We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel concept”
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2017

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights this Fall while there looking for best views of the Northern Lights. The hotel was charming and staff were really great, but the rooms are quite small and the bathrooms tiny. That's ok because the price was appropriate. They had a lovely outdoor area where you could take a hot tub under the stars but don't forget to tell the staff to turn up the heat. It is not always hot and we ventured out in robes, in the freezing cold to cold water temperatures. So do request they turn it up before you do that. Food was good and place charming.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the outdoor hot tub so you don't have to walk too far in the cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sussie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

This is a very comfortable, fairly newly built hotel.
It has lots of quirky decor touches e.g. old Singer sewing machines on top of Chinese chests.
There is a pool table, a small lounge and bar and TV area. The rooms and beds are comfortable and clean.
Shaun on receiption is friendly and helpful. There is a good breakfast on offer, with slightly addictive cook-them-yourself waffles! The only slight downside is that the hotel doesn't offer an evening meal service.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank DV2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

My son and I stayed 5 nights coming back last week. It was our first visit to Iceland and I was a little unsure about driving so used public transport to get into town especially for the yore the bus stop us directly outside hotel and costs 440krona one way.

Start 7:45 except Sunday, number 15 and always on time, which was brilliant can pick up return in centre up to 11ish... pm. Drivers don’t give change so try to have right money or you may lose out.

The hotel is simple in terms of offerings like breakfast, rooms basic clean and very soft beds but I found the room to be too hot although windows can be opened.

Staff were helpful when asked but in the main we were left on our own. The bakery across the roads opens 7am and has beautiful fresh sandwiches, pastries which we stocked up on for our day trips. Cheaper than buying in town or on tour. They also have subway, KFC and dominos pizza (shocking prices)

But you also have a large Bonus supermarket which you can buy drinks, snacks much cheaper like Diet Coke etc..

I would go back as we found some lovely walks and a waterfall and park with volleyball and small zip wire. Also local swimming no pool just 5mins away.

As I say basic but fit for simple needs. Could be so much more but they always have returning guests which speaks for itself.



Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank 482annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

An incredible overall experience. Do not sleep on Shaun the receptionist, he is a baller in every sense of the word. Enjoy a stay of the highest quality. This in an absolute must if you are trekking in the area.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jared C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Shaun was incredibly kind!! A warm and cozy place, would highly recommend to anyone and everyone. The breakfast buffet was delicious, my favorite item was the waffle and whip cream. I cannot wait to come back

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 55 in Reykjavik
3,930 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eyja Guldsmeden Hotel
#6 of 55 in Reykjavik
284 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 55 in Reykjavik
676 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#10 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range: $168 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing