We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family get together”

Avon Tyrrell Outdoor Activity Centre
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Bransgore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore and discover an exciting range of outdoor adventure activities at Avon Tyrrell. We provide accommodation options for groups and individuals, so stay in our Grade I listed house, self catering lodges or pitch a tent and camp. Visiting as part of a school residential, youth group visit or looking for a short break away with friends and family? We have something for everyone. Activities include: Climbing, Archery, High Ropes, Kayaking/Canoeing, Zip Wire, Adventure Course, Bushcraft, Pioneering and more... Go Adventure Activities, Fundays, Birthday parties and Family Events are all available as well as development programmes and outdoor learning packages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Great great great! We rented a large lodge, it served what we were looking for...large communal spaces, well equipped, great self catering facilities. Twin bedded rooms, adequate shower/toilet facilities. We had a fantastic get together a great long weekend. Lots of activities to choose from and really well trained, friendly staff operating them....highly recommend abseiling

Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"avon tyrrell"
in 19 reviews
"new forest"
in 14 reviews
"swimming pool"
in 9 reviews
"raft building"
in 7 reviews
"high ropes"
in 7 reviews
"in advance"
in 6 reviews
"the main house"
in 6 reviews
"on site"
in 5 reviews
"great fun"
in 5 reviews
"one night"
in 5 reviews
"great value"
in 5 reviews
"my son"
in 4 reviews
"log cabin"
in 4 reviews
"friendly staff"
in 4 reviews
"outdoor activities"
in 4 reviews
"children and adults"
in 2 reviews
"stayed here"
in 3 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

I was looking for somewhere different to stay whilst visiting the new forest. I could have camped or stayed in one of the lodges but I opted to stay in the house it self. No luxury frills that you would get if staying a 5 star Manor but you get a whole duffenent experience that would be hard to find. Despite the fact that it is an out door activity centre with kayaking on the lake or rock climbing even an outdoor swimming pool for the summer months our stay will be in our memories for the other activities we got up too. A walk in the grounds and finding a fantastic tree swing. Playing snooker table tennis and table football in the hall. Exploring the library with a good selection of books and games. Curled up on the sofa with roaring fire with a cup of tea and being with families whilst the children played together (bonus...a bar!!!) Basic fry up available in the morning!

Thank patriciatowns1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

I can't complain with our stay here. We were on the lakeside pitches, with electric hook up. Lots of room for pitching with a nice view of the lake. The boathouse toilets/shower block were brilliant and in fact the best toilets I've visited on a campsite! They were clean, yes at times they could be cleaner, but lets not forget that we are camping! Great location, well worth hiring the bikes and exploring the trails on and around the site. The only negative, if I'm being picky, is that the site is under a flight path. It was noticeable on the first night, but after that you get over it! Would definitely recommend the lakeside pitches.

1  Thank JoelH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon T, Guest Relations Manager at Avon Tyrrell Outdoor Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so glad that you had such a positive experience visiting Avon Tyrrell and hope you will share it with your friends and family.

Occasionally the planes accessing the local airport will fly over Avon Tyrrell which unfortunately we are unable to control.

We hope to see you here again soon.

Best wishes
Avon Tyrrell Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

This place seems to be run by young staff who clearly arent that worried. Toilets and shower blocks are filthy, with no toilet rolls and only checked if they are lucky once a day, one hook on the back of the door so no where other than the floor for your wash bag or clothes/ towel. We were a large group and all of us encountered the same problems on different days. We were on a dog free pitch.... roughly around 4-5 meters from a dog friendly pitch..work that out. Staff didn't explain pitch numbers and the site is full of mole hills and mud. This is pretty much a free for all campsite with a pool, fishing lake and bike shop. The other activities aren't available unless you book well in advance and i think they must take a maximum of 3 people on the ropes etc as they classed that as fully booked. Didnt dare eat in the cafe when i had seen the standard of the toilets. We had fun with our friends but the site is a joke, filthy and all of us were glad to get to home to a clean shower and toilet. Wont ever be staying here again and would strongly advise anyone else to stay elsewhere. This place needs a very good shake up. Perhaps the owners or management should visit a caravan/camping club site and learn a few skills in cleaning public areas.

Thank ASAM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon T, Guest Relations Manager at Avon Tyrrell Outdoor Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit to Avon Tyrrell. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and have passed your comments on to department heads to review.

Each facility block is closed twice a day for cleaning but we do accept that at times in between these cleans standards can slip. We encourage all guests to let us know at the time should the standards not meet their expectations so we can rectify any issues.

Except from our electric pitches, the camping areas are unmarked to allow guests a true forest camping experience, which historically guests have valued about the site. Based on feedback this year we are currently looking ahead to next year to see how we can make improvements to this. There is currently sufficient space for the number of pitches allocated and whilst we accept some guests may pitch in the wrong place or awkwardly for others, we do encourage guests to contact Reception or our on call support if there are any issues.

We do offer a wide range of activities on site for guests to enjoy and we do highly recommend in your pre-visit contact that activities are booked in advance. Guided Activities are scheduled based on availability of activity bases and staff so are maximised where possible. Specific to the ropes course, our ratios are 1:6 for Go Adventure activities as it gives everyone the chance to do a couple of elements and sits with our health and safety policy and our risk assessments so this unfortunately cannot be changed.

In addition to these, we are pleased to offer a number of free facilities including; Sports Courts, Trim Trail, Bouldering Wall, Adventure Play Area and Bike Trails, plus self-guided activity packs.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback as it helps us review our facilities and services and make improvements for future guests.

We hope that you will consider visiting Avon Tyrrell again in the future.

Best wishes

Avon Tyrrell Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We arrived at the campsite and had booked four electric hookups. We all have dogs but we're told if you have electric you can't have a dog. Well, we ended up with only three hook ups. The lady opposite us not only did not need her hook up but had to pay for it, she was also told she could bring her dog! The campsite is at best organised chaos! In fact I'd go so far as to say a 'free for all'. The toilet and shower block are one in the same and unisex. They are filthy. A sign asks you 'to please mop the floor after use', however the mop buckets are dry. God knows how many infections people pick up!

Last night a huge fight broke out between campers, the language and volume were foul and I believe a broken nose and many black eyes were suffered. The fight was next to the toilet block and The children were terrified. It lasted a good half hour and I very nearly called the police! Where are the security staff? It's an absolute disgrace that people should put up with that sort of behaviour and be scared to even use the facilities.

All the activities were fully booked except a pedals on the lake and for 2 adults, one 7 year old and one 3 year old for half an hour it was £20!

I definitely would never stay here again!

Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon T, Guest Relations Manager at Avon Tyrrell Outdoor Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Nikki,

Thank you for your review of your camping trip to Avon Tyrrell this weekend.

As a guest who has made their booking through pitchup.com, you would have had the opportunity to book for a pet friendly pitch- which does allow dogs.
Unfortunately the pitch you selected for your booking was a standard pitch, and so the space you were allocated is in an area which does not permit dogs. We have split up our camping in this way, to allow our guests the choice about whether they would prefer to be in an area with or without dogs to suit the needs of their family.
Over the weekend, all of our ‘pet friendly with electric’ pitches were already booked to other guests, so there would have been no opportunity to relocate you on arrival.
With the exception of our electric pitches, all non-electric pitches are unmarked- to allow guests the flexibility to select a space that best suits their needs, and accommodate the varying sizes/shapes of modern tents.

We are aware that the Boat House facilities are not to everyone’s preference in being gender neutral, however we do offer gender specific facilities at the Forest Camping area which all guests are very welcome to use.

We do very much agree that the behaviour of the guests on Saturday night was disappointing and not in any way in-keeping with the family friendly camping experience we aim to offer, and we are sorry that their actions impacted on the enjoyment of other guests.
A number of members of Avon Tyrrell staff were involved in deescalating the disagreement as soon as we were aware there was an issue. The individuals directly involved left site immediately and the remaining group were spoken to by the Duty Manager about the consequences of any further disruptions.

We do encourage all of our guests to alert us- using the details on the welcome leaflet issued on arrival, to any issues or concerns as we do have clear procedures in place to deal with most things- even rare isolated occurrences such as this.

We do hope the above will help to clarify some of the reasons behind the experience you had, and that you will consider another visit to Avon Tyrrell again in the future.

Best Wishes
Avon Tyrrell Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avon Tyrrell Outdoor Activity Centre also viewed

 

Been to Avon Tyrrell Outdoor Activity Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing