We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Gojo Guest House Annex(Higasiyama)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Sunline Kyoto Gion Shijo(Higasiyama)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$42
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Guest House Yamato(Higasiyama)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Orient Gojozaka(Higasiyama)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$50
US$43
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Ryozen(Higasiyama)
US$147
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
    Savings alert! 43% below average rates

    The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$168/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Kamuroan(Higasiyama)
    US$266
    US$235
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    Ryokan 
    Tamahan(Higasiyama)
    US$335
    US$321
    JAPANiCAN.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Breakfast
    Reviews (2,630)
    Filter reviews
    2,630 results
    Traveller rating
    1,563
    784
    201
    56
    26
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1,563
    784
    201
    56
    26
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssanjusangendo templenational museumcomplimentary taxijapanese restaurantmk taxibeautiful hotelconcierge desktrain stationthe general managertouzan bara short taxi ridewet roomzen gardenken yokoyamatrattoria settedeluxe roomguest rooms
    Filter
    Updating list...
    39 - 44 of 2,630 reviews
    Reviewed 21 May 2018

    Beautiful Lobby, restaurants and rooms. Upgraded to a suite situated over the gardens. Tatami mats, cotton robes great amenities. Lovely staff, great breakfast, fabulous lunch. Knowledgeable concierge team and shout out to Andrew and the front desk.

    Room Tip: Ask for a garden view
    Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    Thank austin_TexasLkd
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

    From the outside it looks like a non descript hotel but once inside, the warmth of service and a canister of icy cold lemon water are signals that you’ve made an excellent decision to stay here.
    Comfortable well appointed rooms with a large bathroom that has a big cedar wood bath tub in the middle, are perfect. The walk in wardrobe is a functional and the bed has a firm mattress.
    There’s a lovely little garden in Basement 1 which is great for some photos.
    There’s a choice of Japanese breakfast in the basement restaurant or Western on the Lobby floor. Both are great! The ham is succulent!
    There’s a complete range of bathroom accessories but the smell of the soap and bath gel is lemon and rather like laundry detergent. The hotel doormen were somewhat curt and business-like.
    Just to mention that tipping is generally not accepted. I tried twice and the tips were politely declined.

    Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    1  Thank nsl115
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 May 2018

    We stayed for 3 nights in Hyatt Regency Kyoto. What stood out to me throughout my stay was the friendly staff and very high quality of service they aspire to give the guests. The concierge was particularly helpful for us throughout the stay. They helped plan out all our itineraries in Kyoto and had lots walking maps ready and available for various parts of the city and around. This in addition to of course giving us restaurant suggestions and booking those for us as well as sorting out our Shinkansen tickets.

    The hotel has three different restaurants. We only tried the Italian one, and food quality was pretty good, the cocktails were even better. There is also a pastry shop full of tempting little goodies.

    Another highlight of the hotel is the bar downstairs which is brilliant and while we were there they had a Maiko performance every evening at 6, which was a great idea. We managed to get our photos clicked and also got to enjoy a nice 20 minute show.

    Finally taking about the location, the hotel is very convenient. It is a 10min and 1000 yen cab ride from the Kyoto station. There is always a line of taxis available right in front of the hotel. And there are bus stops about 50m away from the entrance so connectivity to every part of Kyoto is great.

    • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Neofelis
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 May 2018

    As with most Hyatt properties the the service and food are excellent! But the Japanese sleep experience was less than desired. The pillows are shallow and the mattress is rock hard.
    That might be the way some like it? Good for them...it’s not a Heavenly bed.



    • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
    Thank Dinerscout
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 May 2018

    We just returned from four days at the Hyatt Regency Kyoto. Our party of four all loved staying at the Hyatt. The hotel is beautiful -- the lobby, bar, grill and guest rooms are perfectly designed. The entire hotel has a very modern and peaceful feel.

    The service at the hotel was exceptional. The front desk staff and the concierge staff could not have been nicer or more helpful throughout our stay. We also worked with them prior to arrival to obtain restaurant reservations and they were extremely helpful then as well. When we arrived our reservations were all printed out for us, along with a map to hand to the cab driver for each reservation. And their dinner recommendations were also superb.

    The hotel is outside of the Gion/downtown district as noted in other reviews. We actually liked the location as it felt like we were returning to a resort at the end of the day. The cab ride to Gion is about 10 minutes (as the cab ride to the train station), and the cabs are plentiful and inexpensive. We never found this to be an issue.

    Our room was extremely quiet. The bathroom was fairly large --the toilet is in a separate room as is the shower--making it easy to get ready in the morning. The bed was firm but comfortable.

    We also loved that every evening a Geisha trainee performed and also conversed with the guests dining in the room after the performance. That was a treat, and we found ourselves in the lobby nightly watching the performance. This really made the trip special for us.

    Highly recommended.

    • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank gaudifan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews