We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Furnace Creek Ranch - a good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oasis at Death Valley
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My comments are only about Furnace Creek Ranch, not Furnace Creek Inn. Our cabin room was clean and of adequate size. The staff was helpful. It was nice that the cabin was in such easy walking distance from the restaurants and general store. The only negative about the situation was that the price was high compared to the quality. But, with almost no competition from other motels, this is to be expected.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rdm1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,878 - 2,882 of 5,570 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

We spent a night at the Ranch Resort while visiting Death Valley. The hotel location is excellent - in the middle if the Valley, makes it perfect resting spot for tourists. I absolutely loved the cabins, stand alone little houses, beautiful furnished. The whole Ranch looks like from Wild Wild West with saloon and other thematic places. The only downside was the bar - saloon with extremely slow service, I was close to beg the bartender for a pint of beer!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mytravelmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We spent a night at the Ranch having driven from Vegas for a break from too many late nights. We arrived in time to see an amazing sunset in a glorious setting. Our room was clean and comfortable, and had a patio door which made sunset and sunrise watching easy. We spent an enjoyable evening in the saloon and the food was good. Yes, a little pricey but I reckon the facilities at the ranch, and the setting, make it worthwhile. We would definitely stay again if we make another trip

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryZ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This ranch is very suited for the middle of death valley. The people at the information center are not very helpful and were quite rude. The rooms were very basic, clean and well presented. Great air con! There isn't much variety food wise but you can't expect too much. The food is very over prised and they include a non optional service charge which is annoying when you just want a glass of water. Overall this is a lovely ranch and would highly reccomend.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vjaynec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Furnace Creek Ranch was the perfect laid-back New Years Eve get-away. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. The location is perfect for exploring the surrounding areas sand dunes and salt flats. I loved my morning runs from the ranch.

My only complaint would be the price of the food (at all restaurants) for the quality received. My nachos chile con queso for $10 came complete with 20 corn nachos and a squirt of cheese whiz in a plastic cup. Breakfasts seemed a bit better. There are no other food options -- so be prepared. Also request a room away from the exterior metal staircase(s) unless you want to hear everyone tromp down in the morning. Otherwise, we loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LESBourgeoises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Death Valley National Park hotels
16 km away
The Ranch at Death Valley
The Ranch at Death Valley
#6 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
346 reviews
44.9 km away
Panamint Springs Resort
Panamint Springs Resort
#3 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
710 reviews
14.1 km away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oasis at Death Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis at Death Valley

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328 (Formerly Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort)
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range: $362 - $755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oasis at Death Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis at Death, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Death Valley and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Death Valley. The Inn at Death Valley offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Death Valley has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Death Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oasis at Death Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing