We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good spot in Death Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Death Valley
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed at the Furnace Creek Ranch since the Inn was full and far more expensive. The Ranch resort is a busy spot, buzzing with activity in the early evening on. Our room at the Ranch was $240 a night, I think, so hardly a bargain for something that is essentially a glorified motel. There were 4 of us (parents, and teens 13 and 17) so that was ok. Parking can be hard to come by in the evening but we were there during spring break so that was expected. The (mostly European) crowds tended to stay at the pool during the day so we had the park essentially to ourselves during the day! We stayed in a standard room with 2 queens in a two-story structure but there were other accommodations. In order to fit a rollaway bed for our 13-year-old son, we had to move some of the bedroom furniture out on the tiny balcony, at the suggestion of the housekeeping staff. Everything was clean and housekeeping did a very good job. My biggest fear is unclean bedcovers, but everything was changeable (and presumably changed) between guests. Also did not experience the dreadful closed-in smell of motels where you can't open the windows. Breakfast at the 49er Café was very good and plentiful and the fruit was surprisingly tasty and fresh for such an isolated location. Dinner was ok, with very long wait times (no reservations). Service was friendly and excellent, and they have takeout! We did not eat at the Steakhouse which seemed terribly overpriced. We were glad to be able to purchase sandwiches and some basic food from the shop, which seemed to stock a bit of everything (all overpriced but it all comes from so faraway...). Quality was uneven, with fresh fruit looked awful but prepared fruit salad bowls to die for, on those days when they had them. There was also a Frontier-themed outdoor option for brisket, beans, corn, etc, with music but at $28 per adult, that was a bit pricy for us. Of course eating at the same two places for 5 days got tedious and there was very little in the way of healthful dining. Great little museum onsite with very knowledgeable and fun docent inside. There is a small patio with seating and firepits near the restaurants but it would be nice to have a few more areas when people could gather, eat a picnic, etc. Other activities: basketball, shuffleboard, horseback-riding, wagon rides, playground, and I'm probably forgetting something! Pool needs sprucing up (no towels available either). Don't forget to send a postcard for that Death Valley postmark and chat with the post-mistress who is that tiny post office's only employee, and hand-cancels every postcard (or allows you/your children to do your own). If we go back to the area, we will definitely return because there are virtually no other options AND because it turned out to be very satisfying, in a wonderful location, close to gorgeous hikes. Tried to upload 6 pictures but photo uploader is not working :(

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregandcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,774 - 2,778 of 5,559 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed in the Ranch part and had a chalet style room. It was very small but pleasant enough and clean. It has a pub, cafe and a restaurant on site. We ate in the pub and it was perfectly good with only slightly inflated prices. Their shop is very very expensive so stock up before you get there (there was a fridge in our room so we took everything with us). Staying in the valley itself was amazing so overall you get what you pay for - it's just in this case you're paying for the location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lingheadcrumple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Not sure why the poor reviews? First you are a 100 miles from anywhere?..In one of the most desolate places in America. The hotel is beautiful a gem in the desert. The staff was outstanding especially the valet/bellman. The rooms are very traditional ours was built in 1928 and had all the things you would need. Especially AC. Faucets were brass from the time period. We had room 107 with a great view. Lots to do and great location for all the main things to see. Plan your visit when there is no moon so you can see more stars than ou thought possible. Also visit the furnace Creek Ranch the food at the 49er Café was fantastic very quaint and enjoyable evening. we highly recommend the furnace Creek Ranch the place to stay in death valley.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank JLMCELROY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The Ranch at Furnace Creek is well-maintained, lively and fun with a friendly sort of vibe to it. It has a variety of places to eat, a gift/sundries shop, and lots of activities to keep everyone busy. It even has a cool museum right in the middle of it. We rented one of the cabin rooms which are located on a tree-lined street at the front of the resort. We expected the location to be noisy but we were pleasantly surprised that almost all the resort traffic was on the other side of the registration building, closer to the restaurants. In retrospect, though, we probably should have spent a few more dollars and stayed in a larger room. The cabin room would have been fine for two but was just a little too cozy for three of us. The centralized location of the Ranch is great for visiting Death Valley NP. We could have happily spent a week visiting the park and relaxing at the Ranch.

Room Tip: If you are visiting during warm weather, try to get a room that faces east so you will have a shaded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

You have two choices in Death Valley - the Inn or the Ranch. The Inn is obviously very nice, and much more expensive. I think it was $199 for the Ranch vs. $350 for the Inn. I didn't see the rooms at the Inn, but we had dinner there. The food was actually very good at the Inn - definitely worth the one mile trip, and have a drink on the deck overlooking the valley too. But for value, stay at the Ranch. We had a lovely room overlooking the golf course. Not all rooms have such a great view - some look over at the other buildings, but if you can, get a room overlooking the golf course. Rooms have a balcony with french doors, table and chairs. Quite lovely to sit out there was a glass of something. Room had two double beds, very comfortable. Staff was friendly. Overall, the Ranch has more amenities - stables, museum, two restaurants plus a bar, general store, pool, playground etc. The Inn has lovely grounds but seems a bit stodgy and boring.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarleenLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
32.5 km away
The Ranch at Death Valley
The Ranch at Death Valley
#6 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
318 reviews
27.2 km away
Panamint Springs Resort
Panamint Springs Resort
#3 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
695 reviews
0.0 km away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,840 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Death Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Death Valley

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328 (Formerly Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort)
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range: $288 - $771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Death Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis at Death, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Death Valley and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Death Valley. The Inn at Death Valley offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Death Valley has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Death Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Death Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing