We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy cabin at Furnace Creek Ranch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oasis at Death Valley
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We booked a cabin at Furnace Creek and were glad we chose this particular option among the limited choices available. Furnace Creek Inn is reviewed here under the same title, but it should have a separate listing - it's a completely separate place and much more expensive and upscale. That said, we were glad we chose a cabin over a place by the pool and the grass because it was quieter there, and for us the point was to "get away" out into nature, not to hear other people at the pool or the tennis courts. Plus I really enjoyed my early morning stroll down to the end of the short road which terminated in the palm tree grove, where I saw a coyote one morning and lots of birds another.

The cabin was very small and basic, and more like a motel room than an attractive log cabin would be, but it served our needs fine. We especially enjoyed sitting on the front patio with our coffee and tea in the morning or with a beer in the evening. The coffee maker and hair dryer in the room were much appreciated.

Room Tip: Cabins are very small, but are in the quieter, less social area of Furnace Creek. For us the quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SuzanneJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,829 - 2,833 of 5,570 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

First a little clarification. There are two properties being reviewed on this site. The Inn at Furnace Creek is a upscale 66 room hotel about a mile from Furnace Creek Ranch. Furnace Creek Ranch is more casual and has 224 rooms and cabins, which has the golf course and riding stables adjoining it. This review is for Furnace Creek Ranch.

We stayed 3 nights in mid February in a deluxe room. The room was clean and comfortable and had AC. It had a modern clean bathroom, had a small patio, a frig and a flat screen TV. They have quite a few buildings around the property, so I don't know if all the rooms are that modern. No breakfast is included. They have a casual restaurant, a bar, a gift and food shop on the property. There is also a post office and a borax museum. (remember Boraxo Soap and 20 Mule Team Borax laundry soap, well the borax was mined near here). A nice place to stay and explore Death Valley.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OshkoshTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Room 733, for two night. Little choice in the area. The Inn is outrageous, and Stovepipe is rustic to a fault (per a friend that stayed 2 weeks before). The Ranch is the inbetween priced lodging. The is no elevator, and the stairs are difficult to get up. Stay downstairs if you have issues. hallway type building. Ref, TV, phne, alarm, table for 2, 3 drawer dresser. Balcony with 2 chairs and table on sunset side. 2 small Q beds. mountain, tree and golf views. Roomy. Celling fan. Noise level moderate. Parking good. They have bus tours. Price, just under $200/nt. Costly food options. Free Museum. Get gas at Stovepipe Wells (60 cents cheaper).
Business intermixed with the Inn. Hard to get to the right person with any issues.
Death Valley is really a spectacular place to visit!

Room Tip: No elevators. Services and amenities are centerally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ranles76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed in one of the cabins at the Furnace Creek Ranch. We arrived at about 6 pm on an evening in July--it was about 116 degrees!

The cabin was cute--there was a little porch with a rocking chair and we were able to park next to our door, which was very convenient. Inside, the cabin could most optimistically be descibed as "cozy"--it was tiny!! The only place to store anything was in the dresser drawers. There was no closet and not even a luggage rack. This is probably due to the fact that there isn't room for one! There was a bed, dresser, and small table and chair, with a few feet of space to get around.

The bathroom was really tiny as well. The shower was extremely small and dirty. It was old and all of the corners were covered in years' worth of crud and mold. There was a rubber shower mat hanging from the sink, but that looked even dirtier than the shower floor itself. It was difficult to stand in such a small space and avoid touching anything, but I did my best.

When we first entered the room, it was quite hot, but once we turned the air conditioner up, it cooled down after an hour or two. We spent some time in the pool, which allowed a nice break from the heat. I highly recommend taking a dip in the pool--at dusk it provided a great view of the grounds and night sky.

Overall, you can't beat the location, and this was a good place to rest and cool off for the night, but the bathrooms need a serious cleaning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank agdwsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I noticed that reviews appear on this site for both the Furnace Creek Inn and the Furnace Creek Ranch. Please note that they are two very different, separate facilities located a mile from one another and what is said about one does not apply to the other. I just completed my second stay at the Inn and found it to be (once again) charming and comfortable. I can't speak for the Ranch. The Inn was built in the '20s and has that Old California look and feel. If that's not your thing, this is not your hotel. The pool and gardens are lovely, the view is great and the rooms are cozy. Best bet is to request a room with a terrace. It makes all the difference in the world. Also, Death Valley is a spectacular place to visit in cooler months, but I don't see how anyone could enjoy it in the summer. Choose your trip dates wisely. My husband and I have found February to be the perfect month. Daytime temps are in the 70s on the valley floor and it is almost always sunny. Perfect for hiking and exploring. Of note -- the Inn is open November thru April but closes May thru October. That should tell you everything you need to know. Summer visitors have no choice but to stay at the Ranch.
Death Valley itself is a big, open Western playground. It was a revelation the first time we visited. When I show my photos to friends and family, they are stunned by the surprising beauty and variety of landcape.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a Terrace Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Photobug4727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Death Valley National Park hotels
16 km away
The Ranch at Death Valley
The Ranch at Death Valley
#6 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
347 reviews
44.9 km away
Panamint Springs Resort
Panamint Springs Resort
#3 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
708 reviews
14.1 km away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oasis at Death Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis at Death Valley

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328 (Formerly Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort)
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range: $362 - $755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oasis at Death Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis at Death, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Death Valley and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Death Valley. The Inn at Death Valley offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Death Valley has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Death Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oasis at Death Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing