We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A camp in the woods”
Review of North Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryce Canyon National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2012

When we got to Bryce Canyon, we checked ourselves into the North Campground. It is one of these places where you deposit the mloney in an envelope and attach the tab at the post of an empty space which is then yours for the duration. There are no hook-ups, but the campsites are in the trees, nicely spaced apart, and each one has a table and benches, as well as a small BBQ pit with grill. There are also restrooms and a dump station is located at the exit. It is but a few minutes walk to the 'rim' and thus to some of the trails. You can also take the free shuttle bus, of course, which stops very close to the exit of the campground. You can also walk to the general store within about ten minutes or so, depending on where exactly in North Campground you are.
As we had been approaching the park we saw a large number of RV parks with full hook-ups along the way not many miles from the park for those who want the full Monty, including Ruby's Inn right outside the park entrance.
This campground though is highly convenient, it's nice and clean, and quiet at night. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Esty666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Loved staying here - the facilities were good & it was a short distance to trails. Such a beautiful location - would happily go back again for another holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disabled_jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed here towards the end of August, and even though the campground was full, it was quiet and dark at night. The campground is within walking distance to great trails (including Canyon Rim) and best of all, the shuttle stop is close by. You can leave your camper behind and just hop on/hop off at your own convenience. Truly an enjoyable place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank danaroberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We visited Bryce and stayed at this campground in the second week of June. We were expecting the campgrounds to be full, but there was actually decent turnover. Still, as we expected to arrive late in the day and did not really want to fumble around with establishing camp (if we get one) then (not with two young ones), we booked our first night stay at the Lodge. This is how we got to the campground by 7:30 am to select our campsite. It was fairly quiet at 7:30 am.

All that said, the campground has four loops. Loop A and B allow generators and is meant for vehicles more than 20 ft. (i.e trailers/RVs and no tents). Loop C and D do not allow generators and are for vehicles less than 20 ft. (i.e Tents only).

We ended up staying at Loop A site 5 even though we were camping only (and drives just a Prius). It happened that the occupants of that site camped only too and that they were leaving and told us that the hosts allowed it. We checked with the hosts who said it was ok. Apparently, the site is great for tents (big, big level pad for tent, and a separate area for picnic table) - and less good for RV (extra 20, 30 feet up the hill from parking).
It was a nice site - a short walk from the bathroom and water (but not too close). We also were just down from the Rim Trail. So we could scramble up and watch the sunset easily. I guess I might have liked the site less if we had noisy RV neighbors. But it was quiet. Site is not shaded till two p.m. or so, when the sun is over the rim.

Some smaller sites in Look D are shaded. We would probably go for those in the height of summer.

The facilities in this campground were kept immaculate. The bathroom looked and smelled clean. There is also a sink for washing dishes only.

All in all, we loved this campground and can't wait to return. Driving to Sunset Campground (just to see), we thought it is better to be closer to the Rim Trail, even if there seem to be more shaded sites at Sunset.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
7  Thank jaczxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

The campsite and campground were A typical National Park Campground. No complaints and was as expected. The campground store was very well stocked, they even had pizza. I do wish that National parks would have a separate area for people comming in after 1am and wanting to setting up camp then, nuff said.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heamars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryce Canyon National Park
3.9 km away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,302 reviews
4.1 km away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
7.9 km away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 km away
Mountain Ridge Motel and Cabins
7.9 km away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
709 reviews
5.7 km away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Campground

Address: Bryce Canyon Visitor Center, Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Region: United States > Utah > Bryce Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Bryce Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular campground offering 125 campsites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Campground Hotel Bryce Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing