We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right next to a beautiful view point! Windy, bring good tent stakes!”

Willow Flat Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyonlands National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Willow Flat Campground
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Visited in October. Showed up on a Friday morning about 8:30am and found 3 sites available but they filled up fast. The camp ground is at the top of the Mesa and its very windy. Bring good tent stakes. We had some worn out plastic ones and they weren't the best for the high winds and sandy soil for pitching a tent. We ended up using our coolers and the table to weigh our tent down safely.
The campground was clean and very pretty. Each site has a covered table area that was very nice shady area through out the warm afternoons. One of the viewing areas is within a very short walk down to the end of the road. We also walked down at night with a full moon to check out the view. It was amazing.
There is also a handicap camp spot if needed. It is saved until late in the afternoon and then given away if its not taken. All spots are first come first serve so com early.
Make sure you bring in everything you need. Water, food and wood! Not much is available at the visitor center. Closest store is about 30 min from the park entrance.
We hiked and also took a jeep down the Shafer trail. It was awesome. I would not take a car down here. 4 wheel drive high clearance vehicle for sure. Bring water everywhere you go. There isn't any available anywhere. Be prepared for all your short and long ventures in Canyonlands!

Room Tip: Spot #3 is blocked from a the wind better than the others and has room for 2 large cars!
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Heaven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here one night and have no complaints! There were a couple campgrounds available when we drove up in the morning. There is small covered area at each site. The vault toilet was the nicest I saw all week in Utah! Views nearby for sunset was beautiful. We would stay here agin for multiple days on a future trip!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

This campsite was clean and private. Being on top of a mesa, the whole campground is extremely windy and even with trees giving us some shelter we were still very exposed to the elements - it snowed the night we were there! This is an inexpensive and beautiful campground, so it fills up very quickly - get here early to avoid disappointment!

Room Tip: Choose a campsite with trees for some coverage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank abfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

I loved this campsite! There are about 12 spaces to fill, so go early if you want to get a spot. We lucked out and arrived about 11:30 and got the last spot available. There are only pit toilets and NO running water. Be prepared to carry water in, the closest it's available is at the visitor center. There are NO restaurants in the park, be prepared to drive about 40 minutes to the nearest restaurant or bring your own food. There are fire pits, but the closest wood is a the corner store. I truly loved this campsite, we stayed for two days and made nothing but great memories!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smmills1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed a night at the Willow Flat Campground. We were there on a busy weekend and we're lucky to drive through right when someone was leaving.

There are only 12 sites, and we had site number 10. It backed up to a beautiful desert scene and was very peaceful.

We also walked down the road a quarter of a mile and saw a spectacular sunset.

If you can get in, and don't need any services, this is a great place to stay.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank RiceWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Willow Flat Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Flat Campground

Address: 7.5 Miles South of the Visitor Center, Canyonlands National Park, UT
Region: United States > Utah > Canyonlands National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Canyonlands National Park
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Willow Flat Campground Hotel Canyonlands National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing