We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town”

Teppan Tavern Tenamonya
Ranked #2 of 372 Restaurants in Higashiyama
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$26
Cuisines: Japanese, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Gion
Description: 【BUSINESS HOUR 17:00~23:00 , Closed on THURSDAYS, ONLY CASH】 The TVERN(IZAKAYA) is small basement Teppanyaki Tavern, only 16 seats. Our restaurant has begun with neighborhood TEPPANYAKI IZAKAYA in 1998(20 years ago)as the MOM & POP TEPPANYAKI. Only husband & wife(sometimes 1 help) handle all things to do, shopping, preparing, cooking & hosts which is authentic Japanese family business. We can promise you that we serve fine food as very affordable price, not like GION area's price or fine restaurant much cheepest at expensive food in Japan. Hideki(husband & Owner chef) has about 35 years experiance of Teppanyaki & Japanese. Naoko(Wife) is also a deifferent restaurant owner chef who was usually on TV shows & magagines. We've reunited after our doughter & sun became adults(24 years old & 22 years old), we talked about lots our future after then Naoko retired from her job for me(Hideki:husband, I'm really lucky!). We hope to see you with your fine food at bargain price! Please book ahead!
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Everything was perfect! The ambient, the food and the courtesy of the owners! Choose the full board menu for 2 or 4 people and happiness is guarantee. You will eat a little bit of everything satisfying your taste and a full bally! After 8pm is impossible without a reservation but earlier if you are lucky like us you can have the chance! Have fun

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Freerico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We came at 6pm without a reservation and were told to come back at 7. We did and got seated but after that I saw many people being told the restaurant was full for the night. So make a reservation or go early so you don't miss the delicious food!

The couple who runs this restaurant are super friendly and make you feel welcome from the first instant. We ordered the crab croquettes, the wagyu beef and the gyoza. The beef was so good we ordered another one. It was buttery and melt in your mouth...never had steak like it before. Along with 2 beers and dessert, our total bill was under $60 USD--a steal for the quality and amount of food. Highly recommend!!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank katrinawatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

A very friendly little basement restaurant/pub --- our table shared a couple of noodle dishes, soft shell crab, tempura vegetables and edamame. Everything was delicious, the service was great, and the meal was inexpensive. They seem to cater to English speakers but it does not feel at all touristy. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We wanted a casual dinner and found this little gem on trip advisor. Very small so you should book having said that we came without a booking on Saturday night and only had to wait 30 minutes for a seat probably because we arrived quite late. The Wagyu was solid and the seafood was very good. Great little place.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank JamieJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

The restaurant was very small and cosy, I had heard about this little restaurant and booked ahead - I am very glad we did, it was very busy! The food was incredible, we sat at the counter and watch the chef cook which was great! The food was cheap but delicious! The service was very good and they were very welcoming!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mik1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teppan Tavern Tenamonya also viewed

 
Shimogyo, Kyoto
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Teppan Tavern Tenamonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing