breathtaking Views! Amazing Food! The crew and their service is the best... read more

Reviewed 19 March 2021
MTAD102
Read all 93 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Mirissa
from US$160.26
More Info
from US$233.77
More Info
from US$85.00
More Info
from US$85.00
More Info
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
82
4
0
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
82
4
0
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paddle boarding breakfast and lunch luxury facilities stayed for nights whale watching deep water pod of dolphins captain and crew couple of hours indian ocean fin whales sea sickness jade yacht anchored lanka harbour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We started off around 7am, the spotted two beautiful whales, and were awe struck. The crew on the Jade did their utmost to make sure we spotted the sights. We also saw a pod of dolphins which was great!!
The crew was super active, friendly and enthusiastic and made our rather long trip as enjoyable as possible.

Special highlight for me: they let me steer the boat for sometime and showed me how the boat works.:) special mention to Captain Chamith, and the super friendly and enthusiastic life guards Tharindu and Pathum. Since I was too sea sick to move, they even very kindly got some photos and videos of the trip for me. It was also really great to see their skills and confident sea legs opening the sails and navigating.

The stop for a dip in the sea closer to shore really helped as well and the crew was friendly and attentive with good safety measures in place.

Special mention of chef Pushpakumara for the yummy food, so sad I wasn't well enough to eat much.

The negatives, were so few. The seas were so choppy, and the waves were huge, almost all passengers were sea sick, and we were no exception. I would suggest you take motion sickness meds at least one hour in advance. But we did enjoy the sights despite the sea sickness. Also please take enough sun protection (sunscreen, hats, sunglasses) and a change of clothes because you will get wet!! Also as a suggestion, perhaps they shouldn't serve eggs and sausages for breakfast if those don't agree well with sea sickness.

Overall, the friendly and enthusiastic service of the crew made all the difference. Definitely try this! But perhaps checked for the weather.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank Nipuni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2021

Mindblowing Experience!! Breathtaking Views! Amazing Food! The crew and their service is the best. The rooms were really clean and comfortable! Will definitely come back again❤️

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank MTAD102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2021

Great experience with super amazing crew. Went with 4 friends and 5 more other passengers onboard for a 7 hour whale watching sail.

Simple, yet delicious breakfast and lunch. Unfortunately we couldn't sight any whales even spending more hours in the sea. Plenty of dolphins though....like in hundreds.

Worth the price paid! Will visit again.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank nisha848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2021

Had a wonderful experience @ Ocean diamond Yacht. Very friendly staff, superb service, delicious food luxury facilities. The crew is always highly concern about our safety. Water sports are fabulous. Thank you Captain Ashan and the crew for all your support.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank Anuradha830830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2021 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights on the Sail Lanka Emerald Cruise me and my huby on 30th January 2021. I would like to give our sincerely gratitude for Mrs. Umega was extremely helpful starting from the reservation, check in and during our stay throughout. The room was small, as unexpected, but so cosy and very clean.The bed was very clean, comfortable. The crew were fantastic, really friendly and relaxed.We started off our 1st evening seeing a couple of whale on leaving the Mirissa Harbour.which was very special, we saw the beautiful sunset in the evening. 2nd day we took the more than 5 hours watch the whale and dolphins which left the Mirissa Harbour at 6.30. We had dinner, breakfast and lunch at the yatch. Which was really delicious foods.We were very happy with the service. We saw 3 blue whales, turtles and group of dolphins.Fee miles further on deep water we were so fortunate to sea to our eyes huge whales. It was an amazing sight to see how whale are dominating the deep sea. We went snorkeling, swimming with the captain and the life guard.It was brilliant sea trip and I would like to highly recommend SAIL LANKA

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank roshaniw2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews