We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballathie House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
7
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

The staff here were great very attentive and friendly .The food was out of this world.The grounds were lovely great for walking and was very peaceful,but there wasn't much to do when it rained. What let's it down for me is the accommodation over priced although very clean .The sportsman lodges were out dated and to be honest smelled. We upgrade .Find it hard to be harsh as everything else was good

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for two nights originally we were booked for the sportsmanship lodges but were upgraded to the riverside. After reading some reviews on the sportsmanship lodge we were pleased to be upgraded and just as well, because they look like toilet blocks from the outside, however, the rooms in the riverside are ok but the hotel lets itself down with attention to detail. Room 14 had clearly not had a good clean for several months as the skirting boards were filthy both in the bedroom and bathroom. The pillows had a clear smell of body odour although the linen was clean. The headboards had clear marks where previous occupants had been...... Not a good look. The in room manual stated a Ballathie breakfast was on the menu but not cooked, this dissapointed us especially when we were informend on last day that this was available in the main building.... Why could they not say in the room info or at reception on arrival? On the plus side the hotel is situated in a beautiful area and stunning grounds. Such a shame about our stay and reception did not seem too interested.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Zenbob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Picked this hotel for location and excellent reviews given on trip advisor. It is situated on the banks of the Tay and is ideally suited for a sporting break or just a nice relaxing weekend.
The staff from arrival to departure, were professional, helpful, polite and plentiful. Nice to stay somewhere with a lot of staff on hand.
We had a lovely room in the main house overlooking the river, which was clean and comfortable. However, I had messed up a little, by booking a twin room rather than a double....wife not happy. I had realised this mistake when booking through Booking com and had used their messaging service to change to a double, however the hotel did not receive this request, so if you need to make a change, go direct to the hotel.
The menu caters for all tastes, good food and a good selection of wines, again we couldn't fault the service.
We enjoyed an evening walk along the banks of the Tay within the hotel grounds, avoid wearing good shoes or high heels, as the path can be wet and slightly muddy in places.
Breakfast service was excellent, good selection of food (hot/cold) to suit all.
I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends & family

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the house on the eastern side, as it over looks the Tay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

3 years on we returned to Ballathie for a birthday lunch for my mother. The lunch price is higher during the summer but at 23.95 for 3 courses it is still excellent value. Lovely food, beautifully presented and good service. Worth stopping by for a special occasion meal.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We were booked in for two nights in the sportsman's lodges. I have to say this was the most awful room I've ever stayed in, in my life. The decor is old and dated, there is a damp smell in the room, the carpets and bedding was dirty. There must be an issue with the pipes, as I'm not exaggerating when I say the building sounded like it was literally shaking. I actually thought there were people doing maintenance work until I realised it was the pipes. I was woken up at various points in the night and again at 5.30am by this and couldn't get back to sleep. Worst nights sleep of my life! The only saving grace I would give is when I told the reception they were swift and offered to change us to another lodge in another building (the riverside). This was better but I still wouldn't say it was 4* in the slightest! Decor dated, room wasn't very clean. Thankfully as we were here for my best friends wedding we didn't spend much time in the hotel at all (thank goodness). Don't be fooled when you read the hotel welcome pack and it says room service is 24hours, apparently this only applies to the main hotel and not the lodges!! Rate for the room was £90 a night and I have to say I've stayed in much nicer hotels for much much cheaper!! I wish I had read the reviews before staying here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
14.7 km away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,375 reviews
29.0 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,899 reviews
16.2 km away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Murrayshall House Hotel
31.9 km away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
13.2 km away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballathie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballathie House Hotel

Address: Kinclaven By Stanley, Stanley PH1 4QN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range: $130 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballathie House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballathie Country House Hotel is a 4 star Country House Hotel located on the banks of the River Tay in Perthshire, Scotland. We have an award winning 2 Rosette restaurant in which we provide a tranquil setting to enjoy the wonderful food that our kitchen brigade create with locally sourced produce. Awarded Best Rural Restaurant of the Year at the 2010 Hotel of the Year Awards and Country Weddings Award at the 2011 Hotel of the Year Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballathie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballathie Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing