We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plays the part in Death Valley.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oasis at Death Valley
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed one night in a Standard Room in The Ranch at Furnace Creek. We felt the Cowboy/Mining Ranch theme to the buildings around the entrance captured the atmosphere of Death Valley perfectly. Our room was a good size, comfortable and everything we needed was to hand. We were on the second floor with a balcony complete with two rocking chairs which were great to sit in with a G & T as the sun went down and admire the view. The Ranch is well located to experience many of the wonders in Death Valley, particularly if you are only ‘passing through’ as we were.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JayZeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,704 - 2,708 of 5,570 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

In death valley your lodging options are limited and this is the best choice until it is cool enough to camp. This was one of our stops on a 30 day road trip. We stayed at the ranch which had everything you need. Laundry, a general store, bar and restaurant. They also have a fantastic pool which we used after dinner and a few beers. The restaurant on property is overpriced but, let's face it, you have to eat! The rooms were well appointed and clean but again pricey. I didn't really see anything bug wise that I was afraid of. You should bring a flashlight if you're going to walk around at night bc the roads and grass are dark and snakes share your space. Also, be mindful of the different parts of the ranch bc the folks who work there live there. Its nice to stay out of their area - there is more than enough guest space. Oh and this is a big deal- the national park map indicates you can get gas at a stop east of the ranch. There was no gas there and we were SO thankful we put gas in at the ranch or we would have been in trouble. Not a place to drive around on empty.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We spent one night at Furnace Creek and wished we'd stayed longer, it is by far the best of the hotels (although the most expensive). The rooms were small but well maintained with 2 queen beds and even a TV (a luxury in DV) the pool was very well received after a day in the heat and a fridge kept the water cold for the next day. Only slight complaint was the wait for food, it gets busy and the staff seemingly serving tables at random, we were ignored several times before grabbing the server as he passed! Overall though very impressed!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotttaylor1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Good place to stay.. rooms are confortable and large.
Bathroom good and large with good water pressure.
All the enviroments are nice... Just the prices are high... but we are in desert valley...

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bardano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We had a "delux" room with a patio facing a large lawn. Sounds good on paper. Problem is, the patio faces west, and it's in Death Valley. I tried unsuccessfully to enjoy a glass of wine on the patio before going to dinner. It was precisely 127.7 degrees in the sun because there was no shade. The temperature in the shade was a tolerable 105.8. Why would wouldn't they design it with a north or east facing patio in the hottest place on Earth? Dumb!

And ... the patio was littered with cigarette butts and trash that had blown (probably) from a dumpster. After three days of being in full view of the maid inside the room or anyone walking on the lawn, the litter was still there.

The room was large, modern, and clean. The bathroom (except for the shower head) was exceptionally nice, especially for a Xanterra property.

To my surprise, the town of Furnace Creek is not inside the national park. According to a ranger at the visitors' center, it's privately owned. I think Xanterra owns all of it or at least all that a visitor would care about: accommodations, restaurants, etc.

At Grand Canyon, Xanterra brags about not selling bottled water because of its commitment to the environment. At Furnace Creek, the only cold water is bottled water sold by Xanterra. "Cold" tap water is 90-100 degrees.

Room Tip: Be mindful that the patios face the sun in later afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear Rick A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us at Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort. It is reviews like yours that help us improve the quality of our service offerings.

I am sorry to hear your stay was a hot one. Death Valley is a desert valley and is considered by many to be the lowest, driest, and hottest location in North America. You'll have to come back during the winter months when it is truly our time to shine.

While the buildings may look modern, in reality they were originally designed and constructed over 60 years ago. I can only assume that modern land planning considerations would most certainly place the structures with a different orientation on the site. While we recognize the structures have a difficult western exposure, we have endeavored to be conscious of the energy consumption and guest comfort. We recently installed energy efficient patio doors which feature argon filled, dual pane glass and low e glass.

We will most certainly pay closer attention to the grounds surrounding the patios and assure that future guests do not observe unsightly cigarette refuse in the proximity of the patios.

The property utilizes water from an underground aquifer that is naturally heated from the ground as it makes its’ way to the property. I hope this correspondence serves to address your concerns and demonstrates our sincere desire to address guest comments.

Thank you for visiting our unique property and sharing your observations on TripAdvisor.


Best regards,

Rich Jones
General Manager
rjones@xanterra.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Death Valley National Park hotels
16 km away
The Ranch at Death Valley
The Ranch at Death Valley
#6 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
348 reviews
44.9 km away
Panamint Springs Resort
Panamint Springs Resort
#3 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
710 reviews
14.1 km away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oasis at Death Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis at Death Valley

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328 (Formerly Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort)
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range: $362 - $754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oasis at Death Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis at Death, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Death Valley and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Death Valley. The Inn at Death Valley offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Death Valley has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Death Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oasis at Death Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing