We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
43
99
31
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
99
31
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the hotel staff great hotel the bus mos burger room was large day pass shijo station the main shopping area convenience store peak season breakfast buffet japanese food the ground floor yen key kyoto gym
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Location next to Hankyu Sain station and 3 min walk from Randen, but quite few sleazy bars karaoke around it (they leave tourists alone).
Room: larger than most Japanese rooms, comfy bed, good WiFi. Must leave room key with staff when leaving hotel.
Others : staff attentive and helpful. Breakfast was good if you like Japanese food, but very limited for Westerners. Free bathhouse inside the gym on the second floor. Pool is pay per use.
Overall nice business hotel.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Ed1982_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We stayed at the Rhino hotel for a few days. For the price, this hotel is really good. It's a little hard to locate (not well marked) and the reception desk is on the second floor of the building. The room was large for Japan, offering both closet and drawer space, a writing desk, seating area, and large bed. There were plenty of outlets too. The room was clean and water pressure in the bathroom was good. Our stay was quiet - we didn't hear other guests. The 7 Eleven on the ground floor is open 24/7. We did not try the gym since it does not open until 10am.
Although it is near the Saiin metro station, the easiest way to access the hotel from Kyoto Station is the #205 city bus, to the Nishioji Shijo station.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RickyBobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We chose this hotel over others for 2 reasons. 1) we could get a family room 2) there was a pool. The room did not disappoint, was above expectations and with 2 doubles and 2 singles with window seating area was great for family. Access to the pool was 16+, so I had two disappointed children on a hot day.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Shar7546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

When you enter you need to take the lift up to the main reception. We had a warm welcome when we got there and throughout our staff staff were friendly and helpful. Downstairs their is a 7Eleven which is super convenient, and a couple of resturants. We only tried one call Tendon which was amazing (where you cook your meat on the grill at your table). They had set options as well as single dishes so its good if your a little or a lot hungry.
Our room was a corner room and had lots of space. It was a lovely room with a big window. The only downside is someone may has smoked in this room before us, (even though it was a non-smoking room), or maybe it was a bad airfreshner smell. IT wasn't peasant as we walked in but it wasn't bad enough that we should move rooms, and it seemed to go away after the first walk in. Our room was lovely so we didn't want to change anyway.
We left our bags here for the day when we checked out, but wish we could have stayed a little longer to make full use of the spa. It was a good stay. Close walking to two stations for easy links and staff are great at helping.
We had breakfast here and really enjoyed the mix of japanese and western style food. It was a nice breakfast rooms too with big windows.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yamoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

After a slight mix up with our room allocation, we have found the Motel centrally located along with very great comfortable rooms/beds. The breakfast was very tasty & the staff, very courteous & helpful.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KAV1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews